We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious problems with wifi. Not suitable for business trips.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosianum Palace Rome
Ranked #716 of 3,640 Rome B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Serious problems with wifi. Not suitable for business trips.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Good points: nice location between Piazza Venezia and Campo dei Fiori, very close to the ghetto, convenient for transportation with most tourist sites walkable, but in a quiet essentially traffic-free side street. Pleasant room decoration. Front desk is helpful. Good shower pressure, though the floors are slippery enough to be dangerous. However, there are bad points. Wifi works in the hotel lobby, not in your room, and not even in all other public spaces, such as near the lift on your floor, where it is meant to. And to get it at all, you need to use some personal information, for example, your Facebook login or your email address. One night it wasn’t working at all anywhere in the hotel. Rain was blamed. My bed was hard (some people prefer that), and the pillow was not filled with feathers, but with polyester and/or polyurethane. I doubt that anyone prefers that. It’s not conducive to a good night’s sleep. My little desk had barely enough room for a desk light and the TV, so it needed a bit of juggling to get my laptop on as well. The TV reception was poor or nonexistent for most channels.
Breakfast was the usual buffet, OK, but the coffee was not good. Ask for cappuccino or espresso, which are both fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    183
    70
    25
    13
See reviews for
82
182
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from a week's visit to Rome . We stayed at Hosianum Palace in via dei Polacchi . The hotel is very centrally situated (Campi d'Olio area) , hotel staff very friendly and helpful, especially Front Office personnel , room was scrupulously clean - bathroom SPOTLESS - had LCD TV , Frigobar & a queen-sized bed, breakfast was very generous (Buffet type) . I think it couldn't be better - we have made the right choice definitely . Rooms are spread over 4 floors and there is a very nice & tidy terrace on the 5th floor where I gathered that breakfast is served there in the warmer months . I certainly recommend this gem ! My wife & I would like to thank the management & staff for making our tenth stay in Rome a memorable one :-0) See you all soon I hope. Regards Rita & Ronald DeGiorgio from Malta

Room Tip: I suggest you book in advance as the hotel is a medium size one and is quite popular with visitors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very Good Hotel very close to Capitolio , very clean and excellent service . The staff was professional and kind. The reason I dont give excellence rating was the fact that can hear the shower of the next room

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Theocharisantoniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a flight and hotel package and couldn't be more pleased with our choice, The hotel has a great location only minutes away from Trajans's column and market place, and in easy walking distance to most of the other main tourist points in the city. The rooms are basic but well equipped my only criticism is there was no kettle/hospitality tray. The linen was fresh and clean and towels plentiful. The breakfast was good with lots of choice, something for everybody. I would definitely book this hotel again and would go as far as to say it would be my first choice hotel if going back to Rome

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the lower floors as the top floor rooms are in the attic and have low ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The Hosianum Palace was the perfect hotel for a long weekend in Rome. Perfectly located within walking distance to all the major sites (Colloseum, Vatican, Pantheon etc...), we didn't take public transport or taxis once after our arrival. Numerous selection of restaurants, bars, cafés and gelato shops all within 5 or 10 minutes walk, ranging in price and the friendly, helpful staff gave some great suggestions.

The room was comfortable, as in the title you get what you pay for. The bed was a bit hard but the room was spacious, clean and with all the amenities you would expect. We had breakfast included and, again, this was great for fuelling a day of sightseeing. It's not the most luxurious breakfast but all the food was fresh and in abundance.

Overall, I would highly recommend The Hosianum Palace to anyone who is planning a sightseeing trip to Rome.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very warm welcome on arrival and a map and bus numbers explained. Room was good (401) at the end of a corridor and aircon/heater, tv and fridge. The bathroom had a corner shower and was supplied with mini toothpaste and toothbrush, shower gel and shampoo, cotton buds, shower cap, cotton wool pad, shoeshine pad, razer and shave cream. Ideal for a one or 2 night stay at least. There is a box of tissues on the wall and a hairdryer and a stool. Towels were changed daily if left in the shower - the bath towels are on a shelf above the wc but luckily my son is 6ft 2 so he got mine down for me every morning. Rooms were cleaned daily, bed made, night clothes neatly folded. There's even writing paper, notepad and envelopes provided. The 3Euro tax is per room and paid on departure. Cases may be left in Reception on your last day but if you want a taxi to the airport, book this 24hrs in advance. Breakfast is served between 7.30 and 10.30 and includes fruit juices, bread rolls, meats and cheeses, yoghurts, cereals, fruit, jam/marmalade, bread, sweet croissant and cake, tea, coffee and a hotplate with scrambled egg, bacon and sausage. The hotel is very close to the Victor Emmanuelle (wedding cake) building, 10mins to the Coliseum and Forum, 5mins on from them is Circus Maximum and 5 mins on from that is Basilica de St Clemente, also well worth a visit. 10-15mins north is Trevi, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Piazza Navona. The Vatican City is furthest, we took the 40 express from the stop just down the road and got there in about 10mins - certainly saved our feet and legs as we didn't sit down for 5hrs after we got there! Castel D'Angelo is about 3 mins away on the river and the 40 Express stops just opposite for the return journey. Definitely get the Roma Pass at the airport, 34Euro but we only paid to do the Vatican 46Euro on a tour including the Museum and Sistine Chapel and 5Euro for St Clemente. We beat the queues everywhere and didn't pay admission for anything else. When you get on the buses - you have to buy the tickets before you get on - we were able to press our pass against the black circle on the machine in the bus and wait til it 'whirred' so they all trips were effectively 'prepaid'. We didn't use the Metro but you could use the pass on that too. Considering the Coliseum had a long Q early in the morning and was 15.50Euro that was half the Roma Pass paid for in one entry. If you get offered a return bus shuttle on the plane for 11Euro that is also worth buying. The bus only stops once before the Termini and, bought at the stop, it is 6 Euro one way. Get the 40 express or the 64 from the other end of the Termini to the hotel. For dinner, at the back of the hotel in a corner is Vinando, very nice place and for a 15-20min walk try Travestere. Loads of restaurants, particulary Carlo Menta, Villa de la Lungaretta. Excellent food for about half the price of most places with a 12Euro 4-course tourist menu. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Rome and would certainly stay there again should I return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elaineKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

other than the blankets everything was marvelous.
the staff was very very helpful. the location is amazing. one of the best breakfasts i have ever had in an hotel. .
as other people wrote before the wi-fi is only available in the lobby.
though i gave it only 4 out of 5 stars i think that as a whole and especially for the price we payed we couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#282 of 1,256 in Rome
181 reviews
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#318 of 1,256 in Rome
1,241 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#426 of 1,256 in Rome
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#208 of 1,256 in Rome
787 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#526 of 1,256 in Rome
529 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Piazza Del Gesu Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosianum Palace Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosianum Palace Rome

Property: Hosianum Palace Rome
Address: Via Dei Polacchi 23, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ghetto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #716 of 3,640 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hosianum Palace Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosianum Palace Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosianum Palace Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing