We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we got ripped off a little”
Review of Fenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fenicia
Ranked #676 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We were given a room where the window opened to the alley, and there must have been a restaurant next door. The pots and pans were so noisy that we put the bedspread over the window to cut down the noise. In doing this, we made a very small hole in the bedspread, about as big as a nail hole. The hotel owners said a new bedspread would cost 160 euros. We offered to pay half of that, which would have been much more than the cost of repair to the blanket. They refused, and said we must pay the full cost of replacement. I'm guessing they did not repair it or replace it, since the damage was so slight no other guest would even notice it. Nevertheless, they demanded the full 160 euros. I will not go there again.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank drakie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

I was supposed to stay here for 4 nights in October buy my trip got moved to November instead. I thought I had canceled this hotel with Priceline, however on the first day of my supposed stay got an email from Hotel Fenicia that they charged by card due to "no show". I called the hotel directly and explained what had happened and that there must have been intercommunication. I was fine with paying part of the fee but since it was only the first day of my "stay" and they had 3 more nights to rent out my room, I agreed to stay with them in November if they were to carry over 1 or 2 nights of my booking to that stay. The owner told me "rules and rules" and there was nothing they could do. As a result, they lost me as a customer and charged my credit card for 4 nights even though they likely rented that room out after the first night. This is borderline robbery on their side and I am extremely disappointed with how this situation was handled.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Natalie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

When we got to rome, we stayed at what we thought would be a nice hotel off hotels.com. It was terrible. So my boyfriend and his friend set out to find a good place for us to stay and visited around nine hotels on foot. They returned and told us they booked two rooms at Hotel Fenicia.

The hotel was awesome. It's a tiny group of rooms run by an older Italian couple. The rooms were tidy and small, but the twin beds pushed together were comfortable. The pillows were big and poofy. The desk was tiny and claustrophobic so we didn't use it. Shower was smaller than any i'd even seen on a cruise ship. You could tell that some of the blankets were worn and been repaired by hand. It's the care that the couple puts into the hotel that really makes it awesome.

The internet at the hotel is wifi and free, but it's very slow and only allows a couple people to be connected at the same time. It's about a block from the train station and super convenient, and lots of little food places around there are open late. The tavern resteraunt about two doors down is staffed by some very friendly chefs.

I'd heard that Rome (particularly near the train station) was sketchy, but this place felt very secure, and I wasn't worried about leaving camera gear in the room.

I've already recommended this place to other friends who want to visit Rome.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pingucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

When I was searching a hotel for Rome on the web, I wasn't happy with the price that was offered. A friend recommended for us to try our luck to search for a hotel nearby Termini station once we were there. It doesn't sound like a brilliant plan, given we arrive on a bank holiday, nevertheless, we decided to be adventurous.
When we arrive Rome, we were looking aimlessly aroung Termini station, there were tonnes of hotel around the area, suddenly a man approached us and ask if we are interested. We were a little hesitant, as his hotel is quite close to the station (the idea is, the closer it is, the more expensive it would be), but we went up to have a look. The lift was incredibly small, can only fit 2 person at most.
The rooms are good, looked newly refurbished and very clean, it comes with air-conditioning, TV, and mini-fridge. And the price the owner offers were 90euros per night without breakfast. I think it's lower than the published rates.
They offered us a room facing the main street, which we thought might be noisy, and they agree to change on the 2nd day as they have no vacant rooms on the 1st day. But it wasn't that noisy so we sticked to the same room for 3 nights.
The owner preferred cash settlement at check out, but nevertheless accepted card when we explained that we do not have sufficient cash.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YunQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

if i could give this hotel a lower rating, i would.... we arrived around 10pm in the evening and were confronted with a man telling us that becuase we had arrived so late in the evening that they thought we were not going to show up, so they sold our room on.

He then had the audacity to say that he had tried to process our credit card details as a cancellation. Thankfully for us, our partciular Visa card has enough security to prevent people using the number without the card.

He then said that he had a room in a partner hotel across the city, but we would have to pay for it at his hotel. This is where things got really dodgy, i informed him that we would only pay at the hotel we were staying at and asked that he call them so i could ensure that they had a vacancy. He was very reluctant, but when he did call them, he insisted on speaking to them. Lucky for us we both speak resonable Italian and were able to ascertain that the room did not exist. At this point we simply up and left, and were able to find a really nice hotel around 500 metres away.

I cannot comment on the comfort of the hotel as i didnt not get to see a room, but would seriously advise people to be careful if booking at this hotel as the owners are obviously dodgy.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
5  Thank LeBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, OH
34153
Reviewed 21 February 2005

I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2001. Upon arrival, I was told that my reserved single room was unavailable because the current occupant was staying longer. I was offered a new double room at 45% more. The room was on the floor above and was unbelievably nice - a large double that had just been finished with comfortable new bed, beautiful new furniture, (faux) hardwood floors and a large, gorgeous (faux) marble bathroom. It was a great room for 130,000 lire ($60) a night. At checkout time, I was told I would have to pay cash, as the hotel "could not accept credit cards for the new rooms." I pointed to the sign saying that Mastercard and Visa were accepted, and the owner magically changed her mind. The room was a "5" - absolutely wonderful and well worth the extra money; the old singles were not that nice (I peeked into one). But the owners earned a "1" - be careful, and have a backup plan.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#880 of 1,270 in Rome
124 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Galli
Hotel Galli
#617 of 1,270 in Rome
185 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel dell'Urbe
Hotel dell'Urbe
#643 of 1,270 in Rome
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Marco Polo
Marco Polo
#366 of 1,270 in Rome
892 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#670 of 1,270 in Rome
802 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#271 of 1,270 in Rome
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenicia

Address: Via Milazzo 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #676 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £34 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenicia 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Fenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenicia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing