We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Oriente”
Review of Hotel Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oriente
Ranked #961 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Oriente”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Room wasn't quite as nice as the photograph, but perfectly serviceable. All the staff I met were lovely, very helpful (offered a spare travel adaptor, etc.), spoke good English. Great location, don't worry about the looks of the place on StreetView.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    34
    24
    10
    17
See reviews for
16
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was a clean, conveniently located hotel and the staff were really helpful. The only slight problems were the limited breakfast and we had to pay extra for the air conditioning. However, the air con was really efficient (essential in Rome in July). Our expectations were low as this was only a 2 star hotel but we were pleasantly surprised as we have stayed in 3/4 star places which have offered less. Would we stay here again? Absolutely. Thank you to the family run hotel from your guests in room 25.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wheatyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was the worst hotel I had in Rome.
The attendants aren't nice at all, they only care for their business (pay attention: they will find every possible way to snatch some extra money from you); they also made me feel very unconfortable with my beeing a single-traveler, making difficulties for the keys of my room, for the hour in the night to return into, for the hour within which having breakfast etc.

But, mostly, the hotel is old, no lift for the customers, the reception is at the second floor and they don't move, don't help with your luggage! (and the rooms are even in the third and forth floor...).

The room... Well, you just cannot breathe if you don't use air conditionig: which is not included in the fee, so for it you MUST pay an extra price of... 10 euros! Even if you stay just for a night, that is the price you have to solve. Ridiculous.

Moreover: the bathroom has a shower so little you can't move in it.
The sheets in my bed had large brown spots: when I related it to the receptionist, he said it was impossible, and that has been all he did or said.about the disguise.

At night noise both from inside the hotel and from the roads (the city area isn't safe).

Before, he had said there were wi-fi connection in my room, but there wasn't; I told him, so then he said it actually could be out of service "at that moment" (a very long moment, as it seemed).

Will I speak about the breakfast?
For a 60 euro room per night I would have exspected at least to eat decorously. I had only a croissant (cold), a piece of bread, a little dose of butter and jam (you don't choose the flavour: it is already on the plate when you descend in the morning). To drink, half a cup of milk and no more. If you are hungry and ask something more, they say they don't have anything more. NO hygien (they ask you only which drink you prefer - tea coffee or milk -, but the food is already put on the table from 8 a.m. and kept there till 10 a.m., with no protection over it, so you can imagine in summer how many flies all over).

IN the end, the fee becomes really exaggerate for the service they offer.
Nasty both the hotel and the people who work in it. For that price there are many better options in Rome: I checked-out anticipately and moved to a more confortable (and cheaper) place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ambra_De_Templis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isle of Man , UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel Oriente for 3 nights from April 30 to May 2, 2011. We stayed during the May day long weekend which also happened to be popes beautification weekend. We paid 100Euros/night and have stayed at better hotels for the same price in Europe (Stayed for 100Euros/night in Switzerland and it was fantastic considering the cost of living of Switzerland)

First impressions of the hotel - scary. There is a name board before a huge wooden door which does not appear like a hotel. But there is a buzzer outside the door with the name - hotel oriente. We entered a bit shocked only to find a shoddy looking lift which required a key to operate. Finally we carried our heavy bags to the first floor and were greeted at the reception. The person at the reception took our passports and booking print out and offered to let us use the lift but told us it's only a welcome treat – lucky us ;)
The reception and the hotel area inside the building looked quite pleasant when compared to the building itself. The room was of good size but the look of the building still left us a bit shocked.


The second night when we came back to our room the towels weren’t changed; bed not made nor was our shower gel refilled. On asking reception, we were told that the towels would be changed only once and shower gel was complimentary just for day 1.

The room had an ac but costs an extra 10 euro per night. Our booking said the price was inclusive of taxes but when we checked out we were asked to pay extra and was told it was tourist tax. We paid it, a receipt was not offered automatically so we asked for one which seemed to annoy the guy a bit. We left our luggage in the reception on the last day and came back after a few hours; the guy at the desk was nice enough to let us use the rickety lift to carry our suitcase downstairs.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was included in our price but never have I had just a croissant and a piece of bread as breakfast in a hotel. The breakfast was pre-kept in our plate’s everyday - one croissant, 3 pieces of bread for two of us, a packet of rusk and coffee or tea. Highlight – coffee!

Conclusion:
Location – Great. Nearest station is Vittorio Emmanuel about 3 min from the hotel
Room – Ok. Good size
Service & Breakfast - Terrible
Hotel in general – Poor – Shabby entry, scary lift.

At 100 Euros / night it’s a 1.5/5 value for money!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capri_kra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Oriente, in Rome's China town, is fine if you know what to expect. A few floors of a very old apartment block have been made into a hotel : you can't use the lift so be prepared for a bit of a hike to reception, then more to your rooms. We were a school group, they sensibly put the boys one side of reception and everyone else on a different floor. Breakfast was basic, rolls, croissants, butter and jam. Rooms were like a student hostel. All three guys in reception were very helpful. It was fine for our purpose: would have been a bit gutted if I'd come for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in the Oriente in September for 3 nights to see the sights of ancient Rome! The place is fantastic, well worth a visit.

Our hotel experience was fine - nothing exceptional to report, other than the extremely friendly, multi lingual front of house. He was ever so friendly and gave us lots of good advice. Look out for the man with glasses 8-)

One thing I should point out - there is an old man who people keep mentioning on here. We saw him quite alot during our visit. He doesn't speak much English, smokes alot and seems quite grumpy. To be frank, we found alot of Italians to be like that! But the others are fantastic - friendly, welcoming, happy and kind. Depends what sort of day you catch them on :) but he did make us feel a little on edge.

Anyway, the room was clean and very cosy. But we didn't come for the hotel so it didn't matter to us.

I would suggest that visitors don't go for the breakfast as it is just coffee, a roll and a croissant which I find a bit of a rip off for a tenner!

You pay extra for the air conditioning, it is not included in the price of the room.

Also, beware that the elevator is not for guest use. So if you are on a high floor, enjoy the walk!

All in all, an ok stay at the Hotel Oriente. Just make sure you get your room for a good price otherwise I would say look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemanfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The building where the hotel is located is quite old, but the floors that belong to the hotel are recent. I think that they made a reshuffle recently because there were furniture in the halls and the ones in the room were new and quite different than the pictures showed at the Internet (Unfortunately I didn't took any photo). The rooms have TV, air conditioning and private bathroom (with hair dryer).

For breakfast there was a Croissant, toasts with jam, orange juice, milk, coffee or tea.

The staff was really nice and the hotel location was very good.

I absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank André M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#652 of 1,261 in Rome
425 reviews
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#781 of 1,261 in Rome
394 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,031 of 1,261 in Rome
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
#299 of 1,261 in Rome
870 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#372 of 1,261 in Rome
548 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#663 of 1,261 in Rome
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriente

Property: Hotel Oriente
Address: Via Dello Statuto 58, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oriente 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriente Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing