We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Ranked #73 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We ended our trip in Rome and the lovely Arco dei Tolomei was the perfect finish. From nice breakfasts in the beautiful dining room, to great advice on our itinerary, and the home's proximity to Rome's major attractions and great restaurants, everything was wonderful. Marco (the owner) and Josline (the effervescent concierge/housekeeper) both had suggestions we wouldn't have otherwise known about and greatly enjoyed (a palace with an exquisite art collection and a fun Sunday market). And because their guest house is not a traditional hotel, you have the feeling that you are going "home" to a private residence, tucked into a residential corner of Rome. We loved it and so did our teenage daughters.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

The location is perfect for exploring Rome, and by staying here we felt that we were a part of the nearest neighborhood. The guest house was for us very special, both because of the nice rooms and the lovely breakfast, but also because our host gave us very useful advices for sightseeing, restaurants etc. We were a family of 5 staying here, and also our children felt that this was a special place to stay. We highly recommend this wonderful guest house.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at the Guesthouse Arco dei Tolomei. We took the train from Venice to Rome and taxi from the train station to be greeted by a cheerful and engaged woman by the name of Jolecine. She immediately met us at the door and escorted us to a large comfortable room with en suite bathroom. The temperature in Rome was hovering around 95 degrees so the comfort of the room was much appreciated. The guesthouse faces a small square of non-descript residences, but what an active neighborhood. This was our first visit to Rome so our sense of direction and place were challenged. However, at breakfast the next morning Marco, the owner, greeted us and gave wonderful suggestions on where and how to get to places. We soon realized that we were within walking distance of every major Roman ruin. The breakfast offered each morning included Marco's home made jam. Without question when we return to Rome Arco dei Tolomei will be our residence of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbarber726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Residenza Arco dei Tolomei is in the perfect location: away from the big hotels and tourist crowds, tucked away in an old neighborhood beside the river, within walking distance of most major sights and surrounded by great restaurants and pedestrian shopping. The best parts of the guest house are Marco, his family and their attentive staff. A delicious breakfast every morning and Marco's fantastic and thoughtful suggestions on sightseeing and eating in the area made for perfect exploration of Rome. The walkway along the Tiber is a block away if you like to walk or jog along the historic river. A perfect experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Charming, friendly, very helpful hosts and staff.
Pleasant room with balcony. Good breakfast.
Peaceful location outside the crowded, frenetic Centro Storico - but easy walking distance to it across the river.
We would have no hesitation in recommending to selected friends & acquaintances.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here June 2012 and it's a very nice B&B.. Marco and staff are very helpful and friendly and provided advice n sightseeing and restaurants in Rome. Located in old Rome this is walking distance from many sites including the Coloseum. The B&B is surrounded by many great Italian restaurants in all directions. Rooms were nice and clean with recently renovated clean bathroom. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

All of the rave reviews you have read on this page are accurate! The Arco dei Tolomei goes above and beyond, in all respects. My husband and I have travelled to Rome before, and have travelled a good deal in general in our 30 years together, and never have we stayed at a place where the hosts make you feel so at home! Marco and Gianna recommended bus routes (at one point going on the computer themselves to plot out our route to the Villa Borghese!), local restaurants, best times to visit busy galleries, and galleries we’d not been to before (Palazzo Spada, Galleria d’Arte Moderna) on our previous visits. They, and their lovely and kind staff were charming hosts, and we feel very lucky to have had this residence recommended to us by a friend. Rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts delicious, and the free wifi a decided amenity. Major sites of interest in the historic centre are just a short and lovely walk away. Book this guesthouse; you will be very happy that you did!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#267 of 1,271 in Rome
712 reviews
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte
Villa della Fonte
#524 of 1,271 in Rome
166 reviews
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#30 of 3,782 in Rome
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Trastevere
Little rHome Suites
Little rHome Suites
#136 of 3,782 in Rome
228 reviews
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#213 of 3,782 in Rome
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £83 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Residenza Arco dei Tolomei 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing