We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth what we paid”
Review of Hotel Gabriele

Hotel Gabriele
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gabriele
Ranked #997 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our one night stay here was a placeholder for Hotel Marco Polo who were experiencing plumbing problems the night we checked in. We were assured this would be equivalent - NO WAY.

This is a one star hotel that cost $30-$40 less than our reservation with Marco Polo - so we did not get what we paid for. Had we paid the going rate for Hotel Gabriele, we would have gotten exactly what we expected.

The room was not that well maintained - the wallpaper was peeling in spots, and the paint on the walls was scuffed. The bathroom, while tiny, was at least clean and in good shape. The mattress was only a smidge better than what you'd find in a sofa bed. And our frame was tilted, so I felt like I was sleeping on a slant.

If you're cheap, but you at least want a room that is clean and not gross, go for it. If you want any sort of amenities, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scout1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gabriele
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2005

We arrived at our hotel and when we first saw our room in was not fancy, but clean and adequate. The traffic noice however, was awful and we were unable to enjoy a good nights sleep the entire vacation. We did not get a telephone, coffee maker, hairdryer or a safe that worked as promised and we didn't have wake up service. There was no internet available for guest use as promised either. The breakfast was adequate, but certainly not filling.

Unless you are travelling on a very tight budget, I wouldn't recommend that you use this hotel.

The location was very central and we were able to walk to all the major attractions.

Stayed: September 2005
3  Thank Josie289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2005

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in early July, with my wife and 3 kids. Overall, it was good. Nice location, less than 5 minutes to Termini Station main entrance and many good eating places in the area. The room was clean and the matresses were comfortable. Breakfast was include, a donut and a cup of coffee/tea at a nearby cafe; modest but for me it's good enough to start the morning. Guests received 20% discount from Alfredo Ristorante, which is along the same road.

Only 2 unpleasant experiences: no hot water on the first 2 mornings and the elevator did not work on the last morning after we checked-out (please note that the hotel is on the fifth floor).

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zackofnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2005

My two female college friends and I spent our last three nights of spring break here. Checkin and checkout of the hotel were quick and it was two blocks from Termini train station on the fourth floor of a building containing other hotels. There was a great grocer/deli a few doors down. The lift only carried two people at a time but was sufficient for getting luggage up and down from the fourth (actually fifth story) floor. The room was a little tight, but ok. The shower pressure and water temperature were unpredictable and the flimsy shower door fell off on my friend (which was actually kind of funny). We were also missing a shirt on the last day before checkout, which we can't positively say wasn't our own fault, but at least it was only a shirt. The price was good too at about 200 Euro total for three people for three nights, especially due to the location. Be careful though, because there wasn't always an attendant present to buzz you into the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FamilyTravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank sayaさや
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paparipapari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#288 of 1,267 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#857 of 1,267 in Rome
63 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#434 of 1,267 in Rome
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Mirage
Hotel Mirage
#1,031 of 1,267 in Rome
215 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#817 of 1,267 in Rome
125 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Ferrarese
Hotel Ferrarese
#1,043 of 1,267 in Rome
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabriele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriele

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 76, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #997 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabriele 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gabriele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriele Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing