We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Hotel dell'Urbe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel dell'Urbe
Ranked #646 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We loved our stay at Hotel Dell'Urbe! Rooms are clean, staff very friendly and trusting. Loved the location, we found it to be very safe and clean! On our last day, the credit card payment machine failed to operate. Because of the mechanical breakdown the owner suggested he would take care of the problem. To our surprise he personally escorted us to train station so that we would not miss our flight!. WOW! Excellent customer service! Thank you so much for our stayed, great recommendation to anyone travelling to Roma! Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariahui12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

Located near central station, but it is quit. Very small dusch cabin - I am very slim, but even for me it was too small :) Stuff almost do not speak English. We had a problem this reservation - it was confirmed, but they lost it. Only our Italian speaking friend solved this problem. Breakfast served to a room. It is poor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saulejanusonyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We don't recommend this hotel. Our MAIN problem was when we got there they wouldn't accept a credit card although their website said nothing about a 'cash only' policy. We reserved the room with a credit card. Giving them cash, of course, meant the room was more expensive than originally thought.

If your waist size is more than 34" you wouldn't be able to sit on the toilet!

It was clean enough. Very small. The hotel is on the 5th floor, but has a lift which will fit two small people and their small luggage at once. No english spoken. Not too friendly when a problem is posed (we wanted to pay with a card as planned.) Very noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindwardHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We booked this hotel from Venere.com and got a confirmed reservation. When we arrived there about 00:30 PM, after tryings we were able to woke up the owner. She vanished for a while and came back with the information - NO BOOKING FOR YOU. We had a confirmation paper with us, but that didn't help at all, because according to the owner hotel was fully booked.

With a help we eventually got a room from neighborhood, but this reservation process was ridiculous. Hotel owner blamed venere.com and venere.com blamed the hotel when we contacted them after our trip.

Don't know who caused the flaw, but I don't recommend using neither this hotel nor venere.com. Their explanation on this was so shocking bad having them all around their company (whatever).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Thank Janneki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2007

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Termini station, convenient for taking the train, metro and bus to anywhere in Rome. The room was small but clean and the bathroom was the tiniest we have seen so far.

The main problem is that we stayed in winter and the heat is turned off every night from 1 am to 7 am. Since we only spent the night at the hotel after a long day's sightseeing, trying to sleep in a freezing room was bad. The second night the owner assured us that he would not turn off the heat but it went off just the same. An extra thin blanket did not help either.

The owner stays next door and his wife delivers the morning breakfast to the room which was quite disappointing - coffee, juice, packaged toast and a crossaint. They don't speak much English and are not too helpful.

The owner insisted on a Euro20 key deposit on checkin and we had to pay up the previous day, then checkout in the morning leaving our keys in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wingsonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a short visit to Rome. This place was comfortable and the staff, although they could not speak good English, were friendly and helpful. The room was small, but airy and clean. It is not close to any sights so we either caught the bus or walked around Rome. It is located within walking distance to Stazione Termini, which was good. For the price we paid we found this accommodation fair and reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiarePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2006

I stayed here because Hotel Europa sold my reservation and I was moved to this hotel. I stayed 3 nights. This hotel is managed by the owner himself and he is a bad & very moody person. Avoid at any cost.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sanjay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#281 of 1,271 in Rome
971 reviews
Esquilino
Marco Polo
Marco Polo
#373 of 1,271 in Rome
892 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#390 of 1,271 in Rome
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#254 of 1,271 in Rome
733 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#753 of 1,271 in Rome
457 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Galli
Hotel Galli
#629 of 1,271 in Rome
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dell'Urbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dell'Urbe

Address: Via Dei Mille 27/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #646 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel dell'Urbe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel dell'Urbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dell Urbe
Dell Urbe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing