We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Louisiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Louisiana
Ranked #517 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I made a reservation at Louisiana hotel but soon I realised that we were going to stay in Monaco hotel (i think is the same hotel) - for three nights. The hotel is in a very good location, about 10 min walk from the Termini station and about 20 from Fontana di Trevi. It is in a very good neighborhood with lots of restaurants in the same street. The hotel is very small (just a floor) but the room was very clean, tidy and big enough. The breakfast is also very satisfying containing all the basic (bread, ham and cheese, croissant, donuts, cereals, coffee, juice etc). There is not wifi in the rooms - you have to sit near the reception to surf (they give you the password). The staff is helpful and polite although not all of them speak english. It is a very good choice and in a good price (considering Rome's prices) if you are looking for a place to sleep and rest after a long day!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Despina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    99
    59
    20
    16
See reviews for
52
107
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The location is good because it's close to the central bus and train station and yet pretty good neighborhood, quiet location. We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The breakfast is basic but it's enough. The only inconvenience we had with them is that one day we had no hot water and it took them quite a long to take care of this. The street of this hotel is full of very good restorants that are not so touristic like in the historic center, here you can taste real Italian cuisine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luba l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

There was confusion when we booked the Louisiana hotel. We were informed the booking was for Monaco not Louisiana. Soon sorted. On arrival found out why. Both are based in the same building and use different floors. We were on the 5th floor which is what we asked for. The lift is tiny, only holds 3/4 people depending on size. Breakfast room is shared with the Monaco visitors. The breakfast typical continental which we expected. Pastries (which were Danish but lovely) & bread, 2/3 types of cold meat, fruit juice,Yoghurts, coffee, Twinings tea - different varieties. Disappointed there was no fruit. Hotel room was clean and maids came in each day to tidy round. Don't expect tea/coffee making facilities in hotel room. This seems to be the case in the Italian hotels we have visited. There was a safe though - no charge.Usually we have had to pay for this facility in other countries. Hotel well situated & good 10 mins walk from Termini train station.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I booked a 4 night city break at this hotel for myself,my partner and my teenage son and even though the hotel is well situated with most attractions within walking distance or a short taxi ride away, the hotel itself was a bit disappointing. Our double room was of a good size,the bed was comfortable,however there were no tea/coffee making facilities provided,the mini fridge provided didn't work and smelt stale. The bathroom was a bit on the small side and there was no hot water for most of our stay. The shower head bracket was broken so we couldn't position the shower properly,which made things a bit awkward to say the least. We attemtped breakfast once during our stay but were not impressed. The rolls were a bit stale and the coffee was out of a machine which my partner said was "undrinkable". We therefore opted to have breakfast out and there are some lovely cafe's and bars within walking distance of the hotel where we were able have lovely fresh coffee and omlettes. We found a lovely restaraunt just across from the hotel called "The Henry Cow" where the staff were welcoming,very attentive and the menu catered for most tastes and was reasonably priced. Rome is an amazing city,and we enjoyed our stay but would not consider this hotel for a return visit.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a hot shower daily,a good breakfast and air conditioning that works then look elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel is situated in Via Flavia, which is very close to the Termini train station, about 10min walking. On the other way, to get to the center of rome you need to spend more time if you're not thinking on using the metro. We needed 40min to get to the hotel, from via del corso because the street is always going up.
I stayed with my girlfriend 3nights, and we were very pleasant.
The hotel is situated at 1st floor, 4th floor and 5th floor.


Pros: The room was quite big,big bathroom, had radio on the room and at the bathroom, street was quiet, good breakfast, staff was nice.

Cos: tv didn't work, wi-fi only at the 1st floor,

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreEsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Me and my friends booked a triple room in this hotel and had very good stay in Rome.
The rooms are basic but spacoius enough for three persons. Bathroom with shower is quite large and very clean. The room was cleaned every day.
Breakfast was basic...very little choice, and coffee from a machine and some pastry but with excellent choice of food in Rome we really didn't care.
The location is very good - very pleasent walk to key sites. A park Villa Borghese is nereby so we used an opportunity to hang out in the park.
Receptionist on arrival was really pleasant and helpful, but the receptionst on departure was a bit confused - he didn't speak English! He used the google translate on a computer :-).
It's good value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked a twin room for 3 nights and had an excellent stay in Rome.
The rooms are basic with some of the essential facilities including a safe and hair dryer. Could have done with coffee making facilities but with the many cafes/bars within easy reach it really wasn't a problem.
The shower was excellent...just what was needed after a day pounding the streets!
Cleanliness was spot on...our room was cleaned every day, beds made & fresh towels.
Contrary to their appearance the beds were very comfy!
Breakfast was average...very little choice, and coffee from a machine was poor...again not so much of an issue with the facilities available in the locality.
Locality was good, a 20 minute walk to the key sites and close to the metro.
Cleaning staff and receptionist on arrival were really pleasant and helpful. The free map from reception was invaluable. However, breakfast staff were unhelpful, they didn't greet us in the morning and just stood and watched whilst we struggled with the coffee machine. Finally, the gentleman on reception as we checked out put a dampener on what was otherwise a great stay - we were unaware of the 2€ per night city tax (not in the guide books or advised by travel agent) - whilst we were happy to pay the 12€ he was incredibly grumpy about the fact that we didnt have the correct change and made no effort to find any making us feel quite uncomfortable.
Overall, this hotel does exactly as it says on the tin, it's great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parky0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#248 of 1,291 in Rome
620 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Margaret Rome
Hotel Margaret Rome
#719 of 1,291 in Rome
161 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#189 of 1,291 in Rome
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#727 of 1,291 in Rome
154 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#748 of 1,291 in Rome
343 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#413 of 1,291 in Rome
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louisiana

Property: Hotel Louisiana
Address: Via Flavia 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Louisiana 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Louisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisiana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing