We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Conte House I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conte House I
Ranked #737 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great time staying here. They picked us up from the airport an straight to the hotel. Very small and very friendly and helpful. Nice room and breakfast was also good. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the colosseum and 30-40 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain. Lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    69
    19
    11
    17
See reviews for
35
63
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

It's hard to say anything bad about this place because it's a cheap option and the people are nice. But I came expecting more of a hotel experience and this place definitely has a hostel feel.

It's only one floor with ~6 rooms. The walls are paper thin so it's uncomfortable. If we came back late in the night I felt like we were sneaking in.

They also do not change sheets/towels during cleaning. The wifi did not work in our room either.

On the other hand the neighborhood is quite nice and close to some good restaurants. It's a short walk to the colosseum which was quite nice.

If I came back to Rome I'd pay a little extra for a nicer hotel but if you just want a cheap clean b&b this is fine!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Besseberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at conte house for 4 nights just got back, its in a great location with very friendly staff, the place is very clean and nice and quiet, we will definitely use Conte house everytime we visit Rome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank zoeuk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel has a great location. It is within blocks of the coliseum. Also close to there subway.
We booked into the Conte house but our plane was late by about 5:30 hours. So when we got there they put us in there other location, My House. It is just down the road.
It turned out to be just fine.
We had a nice room with a private bath and a balcony right on the street. The balcony was a nice place to sit and drink a glass of wine (or a bottle, hey it's Rome)
There was a kitchen that the guest could use. They had breakfast for us every morning in the kitchen. Breakfast was ham, cheese croissants, toast, coffee and juice. I never left hungry always plenty.
They also has a cooler filled with bottle water, soft drinks and beer and wine. All at good prices. They used the honor system, you just put the money in a box on top of cooler.
If I go back to Rome I will stay at the Conte House.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a private bath. I would stay at My House. It is nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the property my house for two nights and it was lovely.the room was very clean and spacious.emmanuele the young guy who owns it is a sweetheart.he was quick to let us know we could call him if we needed anything. He also let us store our bags there when we went to the papal audience at no extra cost even though we had checked out. The hotel is v close to metro and just a short walk from the colosseum. We would stay here again and highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaela18ful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our four nights in Conte House were very nice. The staff was young and very friendly, the breakfast good and more than enough. And when we were about to leave to Naples, the boy of the Staff (I forgot his name, sorry) helped us calling to different places in Naples and speaking with the other hotels just to book our two first nights in the capital of Campania.
Conte House is a great place and not too expensive if you want to visit the eternal city.
Maybe one thing we didn't like was a smoke smell that came into the room because of the air extractor (I think it was connected with some balcony outside and there people smoked). However, it was very nice staying.
Grazie mile per tutto!
Three guys of the Basque Country (celebrating our 40th birthday). Igor, Jon and Zigor

Room Tip: Choose a room with bathroom inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zigore2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We were reserved in Conte House but they put us up in their new residence called My House which was just down the road. Our stay comfortable and even though the desk was unmmaned most of the time, we had no issues. WiFi was available in rooms and was great. Nice local location, would highly recommend having dinner at I Buoni Amici which is just around the corner. The gelato place near the intersection is great too. Just ten minutes walk from the Colloseaum which was very handy! Near metro stations and bus stops too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmiidoll_kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
I Dormienti
I Dormienti
#804 of 1,261 in Rome
107 reviews
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#651 of 1,261 in Rome
426 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#325 of 1,261 in Rome
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#471 of 1,261 in Rome
296 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#375 of 1,261 in Rome
547 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Rome Love
Hotel Rome Love
#810 of 1,261 in Rome
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conte House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conte House I

Property: Conte House I
Address: Via Merulana 191, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #737 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conte House is the ideal choice for you to get the most out of your trip to Rome. We aim to welcome you, assist you and keep you safe so you can enjoy all the marvels of this historic city. Our hostel features: Free Wi-Fi,breakfast included, privates bathroom, guest kitchen and free luggage storage.The Conte House is within walking distance of all of Romans most famous landmarks: Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Campidoglio, Santa Maria Maggiore...are just in a five/ten minutes walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Conte House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conte House i Hotel Rome
Conte Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing