We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Bellambriana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellambriana Hotel
Ranked #995 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Staye here with my partner a few months ago, nice place and good value, little bit out of the way but still close enough to enjoy being there

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deen_foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days after travelling around Italy on honeymoon. We paid £134 for 4 nights in August which was excellent value. We struggled to find our way to the hotel after catching the correct metro but a few wrong buses and then a very kind local couple gave us a lift when we asked for directions as it was quite a walk away. We found the hotel very nice and the pool was lovely and clean, very relaxing after travelling so much.
The breakfast was good and rooms very clean.
The only drawback was the distance away from the centre of Rome. There is a bus stop around the right of the building which will take you to the metro then into the centre. The metro and buses did run until about 11pm so that wasnt too bad but it is still alot of travelling.
We had a vending machine outside our door which was a godsend during the very hot summer.
All in all apart from the distance this hotel was great value and no complaints about the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I booked this hotel for a short break for my husband and I and chose it over many others because it seemed to be extremely good value for a four star hotel with supposedly excellent facilities, including a pool and spa. I opted to book a chain hotel rather than an independent as I assumed (incorrectly) that it would conform to the 4 star rating it had been given. However, I was very disappointed with the hotel when I arrived. It was miles out of town, a good 25 minute walk to the nearest metro station (although there was a sporadic free shuttle service from the hotel), there was very little in the way of restaurants or shops in the immediate vicinity, the lobby was small and unimpressive and the staff were surly and not particularly welcoming. The lifts were tiny and a bit rickety and our room had a vending machine right outside it, which buzzed and hummed all night. On the positive side, this hotel was quite cheap compared to some others, the room was clean and of a decent size with a fairly comfortable king sized bed and en suite bathroom, and breakfast was included, although some of it was inedible (particularly the scrambled eggs).

Perhaps I am being overly picky but the room did not contain any information about the hotel facilities i.e. what was in the fitness suite, when it was open etc, there were no instructions for operating the air conditioning (which didn't seem to do anything other than turn off or heat the room to 26 degrees), no tea or coffee making facilities, and no room service menu even though some scant information on the key card suggested room service was available. In their defence, we probably could have got all this information from the reception staff but as they were less than helpful when we did have occasion to speak to them we didn't bother asking and spent as little time in the hotel as possible.

If this hotel had been listed as a 3 star hotel I would not have been so disappointed and for the price I paid it was quite good value. However, I was hoping for something a little more luxurious and feel I was misled by the star rating and the pictures on the hotel website, which make it look nicer than it was. Next time I would opt for something a bit more expensive closer to the city centre or if I was staying on a budget I'd probably opt for an Ibis and give the Golden Tulip a miss.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room with a vending machine outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shrinkingviolet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

spent 5 nights at this hotel in mid october.got there at 9ish the first night and after putting our bags in the double room we went to the restaurant for what the receptionsist described as the best pizzas.being a son of italian parents i was eager to try the food .the pizza came out dripping in olive oil and we were presented with the most soggiest pizza ive ever seen yuk !!!!.the head waiter totaly ignored us the two times we went there very rude and unhelpfull.never mind move on we thought.the next day i wanted to try the pools well the indoor pool was broken(we stumbled across this as we passed through the gym area it was all in darkness ???.on to the outdoor pool which was absolutely filthy i love swimming and this was a big factor in booking this hotel as this offered this facilty.what a let down.you just couldnt get in there .in the room there were no tea/coffee facilities so had to have cold drinks instead.we only ate 1 more time in restaraunt and the choice of food was very poor (unless you love fish)
breakfast wasnt much better.selection of fruit,croissants toast etc .we couldnt wait to get out of the hotel to be honest.as previous reviews stated you have to get a bus to metro to get anywhere.not much to do around hotel area.there is a supermarket 5 mins away if you need some supplies.1 word of advise for me to give would be take plenty of time to get back to fumicino aiport it took us 4 hours to get back there as the bus/metro/train journey was a nightmare.its only half hour in taxi(prices range from 45-60 euros.
overall impression rome is a beautyfull place shame the hotel didnt live up to our expectation the hotel photos must of been taken years ago.shame on you golden tulip for allowing those photos to dupe peaple into thinking this place is a great place to stay and eat.please avoid this hotel as its prob in the worst hotel ive ever stayed in.

Room Tip: upgrade from a double if u can .not much room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimmerb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The hotel is a 20 minute walk/quick bus ride from the end of the Vatican metro line which wasn't a problem for us but I would stay nearer the centre next time - we thought Rome would be chaos but it wasn't that busy and we could easily have coped with staying closer to the centre. The metro stops after 9pm-ish so we ended up coming back early each evening and the buses were infrequent. There was a strike one day so we ended up walking into Rome which took about an hour. The hotel was fine for the price (we paid £300 for four nights through Thomson) and has a lovely seating/eating area round the pool. There are a few rusty odd fittings in the bathroom and the shower cubicle doors don't do a very good job of keeping the water in but the room was big, well air conditioned and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Clareshuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were sceptical about this hotel after other reviews but wanted to let you know about our visit. We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is just outside of the city which is what we were looking for as we wanted to relax after doing all the sights! The hotel has a shuttle which you can book or you can jump on the 546 to the metro station Battistini. This is a very good service which then can take you to all the sights, Vatican, Colloseum etc The hotel has a lovely swimming pool area which you can sunbathe and relax. We spent our evenings having a meal here or a few drinks by the poolside. There was piano music every night which was very pleasant. The hotel food was nice and with the addition of a Pizzeria in September will give more choice. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were a good standard and very clean. We would definately recommend this hotel to friends, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFitzhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very poor location, run down area, we felt vulnerable when leaving the hotel in the daytime and would certainly not venture out on foot during the evening. No transport into Rome. Hotel shuttle bus service very limited and unreliable. The staff at the hotel were rude and disinterested. The lift was out of order upon our arrival and the alternative was a smelly stairwell with very rough uneven floors/stairs. No lightbulb in our bathroom when we arrived. Unpredictable shower temperature. Filthy carpets in hallways and in rooms with actual tears and holes in them. Rubbish underneath the bed which hadn't been cleaned since previous day. We eventually found the gym area which is kept in absolute darkness with no electricity supply. The spa/jacuzzi was absolutely disgusting with a film of oily filth on top. After many enquiries we were told that there was a sauna but it would cost an additional 20 euros for each use and you could only use it if staff were available to accompany you. The website photos must have been taken a long time ago. The breakfast on offer was poor with inedible scrambled eggs and very little on offer. We attempted to eat at the hotel restaurant on our first night but the menu was very limited , don't bother if you don't like fish. The quality of the food was terrible. There was a pizzeria attached to the restaurant which had closed down for refurbishment. If you have the misfortune of staying here make sure you eat whilst you are in the centre of Rome. Cracked tiles in the bathroom with fungus growing along edges. Tv constantly cutting out and getting stuck on pause. My little girl left her two favourite dresses behind in her room by accident and after three phone calls to the hotel we gave up hope of having them returned. I have photos of the dirty/ damaged areas of the rooms if you want to get an idea of what this hotel is really like. We weren't allowed in the outside/pool area at all on one evening as the staff had shut it off for a private party with no prior notice. Spend your money elsewhere. We stayed in 5 different hotels in the course of our trip through Italy and all of them were far superior to this. Cannot believe that they have a 4 star rating, not sure when they were awarded this but it certainly doesn't apply now.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloverfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.3 mi away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#343 of 1,271 in Rome
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#717 of 1,271 in Rome
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Ginevra
Park Hotel Ginevra
#621 of 1,271 in Rome
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#600 of 1,271 in Rome
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie
0.7 mi away
Hotel Midas
Hotel Midas
#599 of 1,271 in Rome
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellambriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellambriana Hotel

Address: Via Luca Passi 6, 00166 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#346 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellambriana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellambriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bellambriana Hotel Rome
Golden Tulip Hotel Bellambriana
Golden Tulip Rome
Rome Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing