We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome's best secret”
Review of Hotel Aventino

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aventino
Ranked #64 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rome's best secret”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The thing about Hotel Aventino, where I have stayed twice a year for twenty years, is that it is perched quietly on the top of the most distinguished of Rome's hills at whose foot lies Testaccio. If you want to experience the Rome of Romans and not of tourists, go there. The hotel is a delight and all the things said in other reviews about the wonderful staff and the super breakfast and the reasonable prices and how easy it is to go to the subway (Blue line at Piramidi) or by taxi to either airport, are true. But Testaccio - well, if you are a foodie you know already. Ask the wonderful Justin or one of the other staff (all English-speaking) to get you a table at Perilli's trattoria on Via Marmorata for dinner. There you find Romans - heaps of them, which tells you something: a Roman menu that hasn't changed for fifty years (why should it? If it works, don't: and it does!) and next day, on the same block you visit the world's finest cheese and grocery store. Volpetti's is now a legend (look at their website). Give it time: you have to taste before you buy. And for lunch, after you have visited Keats and Shelley in the Protestant Cemetery at the foot of the Pyramid of Cestus, built into the ancient walls of Rome, go to Volpetti Piu - the most gastronomic fast food shop in the world.

all this is ten minutes stroll from Hotel Aventino, its well appointed rooms, its quietness and the beautiful gardens where in late summer the scent is so heavy in the evening air that it is like a drug!

In front of Volpetti's is the tram line that takes you for Rome's best scenic ride - past the Colosseum to the Villa Borghese (ask Justin to get you pre-booked tickets for the Galleria if you want to see the three greatest Bernini sculptures in the world's first ever museum), then across the river to the Vatican. Or the hotel will rent you a bike if you prefer. The you can ride to the Baths of Caracalla, or down the Via Appia to the Tomb of Cecilia Metulla and the Catacombs.

If you want expensive international glitz and overpriced, indifferent dining, then go to the usual suspects. But if you want a memory of Rome that will linger in your memory like a smile, then choose Testaccio and base yourself at the Aventino.

Yes you can see St Peter's through the keyhole of the Knights of Malta: a good restorative late evening walk after Mr Perilli's table and before you fall into your crisp, clean bed..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Friend from London,
What an incredible review about our property ! ! ! Thank you so much for your exhaustive and generous feedback about our hotel Aventino. We’re also glad to know that you enjoyed every little minute of your roman stay with us from the sophisticated neighborhood to our lush garden, our delicious breakfast, our sumptuous rooms and antique décor.
We’re so glad to know that you did not miss the lively and local Testaccio neighborhood full of simple but exquisite restaurants and the breath taking view from the famous key hole where the St. Peter’s doom can be seen with a spectacular garden prospective, and the more touristic archeological sites.
we are really looking forward to see you again and wish you happy holiday season…
kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    297
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
116
522
46
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bernese Oberland, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Excellent value for money! I can recommend this little and charming Hotel next to the central of the city, historic areas and shopping miles. All the staff were very friendly and helpful! In the evenig on the hill we've had the best place to have a beautiful overview to Rome!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice words about our property and your time to share them with us.!!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the staff took care of you.
We wish you a very pleasant holiday season!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We enjoyed four nights in mid October at this small welcoming Hotel situated on the amazingly quiet and calm Aventine Hill. Our room on the first floor was spacious with excellent faciliites and a pleasant tree filled outlook. The staff were always helpful. It was a 15 minute walk to the better known sites of Rome and there are two gems within 100 metres of the Hotel, the view over Rome from the park next to Santa Sabina Bascilla and the keyhole view of St Peters from the Knights of Malta Priory gate. The easy walk to the Protestant Cemetery is also well worthwhile. We are planning to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Julia,
We really appreciate your time in commenting on your recent stay with us at Hotel Aventino..and thank you for your generous feedback.!!
I am delighted that you were able to relax in our beautiful villa and so proud to learn that we met your expectations with the entire team’s efficiency and professional manner and carring attitude.
I personally look forward to welcoming you back soon again for another pleasant stay in the eternal city.!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Aventino is well-located for the subway or walking to most sights in Rome. We have stayed several times and enjoyed each. Service is excellent and well-informed. Standard taxi from/to the airport is choice and rates are as posted. Breakfast is bountiful and sets up the day. Adequate options near at hand for dinner. Hotel is always clean and staff accommodating if you want a pizza and beer in the patio. A very comfortable place to stay and good value as well.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel not the small annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,
welcome back to us and thank you for posting your positive comment about Hotel Aventino.!!
We are very happy to know that you consider our property your place in Rome while away from home and we like to take care of our guest trying to satisfy them, meeting their expectations.!!
We will wait you for another pleasant stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Aventino this fall for 4 nights. It is located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods of Rome. The hotel is a lovely old villa, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, with wonderful bathrooms. While I had some problems with my room at first, the hotel staff was extremely accommodating and helpful and I got another room. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for such a positive review about our property..
I really appreciate your comments about the friendliness of my team..they will be so proud to hear that their efforts in ensuring our guests are looked after in such a welcoming way have been highlighted.
We wish you a merry Christmas, hoping to see you again in the near future.!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was our first visit to Rome! Such luck! We got to stay in lovely Aventino Hotel on top of the magical Aventine Hill. We had a wonderful room on the first floor with a terrace overlooking the homey yard. My husband is a heavy smoker and this was important to us. Having a nightcap on the balcony was an experience to remember too.
The lovely breakfast we enjoyed in the patio/garden, although it was November. The parks and leafy neighbourhood were enchanting. And we were absolutely hooked on the foody Testaccio quarter nearby. I wonder how I will survive without the tavola calda in the local ristorantes.
We would not stay anywhere else when in Rome. We won't let any of our friends plan a stay in Rome elsewhere.
Thank you so much Aventino team!

Room Tip: If you are lucky, you can get 338 - with a terrace, on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the Hotel Aventino for your roman holiday.!!
We are so delighted you enjoyed the fabulous Aventino hill, an oasis of calm surrounded by ruins of ancient Rome all within the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city.!!
Thank you for considering the effort and dedication of our entire team to ensure a perfect roman holiday.!!
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our beautiful city of Rome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was my 3rd stay at the Hotel Aventino. It's a beautiful property located in a quiet residential area of Rome minutes from Circus Maximus. No kidding, literally a 10 minute walk. The hotel consistently provides excellent service, a comfortable bed and a generous continental breakfast. My favorite part is the quiet surroundings and beautiful garden on the property. I do not like to hear cars, horns or ambulance sirens all night long and the location insulates you from the stifling feel of a big city. The area is very safe and we found ourselves walking from the Coliseum area home each night. We were in Rome over the All Saints Day holiday weekend and after visiting the Vatican on Thursday (it was closed Friday - Sunday for the holiday) were tipped off by the hotel front desk that the Pope would be giving his blessing to the people from his balcony Friday morning. We would never have known had he not shared the information. I can't say enough positive things about this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for choosing again the Hotel Aventino for your roman holiday..!!
We are really proud to be able to offer to our precious guests an oasis of calm in the heart of hustling and bustling Rome.!!
Thank you for considering the effort and dedication of our entire team to ensure a perfect roman holiday..providing attentive and friendly service is always at the top of our mind.!!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our beautiful city of Rome and we suggest to check our official website for special offers and promotional rates.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#84 of 1,258 in Rome
1,364 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#41 of 1,258 in Rome
1,154 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Relais 6
#30 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Aventino

Property: Hotel Aventino
Address: Via San Domenico 10, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aventino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aventino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing