We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“* Warning - No Elevator”
Review of Hotel Halifax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Halifax
Ranked #1,072 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Room was up 4 floors from street. No elevator.

Good low budget travel hotel near Central Station. Room was decent size and had good bathroom. Service low. Gave me 1 towel. Bathroom had no shower mat/rug. Shower head was loose and water went all over floor, but managed to screw back shower head.

For 45 euros per night 2 days, good value but not for folks with lots of luggage/strollers, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce35dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

The Hotel Halifax and Mirage is actually 2 Hotel with one reception. It is located by the Termini station, in the heart of Rome, excellent transportation to all sights. I stayed at the hotel with my husband and another couple in a 4 bed room. It was more than we expected. The room was clean, it was also cleaned every day, new towels were provided every day, and breakfast was included.( croissant, toast, butter, jam, ham and chees, and a cup of tee or coffe, or chocolate) The price was also very good 21.5 Euro/person/night,(www.bookhotelsinrome.com) therefore I would never expect what I get. It was cheaper than a hostel what we were searching. ( For same price we could get a 6-8 person room in a hostel with shared bathroom. ) So what I can only say, I would recomment that hotel to everyone, and in my next trip to Rome, definitely I will stay here again. I almost forget, there was also airconditioning in the room, which worked:) It was about 30-32 degrees, so we needed it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripaholicBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

I stayed in hotel Halifax for 4 nights with about 20 girls from my university. The reception desk is in one room, then you have to walk back outside and into another door to get to the actual hotel. The hotel is advertised as Hotel Mirage and Halifax. It is actually two seperate hotels. Once you get in the doorway, you see old marble stairs. There is no elevater. The first floor was another random hotel ( hotel luciano), the second floor was apartments, and finally the third floor was hotel halifax. It was horrible dragging the luggage up the never ending stairs. No one offered to help. When we got up there, only one room was ready. We had to put all of our luggage and all 20 of our bodies into this small room crammed with 5 cots until the other rooms were ready. The rooms were very small and had old broken cots with sheets for blankets. The room was pretty clean though. The bathroom was small. We had five rooms and each was different. The bathroom was relatively clean. Some mold due to the lack of ventilation. We had some issues with water pressure and temperature on some days. To go to breakfast, you have to go outside and into hotel mirage. The food was okay. Just fruit and bread basically. The location is good; right around the corner from Termini. We went out one night and came back late to find that the door leading to the old marble stairs was closed and locked. We went to the reception desk down the street and the man explained that he didnt have a key. We had to enter hotel mirage and he opened a random old wooden door and led us through several hallways which led to the 4th floor of the building. We then had to walk down one flight until we finally reached our hotel. Overall, it's an okay place to stay for a few nights. We just had a lot of problems. Also, the woman who cleans the rooms and serves breakfast is rude and doesn't speak one word of english. Also, you only get towels every two days and you can't control your own heat/AC. I'd recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jmc9004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

This is OK as a cheap non-backpacker place to sleep at. Location good for walking to all the main attractions. Our room was quite dark, but of a reasonable size, and most importantly it had a modern air-con unit. Bathroom (shower + toilet) also modern, not large but clean. It is in a back lane just across a street from Termini Station but was not noisy. People unused to the squalid types who hang around most European train stations (USA? think Greyhound stations) might get nervous about the neighbourhood though. What threw us at first was that reception (signed Hotel Mirage) was at one door in the street, lift (only to take baggage up&down) at another door, stairs (need to walk up 3 flights) at yet another. Breakfast was perfunctory, after a couple of days the only spread still available for the crostati was Nutella. Reception staff spoke good English, breakfast staff none. We paid by credit card without problem, although like many Rome hotels they made it clear they would have preferred cash.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Vincenzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank Daniele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Mirage
Hotel Mirage
#1,041 of 1,272 in Rome
223 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,018 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,242 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Halifax

Address: Via Milazzo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,072 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £35 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halifax Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing