We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garbatella gem with just a couple of niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #578 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Garbatella gem with just a couple of niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We sought out the Derby for a five-night stay in Rome because it ticked our boxes - not too big, not in an area dominated by tourists, great value for money, and good TripAdvisor reviews.
Can corroborate all the comments about helpful staff, they are a lovely bunch who are always happy to help or advise. Room was fine if a little faded, and came with a big balcony and reliable air con. which was handy in the August heat.
Only issue were some lacklustre areas in the breakfast buffet - if the only bread on offer is toaster-friendly sliced stuff, then why no toaster? Other Italian hotels of this size have usually served fresh rolls as part of the breakfast offer, which would have been preferable.
Coffee was never more than lukewarm, but Italian taste does not tend towards the piping hot.
Nice touch was the tea and biscuits tray in the lobby, tea and coffee in rooms is still very rare on the continent but this was a handy halfway house.
If you're tempted, a couple of tips - flying in from Fiumicino, take the train to Otiense and catch a 715 bus which stops outside the door, going the other way the same route takes you to the heart of the city (Teatro Marcello)
Plenty of serviceable family eateries in the area plus a couple of places with higher ambition - was disappointed not to be able to sample http://www.ristorodegliangeli.it/ after good ratings on TA, but it was holiday time so we were out of luck. www.acinobrillo.it was a happy find, though, and both are only about five minutes walk away.
Whole neighbourhood is great for evening strolls and little discoveries.
Nearest metro at Garbatella is 10 minutes, buses more flexible once you get your head around where you might end up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    126
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
43
106
33
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I had booked this hotel because it was exactly halfway between the Garbatella metro station and the university structure where I had to be the following morning, and it certainly qualifies for location, location, location since it's right in the heart of the Garbatella area.

The extremely cordial, helpful and multilingual staff who I heard move smoothly from Spanish into English and back into Italian offer some balance to the aging structure. My room was very small if clean; the thing I noticed most was the strong smell of cleaning products when I entered, probably used to cover the smell of cigarette smoke from some former, impolite guest who smoked in a non-smoking hotel.

It would take very little for this hotel to be de-classed to a two-star structure; if my room had been less clean, e.g., I wouldn't have stayed there, and perhaps the owners, if they read this, might consider installing better smoke alarms and changing the curtains, etc., in rooms where someone has smoked. They might also want to update some of the furnishings, which are old and unattractive.

The hotel offers a basic but acceptable breakfast, with all-you-can-drink coffee (always a plus), milk, cereal, bread and cold-cuts, as well as fruit and yogurt, and every guest is brought a croissant. The public area of the hotel is very clean as well; the owners are wise to keep the hotel CLEAN since it's their one winning card.

And when you leave, there's the excellent staff, wishing you a safe trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side street. I had seen that others had mentioned the noisy front rooms; my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Hotel is located near Garbatelle station, can get in the citycenter in 10mins.
The hotel is not new but the rooms are kept clean during the whole stay.
The receptionists are very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast is enough, the waiter is also very helpful and friendly.
They speak languages (FR, EN I experienced).
Altogether was a pleasant stay, can recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have recently stayed at the Hotel Derby and for the price i paid I cant complain, It is a basic 3 star hotel, it is clean and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very standard, there is a choice of cereal, yoghurt, iced croissants, bread, ham and cheese and apples. The hotel was only 10 mins walk from the metro station so it was very easily accessible to the centre of Rome, the Coliseum metro was only 2 or 3 stops away. The room I stayed in was fine, it had a balcony and air conditioning, it was an average size, the bathroom was really clean and the room was cleaned everyday, it also had a tv but no tea or coffee facilities The only negative about this hotel is the area it is in - Garbatella. As soon as we arrived and walked out of the metro station....it was very smelly and the area was absolutely covered in rubbish, there is not a lot around. There are a couple of pizza restaurants that are cheap to eat at but I wouldn't recommend, also no one speaks any sort of English in this area it is a very typical Italian suburb.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KickinKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VAUX ROUILLAC FRANCE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We only had a two-night break in Rome and the hotel was well situated, only 3 stops on the metro from the Colisseum (the metro is easy to use). Not in the centre so stay in town if you are looking for a restaurant in the evening. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Comfortable room, large, clean, comfortable bed. Only one hitch - the room fronted the main road so there was traffic noise until quite late and then again from around 6.30-7.00 in the morning.Bathroom a bit small and maybe needed some "freshening-up". Overall a good hotel and we would go back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room at the back and not fronting the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

A short walk from the metro station in a busy but pleasant suburb, the Hotel Derby is an ideal base for seeing the sights of Rome, especially on a budget. We got a Groupon deal which included breakfast and was great value for money.

At first, we were given a tiny room on the corner of the 1st floor (109) but when we asked to change this the receptionist obliged and we got a good-sized room (108) which looked out onto a road but was fairly quiet.

The rooms are clean and airy and have satellite TV, a fridge and air con but no tea/coffee facilities - luckily we were prepared though! The bathroom was OK with a good shower.

The continental breakfast was very nice with a good selection of cereals, yogurts, fruit, etc. We were also served glazed croissants which were delicious! For dinner, there are a few nice restaurants in the area and the city centre is very easily accessible.

As with many places in Rome, the staff were friendly, helpful, and spoke very good English. Overall, we were pleased with our stay, especially for the price - and we even got lucky with the weather!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClioChick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in Hotel Derby, the room was small, but very clean, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, a large selection. Giorgio on reception was so friendly and helpful. He recommended great restaurants, and helped us book some of our day trips, I would definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#125 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#406 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#157 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#874 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#631 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Via di Vigna Pozzi 7 | (Largo delle 7 chiese), 00145 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#317 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing