We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cecil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cecil
Ranked #195 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sandefjord, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Perfect for a short stay in Rome. Just a block away from the Spanish steps. Lot's of restaurants nearby. It's a small hotel, but the staff was very nice and helpful.
Breakfast was poor by Norwegian standard but with all the restaurants nearby I would not call it a big drawback.
The hotel is very clean, and our room was big with a tasteful new bathroom. The shower had colored blinking lights in it. Add some music and you have yourself a disco shower!
There was also a roof terrace with a OK view. Just let the reception know that you are up there and they will send up the bartender to take your order.
We used the hotels car service, €47 from and to the airport. I think it's the same fee the taxi take. But this is much more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Moeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
default06, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cecil, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Google Translation
Tusen takk fra alle oss i Hotel Cecil !!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    178
    51
    37
    18
See reviews for
142
174
44
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Competent staff , good service, and close to the metro stop, Spanish Steps, & Via Veneto! Hard to find this combo in a nice hotel, too. Breakfast is the only thing you can miss. Nothing to write home about but not bad. Would stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Lower floors are better if you have a lot of stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASICSBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Just returned from 4 days in Rome staying at Cecil Hotel. Booked a triple room and were very surprised at the size of the room. Very spacious for 3 adults, very clean and loads of storage space. We were on the front and yes it is a bit noisy but we were so tired after walking all day it didn't really bother us. Staff were all helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was as it says, continental, so loads of sweet things, would have preferred a bit more savoury chose but the croissants were delicious. Could do with a better toaster, most people gave up on it after a few tries and only very thin bread to toast anyway, but we enjoyed it and it did fill us up for the day.
Position is the key as we could walk to everything we wanted see. We would recommend this Hotel.
Just a shame they don't make more of the rooftop terrace.

Room Tip: If you don't want traffic noise ask for a room at the back, although we didn't see any other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I had a wedding in roma and was travelling alone
Needed a cheap place with a great location, cecil hotel is perfect , close of everything piazza di spagna at 4 mn
Maybe not the most impressive if you meet monica belucci and she wants to have a drink in your bedroom, but for sure a practical , clean and perfectly located hotel
My bedroom was really small but For 110 euros it was a good deal
Very nice and helpful concierge and staff, chic and simple

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Rome. I was part of a group. I had a single room at the Hotel Cecil. It was perfect for my needs. I had no problem sleeping as it was lovely and quiet. Though the room was small it was very comfortable, clean and charming. The staff were were most helpful. The hotel has a roof terrace looking out over Rome. The location is very near the Spanish Steps. There are some lovely restaurants in the locality. The metro is also nearby. The breakfast was adequate. My only complaint was the coffee.

Room Tip: Facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

All of the staff were most helpful and courteous, particularly Salvadari, Adele and Andrea. A genuinely warm welcome greeted us on our arrival in the late evening. There was a high standard of hygiene and efficiency at all times. Location was excellent, far from the madding crowd, yet in the centre of Rome. We were within walking distance of all the highlights. There were many clothing and shoe shopping opportunities within the area which were superb. Likewise, the nearby restaurants were excellent and had a varied price range, the Hotel Staff were most helpful in this regard. The only negative was that room 502 was a little small and since I like to have my window open rather than use the air conditioning, I had difficulty with the curtain arrangement! Also, because of accommodating a double bed as opposed to a single
bed, there was nowhere to put my luggage container. Overall it had the feeling of a four star hotel which had old-world character in keeping with the museum that Rome is. The staff portrayed hospitality and charm which echoed the whole culture and ethos that is Rome.

Elizabeth Mansfield

Room Tip: Some single rooms had a balcony and some double and corner rooms were adequately large.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
715 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our 6 night stay in Room 312 was absolutely perfect in very way. HC has an elegant, old world charm without being at all stuffy, the staff is wonderful (every last one of them) and treat you like royalty, and the location is outstanding. We were only a few blocks from the Met stop, the Hop on/off bus, the Barberini (go!), the Spanish Steps, and Trevi Fountain. Our room faced a charming ivy-covered courtyard and was so quiet we slept like logs. The room was pretty and sunny with pale yellow/gold walls and matching floor-to-ceiling draperies with rich yellow/gold bedspreads. There was a nice sit down vanity area, so I could primp while hubby showered (plenty of hot water), very adequate closet and cupboard, and a fridge. HC is really a great value. Breakfast is served in a pretty, mirrored room with nice linens, and a good selection of pastries, cereal, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, toast, coffee, tea, and juices by very efficient ladies who keep the plates full at all times. Wi fi worked great, plumbing was great, EVERYTHING was great. For we Americans with huge thick pillow top mattresses, the small beds are a bit disconcerting at first, but as I said, we slept very well. Hubby is 6'3" and managed without complaint. Hotel Cecil is PERFECT!

Room Tip: Best way to/from Spanish Steps: from steps(facing them), turn left, walk short distance to little a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#59 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Elite Hotel
#405 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Modigliani
Hotel Modigliani
#103 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#171 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#149 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil

Property: Hotel Cecil
Address: Via Francesco Crispi 55, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cecil 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecil Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing