We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Cecil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cecil
Ranked #186 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Itala, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel was clean,bedrooms comfortable and staff extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel's central city location alowed us to walk to all the major attractions and provided ample choice for evening eating venues.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    185
    51
    37
    18
See reviews for
146
176
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Our room was a little tired but well appointed and extremely clean. The breakfast, in a beautiful dining room, was more than sufficient. The bar and reception area are immaculate. Above all else the service, from polite, English speaking and well dressed staff, was exceptionally good. Add to this the position, in the centre of Rome, with all the sights within walking distance, and for the reasonable price Hotel Cecil is hard to beat!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAWardCreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in the Daisy apartments which are in the next street to Hotel Cecil and part of the hotel, we found the apartment was in an excellent position for seeing all the sights of Rome on foot, five minutes to Spanish steps little bit longer to Trevi fountain, fifteen minute walk to Forum and 20 minutes to Coliseum. The apartment was clean tidy and quiet, we did have a small problem when the key broke in the lock but it was rectified eventually. You can use the rooftop garden of the Hotel Cecil to relax and have drink from the bar and it is possible to cook a simple meal in your room as you have two electric rings and a fridge so there is no need to venture out for breakfast or even evening meal if you are too tired from sightseeing. The member of staff we would commend would be William who seemed to be in charge of the apartment side of the business. All in all we would recommend the Daisy apartments as a very convenient place to stay in centre of Rome.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to face to an inner courtyard so no difference really
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Our 1st time in Rome and this was the perfect location for visiting all of the attractions. Very beautiful, great service, friendly people. The rooftop garden is beautiful. Spaciuos. Highly reccomend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
default06, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cecil, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear guests
thank you so much for the nice words about the hotel,we appreciate more and more your comments and we are working to ensure that the hotel respond to the high standards of our customers expectations.We hope to have you here in Rome again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Just a stone throw from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish steps, Hotel Cecil is perfect for those who like to be in the heart of the action but still on fairly quite street. It is safe and friendly with local shops close by to get some snacks and drinks. Brilliant spacious room and great power shower. we had 2 single beds pushed together which keeps separating at night, which was annoying.
It hasn’t got much of a view from the rooms but you have a view of the spectacular Piazza Venezzia from the roof top terrace. However, no food and drinks are allowed at the roof top, you’ll just have to have a wonder to the top floor on your own accord.

The only staff are friendly and informative, especially Giuseppe who gave us an in-depth directions of how to get to the stadium Olympico. The only major let down is the Breakfast. Unless you have a sweet tooth, the breakfast was poor. They have an array of sweet cakes, sweet pastries, muffins and brownies. You also have an option of toast and boiled egg.

Overall, it is a great location and value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My son and I stayed 4 nights at Hotel Cecil. We thought it was attractive, clean and very well located for the Pantheon, Spanish steps and many other interesting places in Rome.

Given it was in the city centre, it was surprisingly quiet at night. We liked the style of our rooms, and the bathrooms were of a good standard. The fridge was very useful. The continental breakfast was excellent, a yummy selection of food; english breakfast tea was readily available, and early grey too as well as herbal teas,(you make it yourself in your cup - probably the safest way in Italy!) There was also nice coffee, good fruit juice and a charming young lady in the background to help.

The lobby area was chic and comfortable, and the hotel reception staff, Guisseppe and his colleagues, were really exceptionally helpful both with finding places in Rome, giving advice and free maps, arranging taxis etc. and they all spoke reasonable english, and were extremely welcoming.

The taxi company Hotel Cecil uses to do the transfers to the airport is excellent.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maur52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I am Australian and we flew into Rome late June and had booked Hotel Cecil for our first two nights in Italy. I couldn't believe how good the location was, literally a two-minute walk from the Piazza do Spagna and Via Del Corso, especially for the price we paid!

The staff were very friendly, they helped us with directions, helped us with contacting an airline for a lost bag, and told us they loved Australians! The signora was most lovely!

The rooms were clean and comfortable, everything you require.

At the end of our trip, we were flying out of Rome, so my cousin and i decided to stay at Cecil again and the experience was just as good!

Will definitely be staying there next year when I return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca_da_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#109 of 1,257 in Rome
830 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,257 in Rome
355 reviews
Elite Hotel
#410 of 1,257 in Rome
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#285 of 1,257 in Rome
268 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Modigliani
Hotel Modigliani
#106 of 1,257 in Rome
1,261 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#174 of 1,257 in Rome
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil

Property: Hotel Cecil
Address: Via Francesco Crispi 55, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cecil 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecil Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing