We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Ranked #388 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great location for us. It's in the trastavere area and as a result is a five minute walk from great restaurants with a great atmosphere which are much cheaper than the centre of Rome. The hotel as other reviews say is a little dated in terms of colours and style, but saying that it's clean and the pool and grounds more than make up for it. We hit the tourist locations hard during the day and all in the hit sun so it was fabulous to go back to the hotel for a swim and some time lazing with a glass of wine by the pool. Good hotel, great gardens and pool, good location for cheaper restaurants with a great atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holygrail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    175
    83
    35
    20
See reviews for
95
164
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our second stay at this Hotel (4 days from 31st May 2014), having stayed here about 4 years ago. We returned here because we really liked the Hotel and location. Just far enough outside the centre of Rome for a bit of peace and quiet after a hectic day at the fabulous sites. Plus it is also walkable to the Vatican and other central locations. That is provided you pace yourselves. We loved all aspects of the Hotel, the staff were great, the breakfast was just what was needed and the added value of returning to a cool dip in the pool was perfect. If we return to Rome, which is a given, we will definitely look to stay at this Hotel. As I have said above it’s in the perfect location for exploring and supported by great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a jet bath. A great way to relax after a lot of walking during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here 1 night May2014. Booked online very easily and received clear confirmation, with payment being taken at check out, rather than in advance which is unusual now. And better. Anyway, the hotel location is really great on top of the Gianicolo Hill and walkable to the Vatican, through public parks, etc. It's a very scenic spot right next to the (?) Walls, with cosy restaurants and cafe around the corner. We had room 112 on the corner so had great views out over the neighbourhood. But the traffic is pretty constant until quite late so light sleepers will need ear plugs. The windows did keep out a lot of the noise though. Great bathroom with a good shower and bath, a nice range of toiletries and comp. slippers. Breakfast was a help-yourself buffet on the 4th floor, and was very tasty and plentiful. Great views over the city from this room (shame it wasn't an open air terrace though).
Service on the front desk was friendly and efficient, although the wait staff at breakfast were nonchalant to say the least - not a problem though. Another good thing here is that check-out isn't til 12 noon so you have time to lie in or do stuff before you have to leave. Also the pool looked lovely but didn't have time to have a swim. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for location, and rooms, and the pool of course. We didn't eat dinner here so can't review that.

Room Tip: Room 112 on a corner with nice neighbourhood and tree-top views, but traffic is (very) noisy so brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, VT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Four friends, in Tivoli, on our way to Rome. We didn't know where we would stay. We stopped at the tourist information office and inquired. The agent was more than gracious; he was truly concerned and helpful. He phoned around, and finally came up with the Grand Hotel del Gianicolo, with a great view of St. Peter's and the Vatican. The price was incredibly low! Was it because they were hurting for guests? Who knows? We took it and found our way to the Gianiculum Hill. The accommodations were outstanding. We were so happy and couldn't believe that we had gotten this phenomenal place for a mere pittance. The morning "continental" breakfast was a feast! certainly enough to include lunch for us. The rooms were spacious and rather elegant, with huge windows dressed in lush velvet drapery...just to mention one of the unusual aspects of the place. In all, it was a great experience, and all because we didn't know where we would end up after visiting in Tivoli.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
283 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect for our group of 8 (4 couples) to visit The Vatican & St. Peter`s Square, as well as taking public transit to The Colosseum and other historical sites. The hotel itself was nice, but as is typical with some older European hotels, walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. Most rooms had only two single beds, that were more like hospital cots. The breakfast was just OK and no bunsen burners were used to keep food warm, therefore after 20 min, the hot food was cold and very unappealing. Staff were nice and helpful and the pool, dining room and grounds were very nice. Great little bar around the corner and a great little ristorante behind. Many good things about this hotel, but if you are a light sleeper, you may want to consider elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shepherd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel del Gianicolo was good for a hotel away from the busyness of Rome. Still a 10-15 minute walk from most bars and restaurants in the Trastevere district. Greetings at the hotel were great with a bell boy taking our luggage up to our room, only issue was we walked into an occupied room. Thankfully, 5-10 minutes later, we had a new room.

Rooms are the typical small Italian small size. Beds weren't overly comfortable and the pillows quite flat. Bathrooms were of the same quality, small and basic with an extremely small shower per American standards. Rooms did come with free internet that you need to ask for at the front desk.

We had a room on the second floor, which proved to be quite noisy in the morning, noon and night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A brusque greeting at reception on arrival where passports were demanded and room key was despatched without hint of interest suggested evenings may not be the hotel's receptionist's best time. Such things as directions to our room, breakfast location and times, access to wifi, public transport information, were all absent from the introduction to the hotel. But, after a hard night's climb from Rome's centre meant the luke-warm reception was soon forgotten. Also soon forgotten was the peeling wallpaper in the room and the non-existent coffee-making facilities. So too, later in our stay, would be the failure on the third day, of the maid cleaning the room or replace towels but, strangely, leaving some sweets on a bedside cabinet after her visit.

Unpacked and freshened up then, onwards and downwards to the Trastevere area for something to eat before a well-deserved rest. The hotel restaurant has a limited menu, and the prices may reflect a high quality but the empty tables hinted otherwise. But, that climb back from Trastevere requires a level of stamina.

It is surrounded on three sides by busy streets and the traffic noise might irritate some; a view of the well groomed garden, however, does provide some respite. Being at the top of a steep climb in a city that you will spend much of your day walking you will need to be prepared for the return journey: a bus service stop is nearby, a taxi might be preferred but for those not inclined for either then be warned if you spend more than one day, the return climbs will test your fitness

A buffet breakfast in a large room with a view, was a plentiful supply of cereals, pastries, cold meats, cooked bacon, boiled and scrambled eggs, coffee, bottled water and, cappucino available via the friendly waiting staff.

Given our walking-related aches, we chose the personal transport on offer from the hotel to the airport, at 55 euro for the pleasure of avoiding the trek to Termini railway station. The driver seemed to be suffering from both a cold on the morning which made for a sniffle-filled trip that appears to have affected more than his nose as he decided the best time to get fuel was en route to the airport, then realise after we pointed out that we were heading to another airport to the one he selected to drive towards, and strangely, regardless of our schedule, decided to stop to write notes on a pad on a lay-by outside the airport with no explanation. Fortunately, we had arranged the transport to accommodate such idiosyncrasies.

In sum, The hotel Gianicolo is reasonably priced, clean, and the particular interior design is left to individual taste. However, it requires attention to a number of issues regarding customer services to hold to a four star rating. These include, improvement in staff communication with guests, and making note that first impressions are all important. If providing a maid service then ensure that the rooms are properly maintained on a routine basis and oversights are avoided. If providing a car service to the airport at the least make sure the correct destination airport for the guest is communicated to the driver, and that he or she is prepared for a non-stop drive to that destination. Finally, get the basics right: take care to make the guests feel welcome by the offer of helpful information,for example, do not assume the guest will know where the room is located, or when breakfast is served, or that a map of Rome is only available on request. Remember, your guests make the effort to stay with you so, make an effort to make their stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cashpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#35 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#302 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#216 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel del Gianicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel del Gianicolo

Property: Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Address: Viale delle Mura Gianicolensi 107, 00152 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel del Gianicolo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wonderful Gianicolo hill above the historic centre. Rooms elegantly furnished and equipped with every modern comfort. Garage, mini-bar, private safes, air-conditioner, tvsat, direct line, wi-fi, bathrooms with shower/Jacuzzi and hairdryer. An abundant buffet served inside or in the garden so that guests can enjoy the crisp morning air. Luxuriant gardens, the swimming pool, and the interiors are designed to offer the best in terms of hospitality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel del Gianicolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing