We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating”
Review of Conte House I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conte House I
Ranked #739 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I spoke with Conte House one day before the arrival to Rome. We were informed, that everything is ok. We were surprised, that there is not free rooms in reserved hotel, so we got new room in Hotel Rudy and Rudy. Romm has no air conditioning, what is really bad in August temperatures in Rome. Last evening 50 EUR from room safe was dismissed. I recommend to everybody, to do not take substitute accomodation in hotel Rudy and Rudy and request accomodation in Conte House.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank sukmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights (before joining a tour and staying in a bigger hotel) and found the Conte House well positioned, being able to walk to most of the attractions in Rome. We walked, with luggage, from Termini with no trouble. The building itself gave little clue of being an 'hotel' - so make sure you know exactly where to find it. The wire lift cage was a little daunting - we used the stairs apart from when transporting luggage in and out.
Mostly, we found Lorenzo on duty - he spoke good english and was always very friendly and helpful. Cost -wise, The Conte House is very reasonable in comparison to other Rome accommodation options - and suited us well.
I would probably give 5 stars, for a combination of value, comfort and convenience...except that I had booked a 'twin' room - being 2 middle aged ladies travelling together. The room we were given had a lovely large Queen bed and a little fold away bed squeezed in at the side. Not what I would expect, when a 'twin' option is clearly advertised. We coped...but then I wasn't the one sleeping on the fold-up! The bathroom was modern and well appointed. The breakfast room was tiny - large people would seriously struggle to sit at the chairs. The breakfast provided was adequate, without being notable. This was a great start to our 'Roman Holiday'!

Room Tip: Ask more questions if requiring a genuine Twin Room option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Yambagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hostel was great. When we entered the building through one of those great big doors you see on the streets we felt quite overwhelmed. Beautiful building, with a homely hostel. The staff is great, the atmosphere is very relaxed (which is nice in the hectic city of Rome) and the people we met we're very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mpspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staff was really friendly and the location was excellent. Walking distance to the Collosseum. Highly recommended. Breakfast was basic but good. Internet was good as well. You get what you pay for sure and even more specially with the great location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlatkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I travelled here last weej with my 12 year old daughter. The place is quite easy to find and wonderfully located. I loved the small hotel feel, and my daughter felt she could really relax, not at all like the usual hotel feel. The place is very clean and the bathrooms are really good, given the space constraints. We loved the lift and the old world feel, too. Nearby are some really good restaurants and we would particularly recommend Panella which serves fabulous food and a wide range of nonalcoholic and alcoholic coctails for a very good price. Well done, Conte HOuse, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iamchezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

You want the Ritz Carlton with the liveried doorman, go right ahead.
You want a good room in a great location, 3 blocks to subway, 20 min. walk to Colosseum, with a decent breakfast, chance to make yourself a green tea in their kitchen late at night, elevator [feels like Inspector Clouseau or maybe Ms Marple will get off when it gets to your floor] but a lot of Italian B&B/small hotels have nothing to help you up three flights to your room.
Gabriel and his family do everything for you. Just ask.
I loved the honour system for juice, water, beers, wine in the main hall. Don't see that every day and it says a lot about the fine people who run Conte House and their guests.
Re noise. Our room was courtyard side so very quiet. It is a multi storey building. It is Rome. So there is noise sometimes. If you need a full 8 hours beauty sleep every night with just the wind in the treetops outside your definitely in the wrong city and probably the wrong country.
For value, location and attentive staff I'd book the Conte House again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This place has one of the most amazing staff I have ever met! Friendly and lovely! :) they actually care about their customers! They are in a great location. Their hostel room is a tad crowded but everything was always clean and they would make your bed every morning and give you fresh towels ! :) would totally come back!

Thank tripteste
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#658 of 1,269 in Rome
428 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#396 of 1,269 in Rome
554 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#640 of 1,269 in Rome
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#478 of 1,269 in Rome
298 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#334 of 1,269 in Rome
423 reviews
Monti
I Dormienti
I Dormienti
#776 of 1,269 in Rome
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conte House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conte House I

Address: Via Merulana 191, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #739 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conte House is the ideal choice for you to get the most out of your trip to Rome. We aim to welcome you, assist you and keep you safe so you can enjoy all the marvels of this historic city. Our hostel features: Free Wi-Fi,breakfast included, privates bathroom, guest kitchen and free luggage storage.The Conte House is within walking distance of all of Romans most famous landmarks: Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Campidoglio, Santa Maria Maggiore...are just in a five/ten minutes walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conte House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conte House i Hotel Rome
Conte Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing