We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great well-run hotel”
Review of Albergo Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Piave
Ranked #462 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great well-run hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hotel Piave is about a 15-20 minutw walk from Termini station (if you have heavy luggage, it may be wiser to take a bus). The hotel is situated in a quaint residential building which was nice to experience instead of the usual commercial tourist hotels. It was still close enough to the city centre for us to walk to the main sites and main shopping streets. Giorgio and his team at Hotel Piave really need to be commended for making our stay enjoyable. They were friendly and helpful (provided a map, told us about bus routes, booked us a taxi to the airport etc). I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a reasonabley priced hotel with a homely atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taz2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    108
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
143
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel Piave is a small family hotel within 15-20 minute walking distance of Termini. As it is in a more residential area of Rome, it is a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of tourists. The staff is very friendly and helpful and everyone could speak good English. On arrival we were provided with a map to all the main attractions etc- which proved most helpful. The rooms are relatively small but are very well equipped and nicely decorated. They were also clean and comfortable. There is a fridge in the room, which was a welcome addition. The bathroom is of a decent size as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful and everyone could speak good English. The breakfast was an added bonus- good croissants, cappuccino, sweets and fruits etc. You are able to leave luggage there after check out. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those looking for a great budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samm204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent a long time researching hotels in Rome on Trip Advisor, looking for one that had the most positive reviews at the cheapest price! Albergo Piave did not disappoint. We found the area surrounding it to be just perfect - quiet, safe, with super restaurants which many locals used - always a good sign!
It was an easy 10 minute walk to Termini where we caught the shuttle bus to the airport. Giorgio gave us a map on arrival with bus stops and routes with all main sites marked. There are bus stops for the 2 main routes to sites just 2 minutes from the hotel. We did walk to some which was no problem either.
The hotel is very well kept. We were only there 6 nights but towels and bed linen were changed 3 or 4 times. The room is small but acceptable with hair dryer, toiletries and small mini bar. The breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice of breads and pastries with choice of cereals, yogurt, juice etc. what more could we have asked for?! We really could not believe that we had the service and breakfast that we did for the price. I would highly recommend this hotel if you like to keep your budget down without feeling as though you have!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 781LorraineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel Piave is a small family hotel within walking distance of Termini and metro stations Republica and Castro Pretorio. The rooms are relatively small but are very well equipped. The staff is very friendly and helpful and everyone spoke very good English. The breakfast was classic Italian: croissants, cappuccino, selection of sweets and fruits etc. You can leave you luggage there for a few hours even after the check out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vassil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was a bit unsure as to how far from the major attractions this hotel would be - some friends who had been to Rome before told me it was far. Well, people have different notions of distance, that's for sure, so I decided to take the advice I found on this site and gave it a try. I was impressed by almost everything: great neighborhood (beautiful, safe, convenient, far from the crowds), nice hotel facilities overall, real close to everything (bus stop, subway stations: Republica or Termini or if you are moderately active, you can actually walk to many sites). It's a budget hotel, but well-maintained: the room is small, but not tiny; there's a closet, some furniture and a mini-bar (real tiny, but you can still store small stuff or bottles). The bedlinen and towels were clean and constantly changed. My only complaint would be the shower head: many holes were clogged, so there wasn't a lot of water coming through. We really liked the fact that it was a small hotel in a residential building - we even had keys to the main door and were greeted by the other residents! It felt like home, really. However, if you're the kind of person who likes to be pampered when in a hotel, this is definitely not the place for you. The breakfast room is small (it holds 4 or 5 tables) but it is charming and cozy. The food was good, although we thought the bread was a bit stale a couple of days, but a really minor flaw, if you ask me. There are many restaurants in the area (we tried Café Piave on our first day - it was OK), a great gelateria (La Romana, on the corner of Via Piave and XX de Setembre), a medium-sized supermarket (Conad - about two blocks away), a laundromat on Via Montebello (paid 7 euros to wash/dry a medium-sized load). The staff was really courteous, helpful and spoke good English. Giorgio was really helpful explaining the area, the hotel facilities, transportation and gave us a really handy map (you do need a map in Rome, believe me). There was another employee at the time, Gavino, who used to help out with breakfast, a real nice guy too. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay during our great trip to Rome and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrazzyCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrived very early in the morning and was pleasantly surprised when the owner of the hotel happily made a plan to let us check in early !

The hotel has a great location with friendly staff that are happy to help and a delicious breakfast , the rooms were a little small but very clean and comfortable , I highly recommend this well priced hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Coming to Rome, my expectations for a budget price hotel were 3 things: 1)safe location 2) convenient, 3) clean. We took the cab from the main Rome airport here at night so that we didn't have to find our way from the train station in the dark with two backpacks at 9pm. It was a good decision. In hindsight, anyone with a good map printout would have been able to walk north from the Termini train station and find this place. But once on Via Piave, don't bother looking for a big neon sign that says "Albergo Piave". This place is subtly located on the 3rd floor of the building secured by gated door and you press a buzzer to enter. There is a wrought iron antique elevator for those with heavy luggage else you do your 4 flights of stairs.

Check-in was easy and quick. We were provided with a map that showed where we were and pointed towards all the tourist attractions, most of which (Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps) were within walking distance. There is a metro to both Vatican City and to Roman Colosseum that we used. On Via Piave, there are several decent restaurants to grab a bite to eat.

Our room was small according to North American standards but on par with what you get in London, Paris, etc. And no, you don't have room to open two full size suit cases and have space to walk around. The room was clean but I think they can clean up some of the bottom shower door rails that have some mildew and old grout on it. Aside from that, no other complaints. Breakfast is run of the mill with cold cuts, cheese, breads & pastries, yogurt and fruits. If you are in a rush and need breakfast, it would be okay but if you have time, I suggest trying other places for local coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Louisiana
Hotel Louisiana
#539 of 1,258 in Rome
256 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Margaret Rome
Hotel Margaret Rome
#784 of 1,258 in Rome
165 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#402 of 1,258 in Rome
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,258 in Rome
655 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Giotto Flavia
Hotel Giotto Flavia
#1,047 of 1,258 in Rome
182 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Medici
Hotel Medici
#283 of 1,258 in Rome
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Piave

Property: Albergo Piave
Address: Via Piave 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Style:
#114 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#210 Business Hotel in Rome
#233 Family Hotel in Rome
#265 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Piave 2*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Piave Rome
Albergo Piave Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing