We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with lovely pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Ranked #396 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable with lovely pool.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo is a great hotel to stay at while you are in Rome. It's at the top of the Janiculum Hill and close to the Parco Gianicolense where you can stroll from the hotel and admire the view of the city. You can also walk down hill into Trastevere, stopping en route to enjoy the view of the city from Fonte Acqua Paola which is really spectacular. There are lots of nice restaurants in Trastevere. It's a steep climb back up the hill to the hotel but that is just the thing to work off your dinner.
The hotel itself is very well run. The decor in the rooms is a bit dated. The rooms are clean although maybe a bit on the small side, and the shower cabinet was a bit cramped. However after a day we had forgotten about these details and just enjoyed the stay. The pool is fantastic and the breakfast has everything you could want to eat as well as a lovely view of St Peter's Basilica. You can walk to many of the sights of Rome across the river quite easily. Staff at reception very helpful. There is free tea and coffee in the lounge which is a nice touch. The bar next door is worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Belindascotland,

We are very grateful that you have let other people know of your positive stay on TripAdvisor.
I have passed your kind comments to all the team who really do appreciate your time.

We hope to welcome you back in future and thank you once again.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    192
    84
    41
    22
See reviews for
102
177
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during June for a city break.

Pros: Friendly waiting staff. Lovely pool. Beautiful gardens. Clean and adequately sized bedroom (don't agree that it needs updating, I think it was very sympathetic with the Roman style). Beds were comfortable with nice linen. Lunch menu was limited and slightly pricey but I would expect this for a capital city 4 star hotel. Food was delicious. Yes it can be a bit of a hike down to the attractions and restaurants but it only took us 15 mins and the views on the way down are stunning. You can always catch a bus or taxi back.

Cons: Slightly surly staff on reception. Dreadful breakfast comprising what sort of looked like eggs, bacon that tasted on hot dogs and stale bread and croissants. However if you wanted cake there was lots to select. This didn't put us off though and you never go hungry in Rome! The pool can get extremely busy in the afternoon with people pretty much "parking" their lounger in top of you - but you would expect space to be limited in a city hotel. Finally the bar was closed both times we tried to use it, firstly for a private function and secondly at 10.30 on Sunday night!

We would definitely return here as we loved its location and of course having a pool to cool off in is a definite bonus.

PS. If you are taking a taxi back to the airport use the hotel limo. The driver is lovely and the hotel will match whatever price you paid on the way in.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 108. Its a corner room so it has a dual aspect overlooking the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear DizzyNo1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad you loved the location of hotel and the swimming pool to cool off you in during your stay in Rome. It’s nice to hear that you tasted our lunch menu and you were satisfied. The cakes ( all homemade) for breakfast are prepared by our Chef. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your trip using our limousine service to the airport and the driver was lovely.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

IF YOU WANT A TRADITIONAL ITALIAN GRAND HOTEL THEN THE GRAND del GIANICOLO IS FOR YOU. ONCE A GRAND VILLA THIS HOTEL OFFERS YOU TOTAL RELAXATION AND Quality located in Gianicolo. a stroll away from the trastavere area where at night you get to see the real Rome and where all the locals go to enjoy themselves to eat and drink. The Grand is ideally located and the hotel has a magnificent outdoor pool which is most welcome after a hard slog around the sights of Rome.Maybe a little tired on the decorating inside and out but this should not be a criticism we would cal this "character"Breakfast on the top floor(4th)is sensational not only in fare but also in views,and is just what you want to kickstart the day.The staff are very efficient and keep the place spotless inside and out.A little gem in a massive metropolis.WE will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bindone70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Bindone70,

At the outset we thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Gianicolo for your stay and also sharing your valuable feedback with us.
We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and services and you are satisfied with your stay with us.
Looking forward to have you again with us,

Best regards from Grand Hotel Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is slightly out of the way, but very nicely furnished. The view from the breakfast room at the top is gorgeous, with the dome of St peter's clearly visible and the serenity of the local gardens permeates the morning that gives a beutiful sense of the eternal city. The staff was very helpful; I unwittingly left my passporet in the room when leaving for the airport; I was searching for it frantically in the cab when they called him to come back and get it.
Would definitely stay again, particularly if business focuses around Vaqtican City.

Room Tip: ask for room away from the main street for reduced noise. Arrive at breakfast fifteen minutes early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transplantdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Transplantdoc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I will share your nice feedback directly with our hotel staffs.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you in the near future,

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The walls are thin. All sorts of petty things are wrong: no real shampoo, no good movies, the concierge seemed incapable of calling a taxi even outside rush-hour, the promised garden view did not materialize. On the other hand it has a pool and a stunning view from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wollaton_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Wollaton_11,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a TripAdvisor comment.

Regarding the hotel walls, we are very sorry for the inconvenience. the walls are insulated at soundproofing regulations standards, so should offer enough insulation from noise. Maybe the room next to each other was noisy. We are very sorry that you didn’t ask our reception staff to change the room. We could give you a room more quiet with the garden view.
We apologize for the service glitches you experienced about calling a taxi. We call a taxi even outside rush-hour every day, but we cannot guarantee this service.
Anyhow we are glad that you appreciated our pool area and a wonderful view from the breakfast room.

We will do our best to resolve the issues that you brought to our attention.

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I had a double room for single occupancy which was fine but would have been small for two people. Exceptionally clean with good furnishings. Shower room was fine but a corner entry shower may prove difficult for some people. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices Staff were very attentive and were continually restocking the buffet. I really liked the idea of having self service tea and coffee freely available in the bar area which could be taken out into the immaculate gardens and patio area.
Staff were very friendly and polite would certainly recommend this Hotel.
I walked to all of the major sites from the Hotel it is a particularly nice walk through the adjacent park to St Peters Square and Vatican City but it is hilly especially going down into Trastevere area.

Room Tip: Would only suggest checking to see if the room has a corner entry shower as they could be difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear NRS27,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with others.
We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast with plenty of choices and you appreciated the self service tea and coffee freely available in the bar area.
We are glad you had the chance to explore some of the things that Rome has to offer and you found our hotel staff very friendly and polite.

Hopefully we will see you back here again one day soon!

Best regards from Grand Hotel del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This hotel is situated on a lovely piece of property surrounded by gardens, trees and has a huge swimming pool so having all of that was a treat (except in April the pool wasn't open yet but was still lovely and refreshing to look at). We requested a terrace and the one we got was HUGE - might have been the only one actually. So being able to walk about on the terrace and enjoy the views from there was great although rather loud from traffic below.

The room itself was quite small as was the bathroom but this didn't come as a surprise to us having traveled as much as we have.

Location was good but be prepared for some hiking about as it isn't close to the center but we took advantage of the bus service as well. The front desk staff was reserved but helpful to us especially with assisting us set up our European SIM card for our cell phone.

Bright and airy breakfast room on top floor with a good selection of items. We ate in the restaurant for dinner the last night and came in near to closing at 10pm but they did not act like they were rushing us in the least and another table of men came in after us and were having a grand old feast and they just accommodated it all. And the food there was very good.

There were a couple of public lounge rooms on ground floor which was nice and the bar area was also open and inviting. There was a computer and printer located here so that was helpful as well.

Agree with another reviewer about not being able to charge anything unless the room card key is in its slot and you are actually in the room.

All in all, this hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianiRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Sandy A,

Thank you for your stay at Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo and having left your positive comment.
It’s very important for us to know that you were satisfied and enjoyed during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and to try our swimming pool!

Best regards from Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#25 of 1,261 in Rome
797 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#246 of 1,261 in Rome
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#167 of 1,261 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Property: Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Address: Viale delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing