We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful hosts”
Review of Welcome House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welcome House
Ranked #870 of 3,693 Rome B&B and Inns
Northampton, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site. We were not dissapointed! A great location within walking distance to most of the tourist sites. The Coliseum is about 30 minutes walk, the Trevi Fountains and Spanish steps about the same distance.
The hotel shares it's entrance with some other hotels and apartments, and there is a small lift to the 4th and 5th floors where it is situated. We were welcomed by a very informative getleman who showed us around and explained how breakfast is served and the facilities of our room. The rooms have very high ceilings and are very homely. The beds were firm but comfortable and the air conditioning worked well which was a releif as it reached 37 degrees when we were there!
Breakfast rolls are left in a basket on your door every morning, and cornflakes, orange juice, tea and fresh coffee are available in the entrance hall.
Bear in mind that there is a small amount of tax to pay for each adult for each night you stay. It was only 2 Euros per adult per night.
The young lady on reception was delightful and spoke good English. I spoke to her before we arrived to arrange for a taxi to collect us from Fiumicino airport which was a fixed price of 60 Euros. She also helped me arrange sightseeing tours and suggested some good places to eat.
The only criticism I have is that the walls and ceilings are pretty thin, so if you have noisy guests in other rooms then this can bleed through, but this only happended a couple of times and usually when we were already up and getting ready to go out.
I loved the city and plan to go back. I will choose this hotel again as there are so many to choose from but this ticks all the boxes as far as location, service, value and cleanliness are concerned.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor which meant that we had some noise from the rooms above as they all h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome House, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.Our priority is everyday to satisfy our guests, we are glad you liked our concept,our staff and our room. We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    69
    11
    5
    9
See reviews for
46
86
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Location was ok, about a 15-25min walk to most attractions and very close to the Republica Metro Station. The room was quiet spacious, enough space for two large suitcases. Breakfast was in room every morning, not a great selection, but sufficient. The room was excellently cleaned, with new shower gel and soap provided daily.
The only negative for us was the hard bed and the fridge, which was hardly able to cool down a water bottle over night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraMelbourne3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I like this hotel, good location, friendly staffs, quiet rooms and clean daily. Everything is Ok, only breakfast. The typical Italian's breakfast mean only bread and drinks (coffee, tea, milks...) If you need more foods for your breakfast you should prepare by your self :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianghuong_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Friendly personal, good location, near Termini Station and Subway Station Republica, good position for other sites (Trevi, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Navona, etc).
The room was spacious (room no. 3), from window will see Via delle Quattro Fontane, clean, bathroom was also nice, but no window in the bathroom, just a small fan powered by a button; Weak wi-fi signal; good AC.
Breakfast was quite poor (same things everyday). A Despar supermarket is very close, you can buy things for your breakfast at good prices.
In our last day we left our luggage into a small room near the reception with no charge.
Worth for the price we payed (around 60 euros/night), definitely we'll love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Four of us stayed at the welcome house in one room it worked out about £40 a night that included a continental breakfast which was delivered to your to your room every morning the staff where very friendly and helpfully would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Hotels in Rome are generally very expensive. With 135,- Euro/night which we paid, it's one of the cheaper ones (had been in a the past to hotel next to the Termini for even a lower price, which was absolutly terrible). For this we have a perfect Location in Walk Range of most of the major attractions, city centre and Monti quarter. The room had been very nice and clean and the reception was very friendly and helpfull (not only on-site also in advance while having contact via email and changing booking)!
Also a supermarket and a bus stop are just a few meters away from the entrance. Also Metro and main station are just a few minutes walk. So I would say, definitely one of the best locations in central Rome you can get for this price.

Only the breakfast is ... italian ... You get Croissants and Bread attached to your door in the morning, have Marmelade, Nutella and Philadelphia inside your fridge and can fetch filter coffee, chocolade, milk and juice from the reception.
Some fruits, ham, cheese and eggs would have been nice, too. But a supermarket is just a few meters away from the hotel (great plus for this location) so you can fix this for yourself ;)

Also you should know that breakfast starts at 8am and reception is closing at 6pm. If you arrive later, you have to announce it in advance and pay an extra fee.

What else to know? WLAN is free but didn't work with my Android devices (the staff could help with a notebook) and the hotel is a bit hard to find (use entrance to Miami Hotel and take the elevator on the left side to the fifth floor - Domus Livia)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demokrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The staff is excellent. The primary hostess at the hotel is Rome's premier tour guide!! She gave wonderful recommendations and tips that made traveling and exploring the city easy and fun. She improved our Rome experience immeasurably.
The rooms are VERY clean and they provide the perfect little breakfast of breads, croissants, coffee and juice every morning. If you are planning on an early morning (leaving before 8am) they provide coffee, juice and pre-packaged snacks they night before so you have what you need for the next morning's breakfast.
The one tricky thing is finding the hotel. It is on the north side of the street between Napoli & Quattro Fontane. There is no exterior sign. Look for the Miami Hotel. Enter through the Miami Hotel entrance, turn left in the lobby area and go to the 5th floor. The door into the check-in desk is on the left as you exit the elevator or stairway. You must ring the bell for entry.
If you are a light sleeper the street noise may wake you, so bring ear-plugs. (This was a suggestion made by another guest and it paid off for me) However, the noise did not bother my husband.
Everything you will want to experience during your Rome stay is walkable from here. It is very near Termini Station, so if you take the Leonardo Express train from the airport (strongly recommended that you do!) It is an easy walk to and from the hotel.
If the important part of your travel experience is enjoying the city, while being secure in knowing that you will return each evening to a fresh, comfortable and welcoming hotel the Welcome House is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Dyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome House, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.Our priority is everyday to satisfy our guests, we are glad you liked our concept,our staff and our room. We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Seiler
Hotel Seiler
#817 of 1,264 in Rome
195 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#214 of 1,264 in Rome
953 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Livia Suites
Domus Livia Suites
#323 of 3,693 in Rome
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
New Morpheus Rooms
New Morpheus Rooms
#745 of 3,693 in Rome
375 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#182 of 3,693 in Rome
311 reviews
Monti
Cesare Balbo Inn
Cesare Balbo Inn
#418 of 3,693 in Rome
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome House

Property: Welcome House
Address: Via Nazionale 230, 98043 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #870 of 3,693 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welcome House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional location at moderate pricesThe Welcome House, located in a prestigious 19th century building in Via Nazionale, is situated in a strategic position in the historical center of Rome between the Colosseum and the famous Spanish Steps, just 400 meters off Termini Station. It offers low budget solutions for anyone looking for an exceptional location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Welcome House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing