We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Lussemburgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lussemburgo
Ranked #618 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My review is based on a two night stay here in March 2013.

At €55 per night for a double room this was excellent value for money by the standards of central Rome. The hotel is small (9 rooms) set in a quiet side street about 15 minutes walk from the bus/rail station at Stazione Termini and about an average 30 minute walk from the main city centre visitor attractions. It is located in a quiet side street, the Via Bixio.

The room was on the small side, but clean and well maintained. It had TV and a somewhat shaky wi-fi connection. The place is family managed and the individuals concerned do not speak English, French or German. That said, they are entirely accustomed to communicating with foreigners and will readily engage with you using Google Translate on your i-Pad, or using sign language. I never felt uncomfortable over communication issues.

The breakfast offered in the communal room was basic. Cheese, cold meat and bread with either tea or coffee. But it was fine and perfectly normal by local standards. They don't do an evening meal but the area is heavily populated with cafes, restaurants and supermarkets.

The area has some social issues and the hotel management are security conscious. They will not allow you to take your room key out with you and the front door is kept permanently locked. One of the managers is permanently on duty at the reception desk and you have to ring the doorbell to obtain entrance.

Possibly not the best place for a romantic weekend - but fine for all other purposes. I will certainly stay here again if opportunity arises.

Room Tip: The hotel is one three floors and there is no lift. Ground floor rooms have better w-fi connection b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

Excellent service, neat, convenient location. Wonderful hosts. Small comfortable rooms, shower. Delicious nourishing. A convenient place to access all the sights of Rome. Walk about 10 15minučių. Recommend it. Price of consistent quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoretaM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The hotel is a very friendly place, cheap and well located in center of Rome. I stayed during four days and the main sites can be reached at a walked distance. I really recommend the lussemburgo! Very warm welcome by the elderly couple.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giusdib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I travelled with a friend in Rome and Hotel Lussemburgo was the perfect accomondation for us! Mr Carlo and Mrs Lucia were there during the whole day ready to help us with everything.
We couldn't speak the same language but we could communicate! They served us a good breakfast and helped us with everything! The area is perfect, near the Termini station. It looked a bit dangerous at first, but then we realised that there was no danger. It's located a walking distance near everything! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argyrwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Excellent service, my stay at the Hotel Lussemburgo was pleasant and the people who work there have a human quality and are very helpful, made ​​me feel at home.
The breakfast was good and the talk and the company better.
They gave me the right information to make my journey in Rome.
The Hotel is very well located and you can move very well caminnado or bus

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vane598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Don't assume (as we English love to) that someone here will speak English! Because they 100% do not. Not saying that is a bad thing, just saying it as a primary warning.

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights, we chose this hotel as it didn't seem too far out of central Rome, and we were on a budget.

Cons:
Not very good breakfast (we ended up buying our own cereal to have instead)
Area of hotel isn't particularly nice, quite a few homeless around, we didn't have any problems in the area, it just isn't particularly nice,
Room is on 4th floor so be ready to climb!
NO air-con (temperatures were around 40C when we were in Rome, we didn't sleep very well as there was only a rubbish fan in the room which didn't help very much)
We had our window open ALL the time due to the heat, therefore you constantly hear noise from the traffic outside (especially quite early in the morning)
Hotel isn't that central, so be prepared to either walk alot, or to travel by Metro alot.

Pros:
Nice staff (even though we didn't understand each other, the lady seemed very nice and caring)
Okay price
Clean
Kitchen - if you want to do your own cooking

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellussemburgo, Owner at Hotel Lussemburgo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Kind Sirs,

thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor.
I take inspiration from this important review to inform you and others future guests that from this year every room are equipped by air conditioning in order to make the stay more confortable; also we want to inform everybody that there is not longer kitchen to use.
In refer to the location I am not agree with you because certainly we are not in Trevi Fountain area but for sure we are at 15 minutes walk to the Colosseum, the Saint John in Laterano, the Termini Central train Station and by underground (Manzoni stop) you can easily reach the Spanish Square and the Vatican City.
We hope that our daily efforts will be enough to increase the satisfaction of our precious guest.

Massimiliano Casti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A good place to stay in Rome. A walking distance away from the main places to visit, very close to the metro station. I had hot water and a clean room all the time. Internet connection was great, although I had to connect through WiMan. The hotel is managed by a very friendly couple. They don't speak a word in English but this was not a problem at all, since they made all possible effort to comunicate (and Italians have a particular way of doing so). Also, their son who works at the hotel speaks clear English. One of the days I was there they were replacing all the TVs for new ones, so it seems they are making effort to provide better service to guests. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jams526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Taormina Hotel
Taormina Hotel
#394 of 1,272 in Rome
558 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#796 of 1,272 in Rome
66 reviews
Testaccio
Crossroad Hotel
Crossroad Hotel
#563 of 1,272 in Rome
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Moscatello
Moscatello
#633 of 1,272 in Rome
149 reviews
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#755 of 1,272 in Rome
179 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luzzatti
Hotel Luzzatti
#934 of 1,272 in Rome
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lussemburgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lussemburgo

Address: Via Bixio 70, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lussemburgo 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lussemburgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lussemburgo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing