We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nothing more”
Review of Hotel Archimede

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Archimede
Ranked #924 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location and nothing more”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Rooms are small, bathrooms even smaller, the breakfast is bad, awful coffee.
Narrow and claustrophobic hallways, small elevators.

It is positive that the rooms are air-conditioned, which is great because in Rome is very hot in the summer. And the location is very good, a few subway stops from the center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    120
    173
    84
    56
See reviews for
71
182
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

In a station hotel you don't expect friendly, personal service. But you don't expect to be treated like an interuption either. Here's what happened. I wanted to print my boarding card. Not possible - no computer for guest use. 'Send us by e mail your boarding card and we will print it at reception'. Sat with the 15 other guests in a crowded reception (there is only wi fi in the reception area), but couldn't forward the boarding card, only print it through the airline website. Finally - whilst the receptionist was out - the luggage boy managed to pull up my booking on the reception internet. Then back returns receptionist. 'No not allowed.' I have clearly broken the rules. She refuses to print my booking for me even though it is sitting there on the screen. 'No, no, no'. I am directed like a schoolboy to an internet cafe outside. When I stated that it is not acceptable in a four star hotel to have no computer/printer, the reply I got was 'you should have noticed our conditions when you made the booking'. Officious, arrogant, snotty - I was livid. The staff clearly have no understanding of customer service and see their guests as anoying irritations to their day. It amazes me that someone can work in a service job and get away with such behaviour. Breakfast 2 star, and surprise, surprise not one greeting from any member of staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed for a short visit. Wanted: to be close to Termini for train to/ from airport; to not spend too much; to be in a clean hotel. All these boxes ticked. Certainly 3* ish.
Would stay again.
One disappointment - although not expecting much for breakfast, we found it pretty poor. Coffee machine grim (brown lumpy stuff), fruit juice unrecognisable and the driest croissants. Others on here have said they went out for breakfast. Well, I don't think you should have to no matter how cheap the prices in a 3*/ 4* hotel. It must be costing them pennies to provide this.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed in thins hotel for only a few nights and overall everything was good. The rooms are big and well cleaned the only problem I had was the fat that there was no shower curtain but over all very impressed for the price we paid

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or just one that is facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-St
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Has a 3 day break in Rome and found the city beautiful but spoilt by graffitti everywhere even on the white vans.We stayed at the Archimede hotel which was nice and clean and did the job.The rooms were nice and the shower isnt a problem just swivel the head on the shower and dont shower for ages.The braskfast was a bit chaotic as you had to try and find atable and if a bus load were staying then it was difficult as they all came down together.Maps are availab,e on the reception desk and the women were most helpful, the men not so(english visitors?) The termini is round the corner from this hotel which was very handy as we caught the termini express from the main airport (fiminchino).We walked to all the visitor sites at colusseum,spanish steps,trevi fountain,vatican and pantheon but be warned the footpaths are dreadful and we were pestered non stop by sellers trying to sell us umbrellas as it was raining for two days.We did a guided tour of the vatican which was brilliant for 3 hrs(long enough) through viador.Beware at the spanish steps of pick pockets you can spot them and watch out at the colusseum as the people dressed as romans or gladiators charge quite a bit for photos beside them (they are self employed) and work in groups Charging everyone in the photo!.The pantheon is fabulous dont miss it do go inside and at the trevi fountain be careful of the people trying to take photos of you, they charge even if they use YOUR CAMERA. The best place to get a drink is in the tabacchis where you stand around a table, dont forget to pay first and then go to the bar for your drinks and a small tip is required.Keep out of the irish bars they charge a fortune for drinks and if you go into an italian bar and sit down to drink with a waiter/barman service you will be charged different prices for sitting down as standing up at the bar.There are plenty of restaurants around but try to keep off the touristy ones as the better tasting food is found in the side streets.A fabulous place to visit and i would go back but have a good pair of walking shoes with you as you cant see anything on the metro.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The hotel has excellent access to termini station and a good central location many reviews state it as terrible but it is brilliant for school/ field trips due to the cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of sleeping arrangements the beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are spacious considering I shared with two friends they added an extra bed for a unseen reason so there was four beds instead of the three required however this became useful for storing suitcases. The safety deposit box is brilliant for keeping your goods in however you will need to ask reception for instructions. the tv is easy to use. The staff are relatively friendly however speak little English. If there is not enough room in a bathroom then do not put a bidet in however I think the bathroom could do with a shower curtain as water made the bathroom a swimming pool. This hotel is definatly not 4* more like high level 2* Low level 3*.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

No it's not a 4*hotel, but a nice 3*star hotel. So if you don't have high expectations, you are good to go. Best thing about the hotel was the location, very close to Termini train station and metro.Hotels around Termini are mostly buildings turned into hotels, so rooms are generally small. Beds in the room were comfortable. There was no shower curtain in the bathroom, so every time we take a shower, bathroom was all wet, which did not make sense at all, because it's really easy to fix. Hair dryer was from another century, only had energy for itself. Breakfast was awful, please do your taste buds a favor and get your breakfast somewhere else with delicious croissants & of course cappuccino in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Luce
Hotel Luce
#1,031 of 1,258 in Rome
268 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#754 of 1,258 in Rome
258 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#982 of 1,258 in Rome
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#785 of 1,258 in Rome
162 reviews
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#775 of 1,258 in Rome
121 reviews
Hotel Turner
#696 of 1,258 in Rome
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Archimede

Property: Hotel Archimede
Address: Via Dei Mille 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#334 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Archimede 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant hotel situated in Rome city centre, Hotel Archimede is ideal for anyone visiting the city for artistic and cultural events, attending academic conferences or wishing to discover the delights of the city in a group or on their own. The Hotel has been designed and furnished in a classic Italian style, providing Guests with high levels of comfort and refinement, reflected in the bedrooms and all communal spaces. The hall and large lounge area are lit up by majestic crystal chandeliers, highlighting the hotel's attention to detail. In the lounge area guests can relax on comfortable sofas and make use of the automatic drink and snack dispensers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Archimede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archimede Rome
Hotel Archimede Rome
Archimede Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing