We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value for money”
Review of Hotel Sisto V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sisto V
Ranked #658 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Although the hotel is a little far out of town I thought it was excellent value for money. The only downside was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

The hotel is far from the center, there are few public transport at night, and my room was very small. The breakfast was ok, and the employees were friendly, but had some problems speaking English. The Hotel Sisto V is close to the Vatican
I recommend a hotel closer to the center.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiago2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Guest,
is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

There was absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel. It was lovely. But, it could be quite adventurous to get to the city centre. For example you could go to the train station nearby just to find out that the train would not be coming in an other hour. And then you would have to figure out how to do so alternatively, like with a bus. You could ask somenone but they would definately not speak english. On the contrary they would keep on talking to yhou in italian despite your dazzled look. You could follow them though to the bus station, try to "read" the board of buses and direction and guess which one could be the one. Then you would ride with the bus for about 30-40 minutes, find a tube station and then things would be much easier. Off course the tube stations are very few to chose among and a good deal of walking towards the sight is included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowwhite124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Guest, is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I had to book a hotel in Rome at the last minute and found it difficult to locate something affordable with available rooms. A friend suggested this hotel as it is located in his neighborhood.
It has been recently renovated and the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The bathrooms are modern and above average for Europe.
It is unfortunately located in a residential area and too far from the sites of Rome. I discovered the bus stops just steps away, however, and there is also a train station within a couple of blocks, so one can make an easy connection to the metro system.
The worst disadvantage for me is that there are literally no restaurants within walking distance. There are several pizzarias and small markets, but one has to travel by bus or taxi to get to a decent restaurant.
The breakfast was quite poor for this class hotel - instant coffee dispensed from a machine, watery juices, poor quality commercial pastries, etc. They did have boiled eggs on one of the three mornings I was there.
The staff was great! They were very friendly and very helpful with information about bus routes, getting tickets, finding food, etc.
There is a garage, but it is not free.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementSistoV, Direttore at Hotel Sisto V, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Guest,
is been a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Hotel is good in general, staff speak English and are helpful. We started using the train to get us to the metro and then to Rome Center, but we noticed reduced hours after 7PM and on weekends, I think there are 2 trains per hour after 7PM and 1 per hour after 9PM, same kind of problems during the week end. So use the bus instead, two buses take you to the metro, they are always there, just avoid them on rush hour. Also be aware that it takes about 45min to go from the hotel to Rome Center ( Coleseum for instance ), it is a big city so this is normal, just take this into consideration.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank __-___-_____
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

On the main thoroughway to the main hospital so do not book if you like nice peaceful sleeps! Close to Metro and just two stops away from Vatican though, so pretty handy if you are driving.No restaurant. No Bar. No additional facilities, very basic. Breakfast was not all that good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLouiseTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 children (aged 6 & 7). The room was clean and had a lovely balcolny. There was little for our children to do- no kids channels on the tv, but there was a little lounge area where they could sit and play - we brought our own packs of cards. Unfortunatley the air con broke on 2nd night and it did get hot. There is a supermarket just around the corner which was great for stocking up on pizzas, bottles of water, bread, biscuits etc. These picnics saved us a fortune and were worth carrying. The bus service in to Cornelia and then on to the metro was a lot quicker and more frequent than the train. The hotel staff were friendly,but not particurlarly helpful - Another family who we met there told us about the supermarked and the bus. Breakfast was ok but did run out of some stuff - ham and cheese, bowls! on some days

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rabinorabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#439 of 1,272 in Rome
1,092 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#550 of 1,272 in Rome
669 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#485 of 1,272 in Rome
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
2.1 mi away
Park Hotel Ginevra
Park Hotel Ginevra
#640 of 1,272 in Rome
517 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel I Triangoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sisto V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sisto V

Address: Via Lardaria 10, 00168 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #658 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £30 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sisto V 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming atmosphere, where experience and professionalism ensure a pleasant stay for the most demanding clientele. The many facilities and the warm and relaxing atmosphere will attend to your needs during your stay in Rome.Your Roman Holiday or your business trip can start right at our Hotel, from where you can reach all important parts of the city directly from the Metro station only a few yards away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sisto V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sisto v Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing