We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Louisiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Louisiana
Ranked #517 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not too bad”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

It's basic but good value for money. It easy distance to main metro stations as Termini or Plazza Republica. We found a small difficulties at finding the hotel as there are few hotels in one building. Staff is nice (if it could be said about any Roman;) in general they are arrogant and rude. The room was nice and clean, pretty big. The only thing I hated was a shower. The size was similar as a matches box. Standard continental breakfast, not many to choice. Anyway I would recommended this base for a sightseeing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewaczek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    99
    59
    20
    16
See reviews for
52
107
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights there. The hotel is a little bit far from the public transport. You have to walk 15 minutes to the nearst metro station (Plazza Republica or Termini). Our room is on the 1st floor. It's clear and not to small. But the bathroom is tiny :-(. You can only take a shower with very hot or very cold water.
The staff is friendly. There are some restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Hotel was a nice surprise. Great location near Termini station and close to most of old town attractions. Clean, spacey and quiet rooms and nice breakfast (not to many choices but you can eat as much as you want).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madvgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Somewhat strange setup - there are 5 hotels in the building, and the reception for Hotel Lousiana is on the first floor. Initial impression was not favourable due to very dirty carpet at entrance, but our room, on the 4th floor, was clean, quiet, and for Rome, spacious. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast OK, once I'd mastered the coffee machine, with plenty of rolls and various types of croissants. 10 mintues walk from Termini station and we walked easily to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi fountain and Barberini Palace. We enjoyed several meals at the nearby trattorias on Via Castelfidardo and Via R Cadonna. We did try the Henry Cow opposite on the first night because it is so close, but wouldn't really recommend it and were irritated by the number of hawkers interrupting our meal. One tiny criticism - the bulb in one of the bedside lamps didn't work, and although frequently mentioned, it was never replaced. Overall however, the hotel was very good value, and a good base for a sightseeing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seniortraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2009

we stayed on the 5th floor which has been refurbished . The room was a good size and very clean ,the en suite was spacious . the hotel was within walking distance of the main sights . the room was always nice and cool with the air conditioning . A good no frills base to use for seeing Rome

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

To begin with we found it easy to locate the hotel but had issues finding the hotel reception. It was actually on the first floor as there is a group of 'hotels' in the same building. Once found our stay was excellent!

Our room was huge! We had two fold out beds in the front of our room - which we weren't needing and so I think that may explain the size of the room! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom more than adequate! The room included some toiletries such as the little bottles of shampoo & conditioner. There was a television but we used it rarely as Italian TV is all in Italian, even the english programs have been dubbed over.

The breakfast room was on the first floor and gave you a choice of cereal, bread rolls or sweet rolls as well as coffee, tea, water and juice. It was a great variety and you could have as much as you like.

In other reviews I had read that the staff were rude. I didn't find this, it's just that their english is not great. They tried really hard to speak adequate english and were very friendly. We tried to speak a little Italian and they seemed to appreciate it!

The hotel location was just fine - we rarely used the metro as central Rome is quite compact and easy to walk.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2007

First the good news: the hotel is fairly clean, but their organisation and how they treat guests is just awful! We had a reservation, I confirmed it the day before we arrived and when we arrived at 11 p.m. they told us that both of our rooms were not available. They booked a different hotel for us and paid for it and for the taxi to and from, but they never we willing to listen to our complains. Especially the manager is very unfriendly, ready to give you false information all day long. I would never recommend that hotel unless you do not want any "feeling welcome". The two points just because the rooms were okay.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank loving_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#248 of 1,291 in Rome
620 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Margaret Rome
Hotel Margaret Rome
#719 of 1,291 in Rome
161 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#189 of 1,291 in Rome
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#727 of 1,291 in Rome
154 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#748 of 1,291 in Rome
343 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#413 of 1,291 in Rome
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louisiana

Property: Hotel Louisiana
Address: Via Flavia 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Louisiana 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Louisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisiana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing