We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Aventino”
Review of Hotel Aventino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aventino
Ranked #61 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a great way to start our Italian Holiday staying at the Aventino Hotel - a very quiet beautiful part of Rome but within walking distance of Metro and Colosseum etc - this was particularly important as I ran the "Maratona di Roma" which started and finished near the Colosseum.
Nearby is Santa Sabina church with a pretty orange garden and a great view over Rome to St. Peter's Basilica
The staff are very helpful and friendly - we had a problem with our spa bath and it was fixed within 20 minutes. No problems
Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. Rooms are spacious and very quiet. We used the hotel transfer service from the airport and its actually cheaper than a taxi so I would recommend that also
Just a reminder to Justin that he needs to start training now for next year's "Maratona"!!!!! Many thanks
Ciao

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear guest,
It is a real pleasure learning that your Italian vacations started from our Aventino hotel and that you enjoyed the perfect location for the Maratona! We are also glad that you loved our friendly service and the comfortable rooms of our villa!
We are sure next year you will run side by side with Justin!
Best wishes for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel was amazing! It almost feels like you are staying in a little house in Rome, since the hotel is around a quiet residential neighborhood with beautiful houses. Great location, 15 minute walk to Circo Massimo and about 20 mins to Coliseum. The staff is extremely nice, my favorite part was the balcony the room had and the amazing view of the area.
Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: I got a room on the end corner of the third floor and had an “L” shaped balcony, it was so spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabiSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Gabi,
Thank you very much for your nice words spent about our little and comfortable hotel! Indeed, we work hard every day to make the guest fell like home and, moreover, the location is simply great to enjoy all the wonders of the Eternal City!
We hope you could come back soon and enjoy again our villa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've stayed at Hotel Aventino several times. It's perfectly located in central Rome, easy to get to and amazingly in a very quiet residential neighborhood that blessedly is very quiet at night. If you have sights to see in downtown Rome this is an excellent place to stay. Always high quality from the rooms to the breakfast. The staff has always been very polite and helpful with everything. For drivers (including me) there's a small amount of private parking behind the gate, but I've never had an issue getting a space. A short walk up the hill is a church worth seeing with the stations of the cross carvings (reliefs) on a wall as you approach the church. For Hotel Aventino be prepared for five star service without the five star price. An excellent choice and I plan to return!

Room Tip: Small elevator nestled in the stair well as you see in many hotels in Italy, but very glad it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mateo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Mateo,
It is a real pleasure learning that Aventino hotel is your preferred choice for your Roman stays! You are a valuable and regular guest and so you know very well how pleasant and quiet is our Roman Villa and the attentive service we offer every day! We also appreciate that above all you benefit the good quality – price ratio! We wait you soon in the Eternal City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our Roman friends nod approvingly when we say we are staying at the Aventino, It's up the hill of the same name, and in a quiet neighbourhood, still not far from the activity around the Circo Massimo, Rome's ancient race track. The hotel is small, quiet and comfortable, although some might find rooms on the small side. In good weather breakfast can be taken outside, in a quiet garden area, overlooked by villas and large trees. A great place to explore Rome from and retreat to at the end of hectic days, to enjoy attentive service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear guest,
Your Roman friends were right! It was a real luck you could ask an opinion about the central and quiet Aventino hill and that finally you chose our little but comfortable hotel! Indeed the location is very enviable and a perfect starting point to explore the city! Moreover, we are glad you appreciated so much our attentive service! We invite you to come back during spring and summertime and enjoy the good weather in our fantastic garden and patio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Overall there is simply nothing to complain for the money we paid. Location is perfect - close to by not in the middle of hustle and bustle of tourist centre. The hotel is located in a rather posh area full of beautiful villas. If you stay there, make sure you visit Santa Sabina church (one of the oldest churches in Rome) and Collegio St Anselmo where every day you can hear Grigorian chants almost to yourself. We actually walked every day to the centre of Rome (10 minutes walk from Circo Massimo). The room (335) was nice (it;s not in the main building so felt very private with a lovely patio), the breakfast is plentiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review about our property.!!
We are so happy to know that you found the perfect location for your roman holidays and that our hotel Aventino met your expectations..especially because you had your room for a very good price.!!
We are also glad that you enjoyed the beautiful and elegant Aventino hill, a special area full of history.!!
We really hope to host you again for another pleasant trip in Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent stay in hotel Aventino. In the mainbuilding, were the reception was, we had a room with a big balcony Our cat. Lara who joins us every holiday, had enough space

The Breakfast was each day delicious! Friendster, helpfunctie staff, nice atmosphere in a safety area of Rome

Juliaan, Irma and Lara
From The Netherlands
August 2013

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lara82008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Julian, Irma and Lara,
Thank you for posting such a rewarding review about our property.!!

We are very happy you enjoyed the charme of the Hotel Aventino, the room with balcony and our delicious breakfast in the morning.!

We really hope to host you again for another pleasant trip in the eternal city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Most charming hotel (typical Roman building and decor - not over-the -top). Very helpful staff (special complimentary Prosecco present to my wife as it was her birthday). Location great for people looking for places away from the touristy traffic . Only 15 min walk from the Colosseum, yet close to Testaccio area (10 Min) which is more normal Rome with good restaurants and excellent cheese/prosciutto shop (Volpetti) nearby. Underground stations also nearby if needed (Piramid or Circo Massimo) + train station to Fumiacini airport (Ostensia station).
Would definitely recommend for people looking for charm and tranquility.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and has a private area outside the room with a bistro-type table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Aventino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor and for thinking about us once back home.!
We are glad to learn that you appreciated so much our warm welcome especially for an important event as your wife’s birthday.!! Thank you for choosing us to celebrate it!!
The entire staff and I would be delighted to welcome you back again and in the meantime we wish you a very fabulous time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#78 of 1,269 in Rome
1,416 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#43 of 1,269 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,269 in Rome
2,763 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#179 of 1,269 in Rome
1,473 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aventino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aventino

Address: Via San Domenico 10, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £63 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aventino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Aventino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing