We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, lovely staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Giardino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Giardino
Ranked #885 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good location, lovely staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The staff at the Giardino really make this hotel great, Tiger is the best host and really helped us with everything we needed, he gave us good reccomendations for places to eat / things to see / do... he even found us a plug converter to borrow so we could charge our camera! We were really grateful!

I liked the breakfast area, quite cute and it was nice to speak to other travellers over breakfast, it has a nice relaxed atmosphere.

I also liked the fact that our room had a balcony, it had a little lemon tree on it which was lovely, I liked having somewhere in my room to watch the busy, roman world go by!

The rooms were clean if a little drab, I mean, the decor was nice but there were a few scuff marks on the wall and the grouting around the bottom of the shower was a bit mildewy - however it was clean, and the daily cleaning service was good. Bed was also comfortable with nice clean sheets.

To be fair, this hotel is pretty good value for a really good location, close to all parts of Rome, we walked to pretty mutch everything apart from the Vatican... Although a little tip - bring comfy shoes as walking everywhere is pretty knackering!!!

I would definately reccomend this hotel, I think if you are going to do Rome properly, number 1 in your choice of hotel is the location. How long are you going to be spending in your room anyway?! You also have to be realistic with what you expect for what price, and I would always go for friendly staff and cleanliness and over look things like scuff marks on a wall!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleFraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    99
    30
    12
    0
See reviews for
30
111
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Hotel is set on the first floor of an old building. It is small and cozy and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The room itself was very small with basic, worn out furniture. The bathroom, extremely small but clean an functional. The thing I couldn't get over was the noise coming from the street and from the other rooms.

Basic but ok breakfast in a very small room.

The biggest plus of this Hotel is its location, very close to Piazza Venezia, via del Corso, via Cavour, via Nazionale.

For the price I paid, it was not what I expected, if cheaper I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady_A_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Giardino is only a 2-star hotel, so the rooms and comfort could be better. But the hotel is very well situated in Rome - everything is within walking distance.
The best to say about Giardino is the level of service! The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Another time i may choose to stay a little bit more central and a bit more luxuorius, but Giardino gives full credit for the money!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I would have given this hotel a terrible if it weren't for the fact that the staff were so nice and helpful or the location so central. Otherwise, I cannot imagine what all the raves are about. In addition, I used Rick Steves guide which gave the hotel a very positive review, so I am not sure I'll ever put my trust in that source again.
My room was so small, dark and dingy that it was depressing to retreat to it after a full day. There was no place to put the luggage and the lighting was terrible-I could not read at all in the room. Fresh paint was needed all around. The bathroom had one light out-tough to do makeup. I asked for a new bulb, but it sparked and sizzled and I ended up removing it. The shower was so tiny, only an average size person would fit. The key to the room was problematic and had to be jiggled incessantly to work. The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about.
The staff really were lovely and recommended a wonderful place to dine-Santa Cristina restaurant tucked away across the street.That almost made it worthwhile, but I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grass valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Yes, you can reach virtually all the places you must see (on foot) from this hotel. I played musical rooms with another guest as we kept trying to find a room we liked. If the furniture wasn't falling on me the bathroom shower flooded. Settled for a room the other guest refused with a bathroom that smelled like a sewer. Annoying keys could take up to 5 minutes to get in or out of the room. Small, dingy, tattered rooms and furnishings.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed here in July and the location really is amazing- a 5 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and the Forum. As a single female traveller I also felt very safe in the area (after being warned off the slightly cheaper hotels around Termini). My single room was pretty small (but clean), the breakfast was decent and the staff were fantastic- incredibly helpful and attentive at all times.

Overall it's not luxurious, but paying a bit more for the location is worth it rather than staying in a comparable hotel further from the centre of Rome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EusebiaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly!
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

The staff at this hotel is amazing, literally could not have been better. Tiger, at the front desk, almost seemed like he was part of our group! Nice location, in walking distance to many sites. The hotel itself is very cute. Rooms are tiny but bright and clean - we wound up with a balcony so maybe we are a little bit biased but we thought they were great. Air condition works great. Nice continental breakfast. Although there is no elevator, the staff actually helped us carry our bags to and from the second floor. Only downside is the bathroom toilet, the water pressure was so bad the entire time we honestly thought we broke it until we heard other guests commenting on the same thing. Not a deal breaker but definitely worth a heads up!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycousinbrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#518 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Monti
Quirinale Luxury Rooms
Quirinale Luxury Rooms
#175 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Trevi
Pace Helvezia Hotel
Pace Helvezia Hotel
#415 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fiori
Hotel Fiori
#682 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Trevi
Hiberia Hotel
Hiberia Hotel
#221 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#541 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino

Property: Hotel Giardino
Address: Via Ventiquattro Maggio 51, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #885 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing