We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different and educational”

The Time Elevator Rome Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.67*
and up
Time Elevator Rome 3-D Movie and Simulated Ride
Ranked #19 of 111 Fun & Games in Rome
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Different and educational”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stopped off here on the way back to our hotel and wasn't disappointed. It was good value (12E) and lasted about an hour. I did feel a bit shaky a few times but it was good fun and gave us a brief and easy to understand Rome history. I am not a history buff at all and this was a good way of getting my head around the basics. A nice way to sit down for an hour and see a different side to Rome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vls137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    129
    142
    83
    125
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing for kids and funny for parents”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

An excellent alternative for a funny Sunday with kids: it does not give only historical and multisensorial experience of Rome, but it is a funny journey across Rome history (with many surprises during the show!) .... maybe the Rome's histroy is too much "fincionalized" but it helps to let kids keep in mind a bit of the boring Rome's history.... my 3-year old son is maybe too young for that, but my 3 nephews loved it (aged 7, 11 and 14). The second show on the life evolution was extremely informative and exciting (it is 5 D)...thrilling for me too! This is maybe the only different and special thing you can do in Rome to let 4 pest-kids have fun far from customery ruins in the city centre. At the reception it was told they are working on an extra section regarding Romans life which will be ready later this year, and I am willing to come back again to see if it's worthy like the shows. Nice experience!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGC2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islington, London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe someone should have warned us!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We read about this in The Lonely Planet and it seemed like a good idea…but we were extremely disappointed. First of all, it doesn't really give you much information about the history of Rome. We were hoping our kids would come out of it with a greater appreciation for and understanding of the things they were likely to see walking the streets of Rome….but that didn't happen. Instead, they were assaulted with scary and bloody images, filled with pity by unnecessary descriptions and scenes of Jesus' life, and freaked out by fake "rat" effects that attacked their ankles. I think parents should be warned. I'm not sure this film is suitable for kids, and I'm not sure this film is worth the money for adults.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice with kids”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A nice attraction to visit with kids in Rome. Quite interesting and nice souvenirs to buy there. You can also use the advantage of purchasing a combined ticket to the time elevetor and the colosseum - this will save you the line later....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tzoni08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waste of Time”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Waste of time...and over priced. A simulator that gives you information you probably already know about Rome. If anything, it is good for kids...but nothing special.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Time Elevator Rome Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Time Elevator Rome Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing