We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for price but dodgy area”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #593 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for price but dodgy area”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have recently stayed at the Hotel Derby and for the price i paid I cant complain, It is a basic 3 star hotel, it is clean and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very standard, there is a choice of cereal, yoghurt, iced croissants, bread, ham and cheese and apples. The hotel was only 10 mins walk from the metro station so it was very easily accessible to the centre of Rome, the Coliseum metro was only 2 or 3 stops away. The room I stayed in was fine, it had a balcony and air conditioning, it was an average size, the bathroom was really clean and the room was cleaned everyday, it also had a tv but no tea or coffee facilities The only negative about this hotel is the area it is in - Garbatella. As soon as we arrived and walked out of the metro station....it was very smelly and the area was absolutely covered in rubbish, there is not a lot around. There are a couple of pizza restaurants that are cheap to eat at but I wouldn't recommend, also no one speaks any sort of English in this area it is a very typical Italian suburb.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KickinKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    126
    72
    19
    4
See reviews for
43
106
34
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VAUX ROUILLAC FRANCE
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We only had a two-night break in Rome and the hotel was well situated, only 3 stops on the metro from the Colisseum (the metro is easy to use). Not in the centre so stay in town if you are looking for a restaurant in the evening. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Comfortable room, large, clean, comfortable bed. Only one hitch - the room fronted the main road so there was traffic noise until quite late and then again from around 6.30-7.00 in the morning.Bathroom a bit small and maybe needed some "freshening-up". Overall a good hotel and we would go back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room at the back and not fronting the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A short walk from the metro station in a busy but pleasant suburb, the Hotel Derby is an ideal base for seeing the sights of Rome, especially on a budget. We got a Groupon deal which included breakfast and was great value for money.

At first, we were given a tiny room on the corner of the 1st floor (109) but when we asked to change this the receptionist obliged and we got a good-sized room (108) which looked out onto a road but was fairly quiet.

The rooms are clean and airy and have satellite TV, a fridge and air con but no tea/coffee facilities - luckily we were prepared though! The bathroom was OK with a good shower.

The continental breakfast was very nice with a good selection of cereals, yogurts, fruit, etc. We were also served glazed croissants which were delicious! For dinner, there are a few nice restaurants in the area and the city centre is very easily accessible.

As with many places in Rome, the staff were friendly, helpful, and spoke very good English. Overall, we were pleased with our stay, especially for the price - and we even got lucky with the weather!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClioChick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in Hotel Derby, the room was small, but very clean, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, a large selection. Giorgio on reception was so friendly and helpful. He recommended great restaurants, and helped us book some of our day trips, I would definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

For Rome it was pretty cheap and it included breakfast which was good. It was in a good area because it was about a 5 min walk from the nearest subway station (Garbatella) and a 5 min subway ride to the Coliseum subway station. The Rome subway system is very easy to use. The room is a good size for two people and it has a fridge and safe. If I am ever in Rome again I would stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eepwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have chosen this hotel on the base of reviews and we have to say, that it matched on most of all points. Hotel is located outside the centre in lets say "calm area". Rooms are smaller but for two persons its enough. Rooms are clean, and good equipped with TV, small refrigerator and AC. Our room had a balcony with a view to old houses. Hotel is near the local road but in the night traffic is not so huge and sleeping is comfortable with closed windows. Staff would like to be assisted, we have met only one time with receptionist who was not able to say the word in English, but it was late when we´ve arrived so we are suppose that he was only in night service. Breakfast was in common style - no problem, we did not have the dinner there so we cannot do review. We would recomment this 3* hotel , its not in the centre, but its approx 15min walking to metro (station Garbatella).

Room Tip: try to request a room with balcony, maybe is little bit smaller but better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karel_Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Positives: Very helpful Staff, rooms cleaned to a high standard, good quality TV with many channels in English, Clean bathroom, generally a very nice hotel. For Rome it was also quite cheap but that's because it is located 5 metro stops from the main sights so as long as you don't mind that then I would recommend this hotel without any real issues.

Negatives: Air con was a bit dodgy and traffic outside was quite loud- In the winter I don't think either of these would matter as the rooms are double glazed but we just didn't close them to get some breeze. Breakfast is basic but did us.

In short good value hotel a little out but Metro stop is only 5-10 min walk so that wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italy_loverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#132 of 1,261 in Rome
928 reviews
Ostiense
Cleopatra Affittacamere
Cleopatra Affittacamere
#694 of 1,261 in Rome
75 reviews
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#202 of 1,261 in Rome
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#416 of 1,261 in Rome
627 reviews
Ostiense
Abitart Hotel
Abitart Hotel
#298 of 1,261 in Rome
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Via di Vigna Pozzi 7 | (Largo delle 7 chiese), 00145 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#317 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing