We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, mouldy and over priced”
Review of Hotel Augustea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Augustea
Ranked #590 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Rome is absolutely spectacular, the hotel is situated in a great place as all of the attractions are no more than 30 mins walk away. We enjoyed our stay in Rome but were dissapointed with almost everything with Augustea. You don't get what you pay for - you get less. The rooms are pokey and breakfast is a cop out.

We weren't made aware that the hotel liked you to hand in your keys when you left and went out for the day until our 2nd day here. We handed in our key regretfully. Our personal items that were left in our bathroom including bags of dirty washing, toiletries and reciepts on surfaces had been thrown away, causing us inconvenience and added costs.

When this was addressed to them they did not do anything to help or even apologize just shrugged their shoulders.

We purchased expensive souvineers from the Vatican City which had 'gone missing'

You don't want to have to incur more costs because of their poor hospitality and poor cleaning staff.

I would go back to Rome but use another hotel, extremely dissapointed - they could have easily made our stay more enjoyable but chose not to.

Poor customer service
Mini bar very, very expensive
mould on the ceiling, shower doors dont close properly, had to clean the toilet and wash basin ourselves before using it as it was dirty.

I wouldn't trust leaving our passports in the room as anything can easily be taken and with the language being a barrier you will not get your possesions back, you will be worse off financially and your trip won't be stress free.

left a bitter taste in our mouths

The trevi fountain, vatican, Colusseum, Forum and Emanuelle Memorial were amazing.
Advise you go to Target restaurant which is round the corner, the food was pricey but delicious. Eat loads of ice cream no matter the season it's lovely!

Have fun!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend recently and thought the hotel was great. Arrived late on in the evening and the room was ready and waiting for us. Really quick check in, although the hotel didn't have any form on life inside getting to the room was easy enough with a small case. The road you are based on was great. There are shops, restaurants and bars so plenty of choice if you dont fancy walking far. The hotel is a 10/15 minute walk away from the fountain. If you come out and turn right to the gallery and turn right again through the tunnel the fountain is down the cobbled street on your left. We did a sightseeing tour and the stops were in great location to the hotel as it stop and the station a 2 min walk away. Breakfast at the hotel was simple, tea, coffee, waters and juice were provided along with bread rolls, cornflakes and a few cake bars, but did the job. There is a mcdonalds just outside the hotel should you want something more filling. We were lucky enough to have an ensuite in the room which some didn't have. I had emailed the hotel before i travelled and requested this so might be worth doing? The hotel was dated i wont lie, but i had a great time. Its location was spot on for its price and how much time do you spend in your room really? Also the hotel will hold suitcases for you if you have a late departure.

Room Tip: Email before and ask for a quiet room with an ensuite. Room 68 is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kozzie_Lumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

A very basic hotel in the close versinity of Roma Termini (Main train station). The location is excellent for weekend trips to Rome as you are close to all kinds of transport systems and even can walk from the hotel to the main cultural attractions. Rooms look like from the 70's and could do with an upgrade, but you are not in Rome to stay in a hotel. Breakfast is a basic as it can get i Italy, but with a town full of restaurant on your doorstep...who cares. We paid 90 Euro per night and room which was a decend value compared to other hotel options in the area. I would take my wife for a romantic stay in Rome to this hotel, but I would always go back with friends to have a fun weekend. The receptionist was funny and always good for a joke.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Great location, right near Termini Station, and within walking distance of most major Roman sites. The staff were wonderful - very helpful and informative, and seemed genuinely interested in making your stay enjoyable. Rooms have more than many 4 star hotels - A/C, fridge, TV, Safe, reasonably sized bathroom. The cold buffet breakfast is great. Overall, a great place to stay and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Easy to find, few minutes on foot from Termini Station, near Piazza Reppublica. Walking distance of main attractions and easy to find buses and metro nearby. Reception was up some stairs and we noticed that there was an out of order sign on the lift. Lovely old building and friendly welcome when we arrived (too early to check in), from a man who promised to give us a nice room. On check in we were taken to the hotel Patria down a side street. Very disappointing, basic room although clean. Friendly staff, basic breakfast, but not what I had booked.

Room Tip: Can't comment as we were put into an entirely different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adeyave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My partner arranged a four day surprise visit to Rome for my 70th birthday. It was on a budget, booked through Citalia, who sent us to Hotel Augustea. Everything said by previous reviewers was correct - no lift until you have got the cases up a few stairs. This was OK as we only had small cases, but if you were disabled and had a large suitcase, it would have been a problem! Our bedroom was small on the back of the hote, but I had asked for a quiet room and got just that. Considering the hotel was on a very busy street, we could hear very little even with the window open, which we did not need because the air-con worked well. It was quaintly furnished as per an old hotel, but very clean, plenty of hot water and enough room to hang our clothes for a few days. The towels, although they looked like teatowels, did the job and were changed daily.
The breakfast room IS small , but if you have an early breakfast or a later one, you should find a seat. Plenty of cereal, meats, cheese and lovely rolls, jam honey etc. Just what you would expect of a continental breakfast in a basic hotel, and we certainly did not starve. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English.
All in all, a very adequate hotel for the price paid, £250 each for four days including our flights with Easyjet, which were fine too!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back, bit dark but who cares when its sunny all day outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilly005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I have just returned from Rome and as luck would have it, my Holiday agency fixed this hotel at Rome for the three of us. Apart from location ( Termini is nearby , but there are plenty of better options near Termini) there is NOTHING to recommend this hotel. If you are expecting to find a smooth transit to your room after a hard day's travel....forget it ! There is lift which accommodates either you or your luggage and goes only upto 1st floor
. If you are accommodated in the better rooms housed on the 2nd floor, you need to pull your bags and everything up a steep staircase ....that's a horrible experience and I just don't know how they call it 3-star. The two guys and the breakfast-room lady are smiling and friendly, but that hardly helps with a worthless non-cooperating manager calling the shots over telephone. Sorry, take a pensione if nothing else , but avoid this one, by all means.

Room Tip: The rooms are depressing. No recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank myfreerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#498 of 1,271 in Rome
635 reviews
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#571 of 1,271 in Rome
525 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Seiler
Hotel Seiler
#875 of 1,271 in Rome
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fiori
Hotel Fiori
#717 of 1,271 in Rome
268 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#967 of 1,271 in Rome
431 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#440 of 1,271 in Rome
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augustea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augustea

Address: Via Nazionale 251, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #590 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £43 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Augustea 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Augustea is one of the best hotels in the centre of Rome. Less than 15 minutes walking from the Colisseum, symbol of the Eternal City and Villa Borghese, the city's most beautiful area of greenery, the Hotel Augustea will truly let you breathe in the atmosphere of this wonderful city. The Trevi Fountain is also close (less than 10 minutes walking) as well as Piazza Barberini. Close to Termini railway station (5 minutes on foot) and Piazza della Repubblica-Teatro dell'Opera subway station (30 metres), the Hotel Augustea is perfectly located for getting around easily and exploring Rome. Choosing us as a place to stay means you will be able to visit this spectacular city not just using public transport but also on foot. Located in a classic, late nineteenth-century building, the Hotel Augustea, with its 22 rooms all equipped with every conceivable amenity, is designed to reward our valued guests with the best stay possible. Our services include free Wi-Fi in all the common areas and rooms, free room service for breakfast and bar, air conditioning, plasma TV, satellite TV and phone with direct line, own bathroom with shower or tub, hairdryer and courtesy kit. At our reception, available 24 hours a day, you will receive all necessary information to make your stay in Rome as pleasant as possible and you will also have the chance of booking outings and guided tours. and the wonderful terrace, situated on the second floor of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Augustea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing