We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lazio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lazio
Ranked #814 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We stayed here with a school tour group. I was very worried before the trip by reviews about lack of hygiene. It was ideally located,clean,adequate breakfast and friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank LiviaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    39
    45
    20
    23
See reviews for
21
42
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

The Lazio is really, really close to the main train station (Termini), which is very convenient - the staff were ok, especially if you smile and are friendly when talking to them, and the entrance looked ok. They have a little roofed courtyard out front, where you can sit and chill in the evenings, and there are little tobacconist's / newsagent's nearby.

However, the hotel itself... well, I know it's cheap, but it was really not a great experience. The rooms are extremely cramped - don't even THINK about sharing a room with a friend, they will cram in 3 single beds into a room big enough for one bed, to the point where the 3 beds are actually TOUCHING. The rooms smelled a bit funky as well, damp and just 'off'.

The worst thing was waking up the next morning and finding big red bites all over me - yes, they have BED BUGS! Gross! The hotel didn't seem to care though - they just told me to contact my tour operator... and what were they supposed to do??

The other MAJOR problem was that large groups kids going on school trips to Rome seem to be ALL staying at the Lazio... and by kids, I mean teenagers. Of course, being teenagers, they all decided to get hammered and ran around the hotel screaming and shouting, knocking on each other's doors, puking and carrying on pretty much all night. I was so annoyed. And again, the staff by the front desk did not seem to care at all. I'm so annoyed that my friends and I didn't go elsewhere - and that we didn't check this site out before booking the hotel.

The breakfast did surprise me though, it was quite ok. Nothing spectacular, but really expected it to be as bad as the rest of the hotel. They had the regular continental breakfast, which is fine - cereals, bread rolls, coffee etc. in a fairly average, cleanish dining room.

So to sum up - unless you're 16 and looking for a fabulously loud drunken adventure on alco pops, I'd strongly advise you to go elsewhere.

  • Liked — It was close to the train station
  • Disliked — The bed bugs, the horrible rooms, and the annoying drunken teenagers keeping us all awake all night
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Slumberparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I booked a package which included 4 nights at this hotel, which I chose because of the close proximity to the railway station. Imagine my absolute horror when after booking I found the reviews for this Hotel Lazio on this site! We decided not to cancel and went along with a sense of humour and expecting the worst. We were pleasantly surprised - the staff were subdued, but extremely helpful when we needed them to be. The breakfast was not brilliant, but on a par with "continental breakfasts" I have experienced at supposedly better hotels. We also initially thought that the walls in our room looked a little "tired" and in need of a quick end-of-season paint, however in broad daylight we discovered that the paintwork was not in need of a refresh, but had been given an almost too subtle rag-roll pattern! Our mistake. The room we stayed in was actually spotless, with all towels changed daily and bedlinen every second day. It was well-equipped, with the exception of the mini-bar, which was really an empty fridge. However, this suited us very well, as we had plenty of space to chill our bottles of water. We found the hotel to be peaceful at night - perhaps we missed maurauding school children and bed bugs season- who knows? And yes, as promised the hotel really was a 2 minute walk (if that) from Termini - which meant that travel throughout our stay was easy. I fully believe you get what you pay for; this hotel is inexpensive and is perfect if you intend to be out-and-about site-seeing. If you are looking for a different type of break, relaxing in luxurious spacious surroundings, you should probably look at a different type of hotel. We found that this hotel delivered exactly what it promised, so don't be put off by the other reviews -try it yourself first!

  • Liked — Close proximity to railway station
  • Disliked — have no real complaints - was much better than I expected for price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Bugs in the beds . . . need I say more? I will though. Rude staff. Horrible smells from the AC when it did work. No TV.

We were there as a part of a soccer tour but left and spent additional money to stay at the Hotel Stromboli around the corner.

Lazio is located well, but there are many other choices in the same area.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Bugs in the beds.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldCupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2008

I have just stayed in this hotel(if you could call it one) for a school trip, And it was the worst accomodation i have stayed in in my life, and ever will probably. We started off by entering the understaffed hotel, to meet a grumpy receptionest looking annoyed to see us.it took us one hour to finally get all of us in the rooms thanks to the incompetence of the receptionest. I then procceded to my room with my friends expecting a clean bed to lie on after making our long trip to Rome. But we were greeted with a smelly, dirty, termite ridden room. The sheets hadn't been changed in any of the beds, or changed for our whole 4 day trip!

The air conditioning/fridge/t.v didnt work, And most importantly the safe where our valuables were supposed to go had about 5 combos that all could open and close the safe. we asked the hotel manager to see if the safe was broken or not and were not helped at all, If it wasn't for our teacher we would have probably never got assistance at all. turned out the safe had no battery and when i asked if we could replace we were given a piece of paper that explaned hoe to use the safe properly due to the ingnorance of the staff. None of them could speak recognisable english.

We then decided to have a look around the room, the room was freezing so we decided to put on the air conditioning. A smell of burning pertruded from the vents so obviously it wasnt working.

At close examination the scirting boards were all eatin' by termites. Next door to us there were lice all over the sheets and they had to be moved to a third floor room with all the same problems, less lice of course.

Every morning we were woken at six A.M by the clicking of high heels of the staff moving up and down the corridors getting the breakfast ready. It was a collection of cheaply proccesed ham and plastic tasting cheese. The juice just wasnt juice and the coffee was cheap and dull.

Overall i wouldnt recomend this hotel to anybody looking to have a gud time in rome. Even for a school trip. It is just awfull.

The only thing about this haotel i can say is gud is how it looks from the outside. But indide im sure it is in violation of some serious health and safety laws.

I hope you can use this review to help you make the right choice of hotel in rome.

Thank You For Reading.

  • Liked — the location of it. its right in the middle of the city.
  • Disliked — everything about it.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alex_keaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

We have just spent 3 nights at the Lazio. This hotel is awful unless you are a student in a group and you want to run up and down the corridors screaming and shouting all night. The breakfast is terrible - luke warm coffee, stale rolls, cheap cheese and aneamic 'cornflakes'. The room was dirty and the towels were about a hundred years old!! The staff are rude at best and downright ignorant most of the time. The fire points are hanging off the walls and there is apparently some sort of abandoned upgrade programme. We had to ASK for basic needs such as TOILET PAPER twice, and most of the light bulbs in the room had blown!! No tea facilities in room - no radio - no english channel on TV. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from adjacent rooms - and I mean EVERYTHING!!! Only good point - it was near the Termini Station and walking distance to all the main tourist things.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dreadful all round
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dubblebubbleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

The only good thing about our stay at the Lazio was location. We were central to the train station, the subway and many of the tourist attractions. But that's it. Our first floor room had no window and no air conditioning to speak of. No working tv, no radio nor phone. We were awaken all three nights by late night guests coming home and slamming hotel room doors. We found it very difficult to converse with the hotel staff to address some of these issues. No one seemed to speak what we'd consider fluent English. For what we paid per night for this hotel, we were VERY disappointed.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank WearyRomeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#781 of 1,291 in Rome
286 reviews
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#762 of 1,291 in Rome
111 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Regio
Hotel Regio
#476 of 1,291 in Rome
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Luce
Hotel Luce
#1,029 of 1,291 in Rome
251 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#986 of 1,291 in Rome
444 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#825 of 1,291 in Rome
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lazio

Property: Hotel Lazio
Address: Via Vicenza 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #814 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lazio 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated strategically, Hotel Lazio offers its guests a comfortable and peaceful stay, and is within easy reach of the city's main sites of interest. Situated in a quiet and central location, Hotel Lazio is just 4 minutes' walk from Roma Termini Railway Station. The simple and functional rooms are endowed with all comforts. The hall and lounge area offer comfortable sofas, and are at guests' disposal, in addition to a large luggage store. The delightful garden, hidden away from the busy streets around the hotel, offers a quiet corner with small sofas and tables, where guests can relax after a "hard" day out discovering Rome. The 3 star hotel is a great location, and is ideal for anyone looking for a hotel in the heart of Rome, very close to the city centre, for individuals or groups wanting to discover the beauty and history of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lazio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing