We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa
Ranked #74 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Overall I thought the hotel was over rated. It's listed as a 4 star and 4.6 on Expedia and I am slightly dumbfounded as to how.

The room was small. Although listed as a family room, our room was 2 twins and a sofa bed. The ac was not working well, and in our case the electic circuit breaker tripped 2 times in 5 days. There was also some sort of construcuion on our first day there that louldy prevented us from aliviating jet lag. Several reviewers mentioned the exceptionally small shower. I wasn't even prepared for how small it really was. The hotel chose to install a bidet instead on enlarging the shower.

The included breakfast was just ok. The staff supporting the "buffet" rarely said hello. Even after 5 trips there. The food was not replenished fast enough.

On the flp side the font desk team was excellent. They were experts on Rome and trastevere. They helped us easily navigate. Especially via mass transit.

I wouldn't stay here again. Expected nicer especially for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltrilussa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guests,
We first of all would like to thank you for share your opinion about your stay at the Trilussa Palace Hotel and we are sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectation.
We really take care and work on the opinion of all our guest to improve our services and to grow up in order to offer always the best.
Regarding our room we would like to specify that, as you can see from our website, the “Family Room” is an Executive Superior Double room of 26mq with an addition of 2 sofa bed.
Concerning the air conditioning we are experiencing some unexpected problems in those days and we are apologize about the inconvenient that this problems caused during your stay.
Inside all our bathrooms there are normal showers and the only inconvenient was the hydro massage not working inside, but we are working to make new and renewed showers in the all hotel and actually, as per our Italian “clean policy” we preferred to have a bidet inside the room that could be much more comfortable.
We appreciate your nice words about the staff at the reception desk and we will preciously keep your comments in our minds in order to perfect our services and offer always the best for all our guests.
We take the opportunity to send you our kindest regards,
The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    573
    128
    34
    12
See reviews for
337
801
60
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed it. The service was really great, the rooms were clean and we tried the spa for 1 hour, bliss.

There were a few things they could improve. Breakfast was not by any standards good. A 4 star hotel should do better. Soggy scrambled eggs, undercooked bacon, no vegetables and watered out juice. But, hey, Trastevere is only 2 tramstops away. Go out and get better (and cheaper) breakfast.

The roof top terrace has a great view and we saw an amazing lightning show one evening. The drinks were bad, but the view made up for it.

The location was really amazing. Tram 8 to Trastevere or Largo di Torre Argentina - and you can go anywhere in Rome fairly easily. Also, two streets down from the hotel there are these stairs and poof (and some sweat) - you're on top of the Gianicolo hill.

If you stay at Trilussa you should try a restaurant near by - L'Orange. It seems it is run by three elderly and very charming gentlemen. The service is impeccable and the food delicious and relatively cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drífa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltrilussa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Drifa,
We thank you for your stay at Trilussa Palace Hotel and for having left your opinion. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay and the location. We are just a little bit sorry because of your dissatisfaction with the breakfast and the drinks: the management has been informed in order to improve the service. However we are happy that you liked the hotel and the staff: thank you for your appreciation! We hope to welcome you back in order to offer you a very perfect service. Our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is comfortable and staff is well trained, hospitable, friendly and very helpfull. Internet is free and fast. Breakfast is super;rooms elegantly designed and proudly THE BEST is SPA & WELLNESS center of Trilussa Palace

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_ESTU13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltrilussa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Greetings from Rome!
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your nice words, we are really happy and proud to see that you spent a very nice Holiday here at the Trilussa Palace and had the opportunity to try also our SPA & WELLNESS center, we hope to welcome you again one day and let you offer another unforgettable stay.
We take the opportunity to send you our warmest regards
The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Trilussa Palace in late June. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, but it will only take you 10 minutes by tram to get to Piazza Venezia. The trams stop right outside the hotel and are very frequent. You can walk or take the tram/bus to Trastevere Mastai. In this aera you will find lots of genuinely nice restaurants. There are banks and shops, including a supermarked, in short walking distance from the hotel.

The staff at Trilussa Palace were all so nice and helpful. The room (family room) was very comfortable, light and airy with a little balcony. The bathroom was very clean and nice, only one negative thing: the water in the shower was sometimes a little bit on the cold side. But in warm and sunny Rome, this wasn't a huge problem. The roof garden was lovely, I could have spent hours there with a cold drink and a good book. We always try to book hotels with outdoor space, and this one did not disappoint us!

Brekfast was very nice, plenty of bacon and eggs, pastries, fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice etc. The whole family loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjersti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltrilussa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Greetings from Trilussa Palace Hotel,
Dear guest,

first of all,we would like to thank you for the nice words that you used to describe our hotel and its services.
We are so happy that you did enjoy your stay, and to know that for your next trip in Rome,you will choose again the Trilussa Palace Hotel.
The loyalty of our customers is our aim because it means that we did a good job and it's very important for all us.
Thank you so much for recommending the hotel to the other travelers.
Looking forward to welcome you again, we wish you the best for the future.

Kind regards
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

It is located in Trastevere which is a nice, trendy, good restaurants place but it is not as close to the Trastevere square as it should....it is a 20 minutes walking distance. Service is good, staff is kind and very helpful. Wish the hotel was more a full service one-- at least a small restaurant in it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titigomezariza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltrilussa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all, thank you for having choose the Trilussa Palace Hotel for your holiday and for having shared your opinion on TA. Trastevere area is a quite big district of the “ancient” Rome and our hotel is located in this area (as you can see on google maps). This district is very famous, as you say, for restaurants, bars and pubs, but, obviously, being so spread, some of those restaurants are closed by and for others it needs to have a walk.
The hotel has got different types of rooms, and for each type the size is clearly specified all over the web sites. So, at the moment of the reservation, everybody can know how big is the room booked.
We regret that you enjoyed only the breakfast and not the other services offered by the hotel, such as the nice Roof Garden, where it’s possible to enjoy an amazing view on Rome, have a drink and appetizer, the Bar, the Solarium, the Mini Gym, the Wellness Center with two spa (the classic and the Moon) that are open 24h, treatments and massages for body, in winter time the lounge bar…. For sure, we don’t luck in services!
We hope that you’ll have another opportunity to visit our hotel and to “discover” all its services.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. While it was a bit out of Trastavere where we enjoyed many great restaurants, the tram stopped 1/2 block away and the public transportation system in Rome is good. The room was fine, shower was great and the bedding made it easy to fall asleep after a busy day of sight-seeing. This was a family trip - we had five rooms for the weekend, and then three rooms for six additional days. The rooftop bar was our meeting place at 6pm every day and was very comfortable with a great view. As stated in many earlier reviews, the service was excellent and the hotel was very welcoming. Room for improvement - the internet service works but was very inconvenient. You would drop off and I had to go get new credentials several times. It clearly is too strict and should be made easier for the paying customer. Also, given the number of rooms and length of stay, it would be appropriate to offer a complimentary glass of wine or some water bottles. Given the attention to service and the fact that the staff came to know us - this was a bit disjointed. Finally - the hotel offers private transportation service to/from the hotel. It is overpriced and the taxi we took back to the airport was timely, clean and plenty of room for 4 travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhirsch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltrilussa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Greetings from Rome,
Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you did enjoy your stay at the Trilussa Palace hotel and we really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
We are sorry that you had difficulty with the wifi code. The code is valid for 3 days so it shouldn't create any problem for our guest even for those who have a long stay. About our private car, the price for the pick up from the airport is a little bit higher than the normal taxi but most of our customers prefer it for the confort and the security as they know how much they will pay,so,no bad surprise and even if the flight is late,our driver will wait for them. For the return transfer the price is the same as the local taxi (till 3 people).
We wish that the others members of your group kept also a sweet memory of their stay among us.
Looking forward to see you for your next trip, all the staff sends you their best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I booked this hotel based on very good Trip Advisor reviews but I have to say I was disappointed. First, this hotel is somewhere at the periphery (7 tram stops to Piazza Venezia). It is composed of an entrance extending on vertical 7 or 8 floors in a three entrance apartment building having in total perhaps no more than 40 rooms. I do not know what kind of "congress" could be organized here. Also, the hotel description on TA is misleading: from the pictures you are made to believe you have access to the spa and pool. Well, there is no pool and the access at spa is very pricey. Second, the room we had was tiny, almost entirely occupied by the bed (you'll move through suitcases) and having an outdated furniture. On the positive side I note the flat panel TV, the minibar and the decent internet speed. There was an useless balcony, too small to put a chair but having a small paddle accumulated from the previous rain. The view was toward some apartment buildings so we preferred to have the curtains pulled. On Trip Advisor search the hotel appears among the top ten luxurious hotels in Rome but I never seen a luxury hotel having in the room cheap plastic glasses, no napkins and the AC blowing directly on the bed. The breakfast was good but only few options to choose from and no day to day variation. However the orange juice maker was awesome. The top terrace is a joke. The hotel is rated as 4 stars but I appreciate its real value somewhere between 2 and 3 stars. What is indeed of 5 stars is the staff which is friendly, professional and very helpful but this does not compensate the big shortcomings I pointed out above. In the future I'll take TA reviews with more caution.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoguBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteltrilussa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Greetings from Rome,
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about the hotel on TA and we are sorry to read that your stay with us didn't met your expectation.
We took note about all your comments, it will help us to improve our services but we are absolutely not agree with some points:
-the hotel is not situated at the periphery of Rome as you wrote.
Trastevere, the area where we are is one of the most important neighborhood of the center of Rome and it takes only 10 minutes with the tram to reach the heart of the city(Piazza Venezia), and Google map can prove it.
If this means being in periphery, then you're right.
-The Trilussa palace hotel had 45 rooms and one meeting room which can host until 80/90 persons.We organize also lunch break and coffee break.
-The Trilussa is the only 4 stars hotel in Rome which have 2 Spa.Both had 1 hydromassage pool,1 sauna and 1 turkish bath. On the website, you can see all the pictures of the services that we offer but it doesn't mean that it's all included.
It's written everywhere that the spa is not included in the room rate as we rent it only for exclusive use.
-we have different kinds of room and in the description on the website,you can see the size (in meter square) of every type.This can help our guest to choose the best room which can meet their needs.So we think that you knew before your arrival what was the size of the room that you've booked
-In this period of the year, all our guest enjoy staying in our roof top bar which was recently renewed...it's a very relaxing place where to have drinks in the evening so, it could be a joke for you but a very special place for the rest of our customer as you can see on the other review.

Best regards,
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa

Property: Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa
Address: Piazza Ippolito Nievo 25-27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Family Hotel in Rome
#87 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trilussa Palace Hotel Congress & SPA is an exclusive place for who wants to spend a pleasant holiday in Rome. Thanks to its location is the ideal place for discovering the beauties of the city in comfort. The hotel offers different types of rooms to meet the different needs of its guests: who travels with family, for business, for couples and for friends. After a day of walking or working, guests can finally enjoy a relaxing atmosphere in the exclusive SPA and being pampered by massages, rose petals and hot drinks. The historical centre is easily accessible. The hotel is indeed located in Trastevere area, a few minutes walk from Santa Maria in Trastevere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trilussa Palace Congress & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trilussa Palace Congress And Spa
Trilussa Palace Congress Hotel Rome
Trilussa Palace Congress Rome
Trilussa Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing