We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation in central Rome”
Review of Hotel Mari 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mari 1
Ranked #3,261 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights in July and for the price I was happy. Yes, reception is on the second floor and rooms are on the fourth, so expect to climb quite a few steps. I personally found the staff helpful and pleasant but there were a couple of negatives. Although connecting to the hotel wifi network was easy, the internet connection wasn't working most of the time. Also, despite the double glazed window being closed, you could still easily hear noise from the room next door and the bar across the street. It was just a short walk from the train station though and if I go back I'd have no major worries about staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing our hotel Mari 1 for your stay in Rome.
We are very glad to know that you appreciated the hotel and also the good value for money.
We also thak you for your suggestions : we will do our best to fix them.
It will be a big pleasure hosting you again for a new stay in our beautiful city and take the occasion to extend our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

When I went to the hotel after climbing 4 flights of stairs, they said they could not charge my credit card when I booked online and I had to pay cash for the booking. This is a scam. They charge everyone twice!! NEVER go to this hotel. When I said I did not have cash, they kicked me out and changed my card AGAIN as no-show fee!!

This hotel is a scam! I should have read the reviews before booking.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel at all cost. It is a scam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OnceSaw_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you for your review but I am pleased to point out something very important: sometimes it happens that credit cards give problems, and in fact there has happened more than once that we are being denied the transaction but in fact the money was taken anyway. I want to emphasize, however, that all the guests that has happened this unpleasant discomfort have been repaid. We apologize again to everyone for what happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

First and foremost,we booked for 4 nights and knew we are goin to climb the stairs but never thought 4 flights of stairs. People with heavy lugguages,lack of stamina and with small kids,Iwould not recommend this hotel. Though it was cheap but staying with open windows at night,is a nightmare. People patronising at those restaurants down below are annoying because it never ceased until around 3 a.m. and around 5 or 6 a.m then the rubbish truck unloading and loading the bins would wake you up if one is a light sleeper. Moreover,there is an air- condin the room,then you have to pay extra 10 Euros per night with closed windows but very warm or hot inside the room. Take note the hotel charges 2 extra Euros per person/night. Our bathroom or toilet is kept satisfactorily cleaned only that having the breakfast is in Hotel Mari 2 at Via Calatafimi. Breakfast is simple and almost same varieties every morning. If one wants to stay cheap in Rome and not afraid of night noises and climbing flights of stairs,then this hotel is okay! Otherwise finding a cheap hotel with own bathroom,toilet,breakfast and near Termini Station is not easy. Take note there is no free lugguage-room, the hotel charges 3 Euros for each bag or lugguage. Reception is on 2 nd floor and there`s an old lady at check-in counter who speaks no English so asking for tips about Rome is zero but one can ask in Hotel Mari 2 during breakast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaiMS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thanks for your review, we appreciate very much. It is in fact the hotel has no lift and for technical reasons we were not able to install it yet but we are working on that and there are good possibilities. we are pleased that you found the hotel clean and the breakfast satisfactory. We are pleased that you appreciate the fact that it is a very cheap hotel still offers different services and is also located in a strategic position.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

First and foremost, if you don't like going up 4 flights of stairs with all your luggage, DO NOT STAY HERE. The rooms are on the 4th story and it's very tough to carry your luggage up that high.
Secondly, you have to check in at the other Hotel Mari 2, which is probably a 15 minute walk, with all your luggage. The only way we knew that, was that there just happened to be the cleaning man up on the 4th floor, who told us. He was so nice and held our luggage for us. He told us how to get to the other hotel,but it was down a side street and was hard to find still. The complimentary breakfast is also at the other hotel, which is a pain if you weren't planning on heading that direction. Let me tell you, it's not worth the walk.

As for the room itself, for the price, it's good. The beds are small but we didn't mind. There was plenty of extra pillows and blankets which was a plus. The view was amazing.

The bathrooms are a good size, but boy do they smell! The first day it wasn't bad because it smelled a little like bleach after they had just cleaned. But after that, it was almost unbearable. It smelled like a porto potty. (And not from us)

No one was ever in the office at this hotel, so we kept bugging the staff at the hotel on the 1st floor.

The location is great. It's safe (we were 2 women in our 20's who stayed there and walked around alone at night) and right next to the train station which is a HUGE plus.

The website says you get free wifi, although it was always "down" when we were there and we were always being told that someone was coming to fix it. Never happened.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lex025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

dear girls thank you for your review. We appreciate your advice that no doubt will help us to improve. We are pleased that the rooms are to your liking and they were clean. We are pleased that the staff was friendly and courteous. In addition, we are pleased that the strategic location did you allow to move freely around the city of Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were forced to use Mari 1 since the manger at Mari 2 told us there were some problems with our booked rooms at the hotel. The manager at Mari 1 was unpolite, rude and bad at English. Our rooms were not clean, breakfast (which we had paid for) was only available at Mari 2 (a 10 minute walk), one day there were no hot water and wifi never worked. Don't book this hotel!

Stayed: February 2012
3  Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Christian, we apologize for the inconvenience of the room. Sometimes it happens to be overbooked and we do our best to accommodate our guests. If you had presented the problem of wifi and hot water we had immediately took the remedies. However, thanks to your review we have improved the service day by day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I couldn't even imagine places like this exist in Rome. I would never call it "Hotel". The info & pictures provided at their website are outrageous lie. We found all details step by step: no lift, no internet connection, dirthy, TV doesn't work, towels are not provided (I had to go down to ask for them), the "double" bed consists of two narrow beds which fall apart during the night and you find yourself in the morning sleeping in the hole. The toilet & shower are at the same room which located at the corridor, so if you need a toilet, but somebody is taking a shower, you have to wait. "Reception" staff consists of 2 people; one of them doesn't understand any word in English and another one knows few words, but from time to time you find the reception door closed and you don't have anyone else to apply to solve your problem. Oh, I forgot to mention that the machine for making payments by credit card most of time also doesn't work and you should be ready to pay by cash. If you don't want to ruin your impressions of this wonderful city, never choose this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nik0letta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Firstly, on arrival we had to carry our suitcases up 127 steps of concrete to get to our room. Our key wouldn't open the door so we had to get a spare from the rude manager! The room smelt, the 'double' bed was 2 single beds put together and the bunkbeds wern't stable at all. Breakfast consisted of dry pastrys and juice ( with bits of floating cereal in it) and soft cereal. You have to leave your keys at reception when you leave the hotel. After the first day of seeing the breakfast we skipped breakfast for the 3 other days. Italian people shouting from balconys at us. Got called out of our room in our pyjamas because an italian man accused usof throwing [---] in a bag out of the window which is foul. This was at a ridiculous hour in the morning and we had to apologise to make him go away and not to ring the police, it was humiliating. The facilities were very poor... the shower was like a footbath for a midget. NEVER EVER STAY HERE, trust me and the 40 other people that stayed with us. To finish the holiday off we had to carry our suitcases all the way back down the 127 stairs... the joys.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasminwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
B&B La Chicca
#1,604 of 3,721 in Rome
29 reviews
Villa Chauvet
#991 of 3,721 in Rome
17 reviews
Esquilino
Aladino Inn
Aladino Inn
#3,070 of 3,721 in Rome
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,882 of 3,721 in Rome
92 reviews
Esquilino
Walter Rooms
Walter Rooms
#3,204 of 3,721 in Rome
230 reviews
Esquilino
Rumariya Rooms
Rumariya Rooms
#591 of 1,148 in Rome
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mari 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mari 1

Address: Via Palestro 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,261 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £25 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mari 1 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mari 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing