We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stinky, cold shower, pillowcase towel and concrete bed”
Review of Hotel Luciani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luciani
Ranked #749 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stinky, cold shower, pillowcase towel and concrete bed”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend for 2 nights (my boyfriend, my brother and I) and when we entered the room were overcome by the most pungent odor of rank and cigarettes (like someone had smoked in the room for 20 years and then died there). The bed was like sleeping on concrete and when I went to have a shower it was ice cold. This would have been mildly ok if I had a towel instead of a pillowcase to dry myself when I got out. On the last day my boyfriend and I went out and left my brother asleep. He was woken up by someone entering the room (not a cleaner) who apologized and hurriedly exited.

Really, this hotel was so bad it is funny (and a good story to tell) however for anyone reading this and considering staying, don't do it! We are very accommodating people and normally put up with most conditions with a smile, but do NOT waste your money on this - trust me!!

One plus- it is very near the Tremini station ( so handy for metro). Not worth the stinky room, concrete bed and cold shower with bed sheet towels though...

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    138
    123
    52
    54
See reviews for
106
105
69
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I understand where some of the negative reviews are coming from. It's cheaply furnished. It's an old building. They don't have air conditioning so I'm grateful I stayed during the winter. My tv didn't work, and I had about the same room as on my side of the college dorm I stayed in freshman year. I also had to go downstairs to the second floor to use the wifi.

On the other hand, it's cheaper than other hotels, and it is right across from the Termini Station. You're in walking distance from the biggest hub of transportation within the city, Santa Maria Maggiore (my favorite of the major basilicas), the Baths of Diocletian, and other places. I looked into getting a hostel, but many of them seemed almost the same price as the hotel, or I feared they had restrictions on times when you couldn't come in. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, I think it's a good fit and reasonably priced for budget travelers, but it's certainly not for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muckwa_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laukaa, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Spent one night last week there. Very basic room, need updating. Air con available for euros/ night. Did not expect much for this price. It was suitable for us near air port transportation and Termini

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Only thing good about this hotel is the location.Very dirty bathroom/room.Its a pity we booked this hotel and ruined our vacation.shower curtain extremely old and dirty.The shower was actually only a pipe.Tiles had cracks.Breakfast only croisant and coffee.No AC.just a table fan which made too much noise.Our double room had 4 beds.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldrina_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

the hotel's location is great from a travellers point of view being so close to the train station but apart from that plus the hotel rooms are pretty shabby. The matresses were so thin you could feel the springs through the bedding . The bathroom had cracked tiles ,mouldy joins and only luke warm water to shower in . The staff were quite helpful and the breakfast was reasonable so i would probably chance it again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

If all you are after is breakfast and somewhere to sleep, then this is fine. If you are given the keys to room 9 or 10, give them straight back. Not only are both rooms literally at the bottom of a busy stairwell, they are very close to the reception and dining areas and so cop a lot of noise at all times of the night and early morning. Room 9 didn't have a shower door/curtain and neither did it have a bathroom door, which made for a very cold shower.
Great proximity to Termini where you can access the Rome underground. However, some unlikeable characters lurk in this area. Some cheap and decent eateries in the immediate area also.
The staff are friendly and helpful. All the rooms are clean. Breakfast is substantial.
Wi-Fi can only be used by four people at once and can only be used in the reception area.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms 9 or 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I think that if you go to Romeand you will be using a hotel just for the sleep and breakfast or something like that you should pay extra just because you want to stay in a 5 starhotel you can just go to Hotel Luciani because it is really cheap and it is what you need because you are not going to be staying in your hotel the whole day and i think it is one of the best hotels to stay in if your will be here for a few days and it is also cheap.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Mirage
Hotel Mirage
#1,021 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#442 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Galli
Hotel Galli
#578 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#730 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,116 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luciani

Property: Hotel Luciani
Address: Via Milazzo 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #749 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Luciani 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, located in the center of Rome, the 50 rooms of the 2 -star Hotel Luciani are offered in different types in order to meet any need of the clientele. With air conditioning and satellite TV, ensure maximum relaxation. Each room has a bathroom with shower and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luciani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luciani Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing