We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not great”
Review of Hotel Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mirage
Ranked #1,048 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay in this part of town unless it was easy access to the train station. I stayed here for one night before flying to London and the area is just a little bit dodgy. The hotel was average, my room was large but the bed was tiny and the air conditioning and heater didn't work. Poor water pressure in the shower but room and bathroom clean overall. Weird smell in the room and windown opened to loud back of shops below, which was unhelpful. Please, there are better places to stay in Rome than this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels_Of_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Cheap price right next to termini train station. Really disinterested staff and the bathroom is a bit grubby but it's cheap by Rome prices. Good area for cheap food as well. Not the most authentic but still tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The staff who were working on reception (i am assuming they were the owners), they were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We arrived early and our room was not ready. As we were only staying one night we were eager to start seeing the city, they offered to keep an eye on our bags. Unfortunately we were staying in the other hotel of theirs....the Halifax. First impression when i saw the foyer and lift area was OMG! When we reached the 3rd floor where our room was, definate improvement. The room was nice and clean, air con, tv (only italian programmes and seemed to have a life of its own, randomly switching off or losing signal). Nice bathroom with a powerful shower and hot water (toilet seat however was broken).
I never had breakfast but the kids did, they were back within a matter of minutes and were not very impressed. Not much choice and the bread was stale in their opinion.
The hotel was very convenient for us as it is within walking distance to all the Roman attractions and next to the termini train station.
If i was travelling around Italy again and needed to be close to termini i would use the hotel again but i would prefer to try the Mirage part of the hotel as i have the feeling it is far better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the Mirage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank publover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great location. Opposite the train station. There was no noise in the hotel room.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room was clean. Clean bedding and towels daily. Large wardrobe provided. Hairdryer. Free WiFi - with great in room signal. TV and dressing table.

Air-conditioning was amazing. So cool and a pleasant surprise!

Breakfast was surprising. A good range of sweet Danish pastries and bread, cheese, ham, juice and coffee.

Rooms could do with a paint but the were clean.

We were pleased with this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and it really provided everything we needed. Do not be put off by the very shabby entrance hall! We were on 4th floor, the rooms seemed to have been refurbished recently and had new windows which kept out all street sounds. The rooms were large which is unusual for Rome, the bathrooms spotless and a safe and small fridge provided in each room. Air-conditioning was a welcome relief from the sweltering heat of Rome in August.The hotel is ideally situated across the road from Termini and from where buses drop and pick up from the two airports. Breakfast was provided in a small dining room and was good - juices, good coffee, croissants, toast, ham cheese and cake. The staff at reception were very helpful. Great value - will use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moojea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I'm itchy wife itchy !!!!! My wife is wearing face mask to sleep !!!! Sleeping fully clothed ruined trip of A life time !!!!!! Will not recommend not happy leaving ASAP !!!bathroom I would not bath my dog in !! Close to train but not a friendly place !!! Hallway stinks fridge broken !!! Aircon works but think I will catch something very disappointed !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very good hotel. Right opposite the main train station which is the best part. You can do a late night since it doesn't get deserted. Room was ok and so was breakfast. Lifts were uncomfortable. Bathroom large enough and clean. Over all good budgetary option.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvyrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,138 of 1,271 in Rome
243 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#761 of 1,271 in Rome
456 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#644 of 1,271 in Rome
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#451 of 1,271 in Rome
660 reviews
Esquilino
Giorgina
Giorgina
#723 of 1,271 in Rome
216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#291 of 1,271 in Rome
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirage

Address: Via Milazzo 4/6, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,048 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mirage 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mirage is located at Via Malazzo 4 just a stone’s throw away from Termini Station – the transport hub of Rome with direct links to the airport, rail links to the rest of Italy & Europe, a bus station, access to the city’s tram network, a huge taxi rank and the meeting point of the city’s two underground metro lines. Perfect for seeing the sights of Rome therefore, the Hotel Mirage offers clean and comfortable rooms decorated in a classic simple style. Decorated and furnished with choice fabrics and functional furniture, the rooms also all enjoy pristine en-suite tiled bathrooms. Despite occupying a traditional 19th century Italian palazzo, the Hotel Mirage also offers guests a whole host of modern conveniences in their guest rooms including: Free Wi-Fi internet access Personal safety deposit box Flat screen LCD TV Direct dial telephone Air Conditioning Soundproofing Private en-suite bathrooms with courtesy toiletries, shower and hairdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing