We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”
Review of Hotel Mari 1

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mari 1
Ranked #3,139 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012 via mobile

We were forced to use Mari 1 since the manger at Mari 2 told us there were some problems with our booked rooms at the hotel. The manager at Mari 1 was unpolite, rude and bad at English. Our rooms were not clean, breakfast (which we had paid for) was only available at Mari 2 (a 10 minute walk), one day there were no hot water and wifi never worked. Don't book this hotel!

Stayed February 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Christian, we apologize for the inconvenience of the room. Sometimes it happens to be overbooked and we do our best to accommodate our guests. If you had presented the problem of wifi and hot water we had immediately took the remedies. However, thanks to your review we have improved the service day by day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    13
    7
    12
See reviews for
1
7
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I couldn't even imagine places like this exist in Rome. I would never call it "Hotel". The info & pictures provided at their website are outrageous lie. We found all details step by step: no lift, no internet connection, dirthy, TV doesn't work, towels are not provided (I had to go down to ask for them), the "double" bed consists of two narrow beds which fall apart during the night and you find yourself in the morning sleeping in the hole. The toilet & shower are at the same room which located at the corridor, so if you need a toilet, but somebody is taking a shower, you have to wait. "Reception" staff consists of 2 people; one of them doesn't understand any word in English and another one knows few words, but from time to time you find the reception door closed and you don't have anyone else to apply to solve your problem. Oh, I forgot to mention that the machine for making payments by credit card most of time also doesn't work and you should be ready to pay by cash. If you don't want to ruin your impressions of this wonderful city, never choose this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Firstly, on arrival we had to carry our suitcases up 127 steps of concrete to get to our room. Our key wouldn't open the door so we had to get a spare from the rude manager! The room smelt, the 'double' bed was 2 single beds put together and the bunkbeds wern't stable at all. Breakfast consisted of dry pastrys and juice ( with bits of floating cereal in it) and soft cereal. You have to leave your keys at reception when you leave the hotel. After the first day of seeing the breakfast we skipped breakfast for the 3 other days. Italian people shouting from balconys at us. Got called out of our room in our pyjamas because an italian man accused usof throwing [---] in a bag out of the window which is foul. This was at a ridiculous hour in the morning and we had to apologise to make him go away and not to ring the police, it was humiliating. The facilities were very poor... the shower was like a footbath for a midget. NEVER EVER STAY HERE, trust me and the 40 other people that stayed with us. To finish the holiday off we had to carry our suitcases all the way back down the 127 stairs... the joys.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

The price that we paid for the room was really not worth it. No elevators. The receptionist was really unfriendly. The fan and lights in the room were not working.In short, that was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Don't be tempted to accept either this hotel or its sister the Mari 2 as suitable hotels for school groups. They may be inexpensive and relatively centrally located, but we had an extremely stressful stay here. Because of an accident that happened on the first morning of our visit, the managers locked us out of our rooms each evening and threatened to chuck us out of the hotel if we didn't pay up immediately. We were insured for accidents, the insurance company were quick to assure both us and the hotel that the damage would be paid for, and the hotel was paid before we left. A professionally run hotel would have known how to deal with the situation without the grief it caused us and our young charges - children aged 11-13. It was curious that during our time there the price for damage continued to rise, ending in a massive bill, which frankly defied belief. In the accident a couple of the children were injured - again no care was given to the boys as a result from the hotel management. We loved Rome, but want to warn others that this is not the place to stay with a school group. Even as a tourist I would think again. In our rooms we had a leaking basin, no hot water and one day no water at all, broken shower heads, wires were sticking out from wall, mirror cracked, curtain hanging from windows, loose floorboards, the breakfast, said to be 'hearty' on their website - was 'one croissant only' and a bowl of cereal. The managers, especially Enzo running Mari 1, were unbelievably rude. I understand that damage caused is upsetting to hotel managers, but it does happen and one should deal with it professionally. Sadly we just got threats, rudeness, distrust and aggression.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2010

The room was on the 3rd floor (no lift). The room was ok with a newly renovated bathroom. Short distance from Termini so it was easy to just take a metro and train. A bit noise from the street on the mornings but it didn't bother that much.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Everyone here seems to be moaning, basically this was just about the cheapest hotel (within walking distance of the main sites) that we could find. And obviously you get what you pay for! Yes the hotel has no lift, but for f's sake; you people walk miles and miles all over Rome looking at the sights, who cares about a few flights of stairs?! Yes the reception is on the 4th floor and the hotel rooms are on the 7th (or there about) but it says all this on your booking form. Our room was clean and comfortable, the windows had decent glazing for sound-proofing and the bathroom was clean, simple and worked fine. The manager was quite a character (and doesn't speak English), but with a bit of improv we managed to work out the booking with no problem at all. The only downside I can think of is that the reception is only open for a few hours in afternoon, so plan your trip; leave your luggage at the train station (2min walk away) while you see the sites on your first day. Personally I think this is worth small amount of money you pay. Back-packer / shared dorm accommodation is only slightly cheaper than this, but you get your own room, bargain!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Laterano Guest House
Laterano Guest House
#2,036 of 3,669 in Rome
85 reviews
Next Stop Roma Porta Maggiore
#2,822 of 3,669 in Rome
14 reviews
Esquilino
Walter Rooms
Walter Rooms
#3,149 of 3,669 in Rome
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&B Dante
B&B Dante
#2,781 of 3,669 in Rome
24 reviews
Hotel 4 Pini
#2,958 of 3,669 in Rome
57 reviews
San Lorenzo
Max House Bed & Breakfast
Max House Bed & Breakfast
#2,679 of 3,669 in Rome
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Mari 1

Property: Hotel Mari 1
Address: Via Palestro 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,139 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mari 1 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mari 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing