We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not worth the $”
Review of Hotel Aventino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aventino
Ranked #65 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyside NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth the $”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Overall review 5 out of 10. Why:
1. Our King sized bed was two twins put together!
2. Extremely slow internet + no in room wi-fi access for those without laptops
3. The secluded area is a little annoying to get to for public transport.
4. Our room had a steady buzz coming from the bathroom...all rooms have this. It's the towel heater and it's pretty annoying.
4. There is 1 person acting as Consierge, front desk, at anytime and he is ALWAYS too busy until 10 PM/.
5. Sometimes this 1 consierge treated guests extremely poorly. For example, one laughed in my face when I asked where I could get a bus map in Rome "Bus map? Rome doesn't have this thing you call Bus Map" .... Word for word that's that's what he said. (After waiting 10 minutes for the internet to load, I did actually find one.) I watched this same consierge refuse to stand up and help a new guest get their luggage through the front door...less than 10 feet away, despite the poor guy clearly was having difficulty

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukeGroskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    294
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
112
517
45
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Park Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We stayed there 5 nights as part of vacation to Italy. It's in a great neighborhood (upscale and very quiet) but at the same time, restaurants in the area are a bit sparse...actually we didn't see any in the immediate area, and we covered a lot territory on foot That was no problem for us as we enjoyed walking into the main historic part of Rome each day and walked back through Trastevere, which has a lot of restaurant choices. But still, that's a 20-30 minute walk back to the hotel. Sights like the Colosseum and Forum are walkable. Take the Metro (Circus Maximum station is nearby) to reach sites in the north end, like St. Peter's.

There were some embassies in the area and I suspect some of the guests there were on business, rather than pleasure.

No complaints about the hotel...it was great. Maybe the location may be a bit too far afield for some tourists.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South_Park_Aardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingstone
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Nice small hotel located in a quite part of the city. Very close to the historical center. Good value for money. Our room was very basic, no frills and thats exactly what we needed. Room was spacious. Breakfast was the same everyday, but selection was good. Very friendly staff and very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
447 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

A nice, small, hotel located relatively close to many of the major sites (10-15 minute walk). The room was nice as was the bathroom. The staff was cordial and friendly; the breakfast typical European. It did provide free Wifi. The hotel sits on a hill, so for people with walking difficulties, a hotel closer in might be better. It is close to a number of bus stops. The hotel was gated so only guests could get in. My only complaint was the price. We had initially booked for one set of dates, but had to reschedule for two weeks later due to a volcanic eruption in Iceland. When we rescheduled, the price was fully 1/3 higher. While there, I overheard a number of people state their rates, and they were significantly lower than what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I am sure the rest of the hotel is better but there are two rooms in what appears to be a converted garage away from the main building - we were unlucky enough to get one of them. They reek of mildew and mould and should probably be declared a health hazard. The hotel's claim of being in a 'quiet' location doesn't apply to these rooms - the bathroom window is above your head and when it is ajar you can see people's feet as they walk by. Terrible end to a wonderful European holiday. We endured three nights before the hotel agreed to change our room for our final night. On the plus side the breakfast was reasonable and the staff was friendly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JetLagged2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I have been to Rome several times, and have stayed in several areas of town, but hands down, Aventine hill is the best part of town to stay. The only downfall is, it is about a ten minute walk from the Metro stop Circo Massimo. It is a nice walk though, in a residential neighborhood.
When you stay on Aventine hill, you feel like you escape the craziness of Rome. Aventine hotel is very nice. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast, good hot showers. The rooms are pretty small, but they are in excellent condition and have all the amenities.
When we checked in the first night, the staff was extremely irritating. We walked through the door and he started to check us in, but then the phone rang so he answered that for 5 minutes. Then another guest walked in and asked for a taxi, so the clerk stopped what he was doing again, and ordered a taxi. We had had a long flight, it was late, so I'm sure that made things worse, but the night staff seemed very frazzled. The day staff was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlainaMRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way out of Italy after spending most of our time in the Tuscany region. Loved the hotel. In a very quiet and quaint neighborhood at the top of the hill. Can almost be deceiving how quiet it is, since you are right next to some of the major tourist spots (Circus Maximus is literary a 10 minute walk away). The staff was very, very helpful and courteous, and arranged for a cab to the airport the next morning quite late the night before (flat rate of 40 euro, not bad considering the train is 14 euro a ticket). Breakfast is good and available till 10:30. Room was really uniquely decorated and very, very good AC. Felt great to lie in the big bed with the AC on after a day seeing the sights. Great shower too, loads of hot water and pressure.

My only negative would be it was rather difficult to find the first time. The map they gave us after arrival did help us find it after that, but they should just scan that map and post it on their website....it would take 5 minutes and help out a lot of weary/hot travelers such as ourselves!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javeryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#42 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#67 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aventino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aventino

Property: Hotel Aventino
Address: Via San Domenico 10, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aventino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Aventino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing