We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arco dei Tolomei forever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Ranked #55 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Arco dei Tolomei forever”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had some great days at this lovely Recidence in a great location! Our room - with view - had a little terrace overlooking the rooftops of Trastevere which is a relaxed area with plenty of restaurants in small narrow streets. It's a place with soul!!! Always friendly smiling Josline & so Marco - of course - who seems to be dedicated to every single guest. We really appreciated his recommendations & enjoyed small talking with him and other guests arround breakfast table (large breakfast menue).
We don't know when coming back to Rome - but at least we know where to stay!

Anders & Karin/Stockholm

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    151
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
191
506
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

It took me ages and lots of internet research before finally choosing Arco dei Tolomei. I am so glad that I did. Marco arranged a driver to pick us up and we were there before we knew it. It's in a quiet location but still in a central location for Trastevere which is one of my favouirte parts of Rome. The residence is beautiful, I don't think the photos on here capture the elegance and calmness. The room was beautiful with a little balcony overlooking some Roman rooftops and breakfast was great (home-made blackberry jam being my favourite) and home-made cake. My kind of breakfast!! Marco and his staff are very helpful and gracious hosts, even when we had to wake him up because of a slightly merry key issue!!! I would definitely stay here again, it made our girly weekend away a special one to remember

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Fantastic B&B loved the communal breakfast in the dining room and recommendations by Marco and the other guests. And so glad we stayed in Trastevere, you feel as soon as you have crossed the river you can relax and enjoy the many excellent restaurants, amazing bakeries and pretty cobbled streets. Will stay again as we have more sights to see...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I will never forget our stay at Residenza Arco dei Tolomei.
We loved the quiet Rome location.
We loved our beautiful breakfasts with the other guests, where we could share and compare sightseeing tips.
Marco - the owner- is so insightful- he helped us construct a GREAT off the beaten track view of Rome.
Marco's knowledgable sightseeing & restraunt suggestions were the real highlight.
THANK YOU Marco

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackdog918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

What a wonderful guest house, the rooms are charming, cosy and finished to a high standard. We were at the front and it could be a tad noisy however this was after 8.am and we had things planned most mornings,therefore this was not an issue, I believe the rooms at the back of the guest house are much quieter. The location is fabulous Trastevere is interesting, lively and a stones throw from most of the sights and monuments, we never once took the public transport and walked everywhere.

What makes Arco Dei Tolomei unique is Marco, offering advice on the things to do and see, booking recommended tours and places to eat, generally sharing his wealth of knowledge and ensuring that all his guests get the most out of their holiday in Rome. Breakfast in the dining room was perfect a selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurts, home made marmalades and very tasty cakes etc. I so enjoyed the company of the other guests listening to their experiences and tips which was very helpful. Last but not least is Jocelyn the house keeper who is charming always smiling and nothing is too much trouble, we were given wonderful service.

Thank You

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngMO2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I have always chosen to stay in Trastevere when in Rome, as it is walking distance to all the great sights and you are spoilt for choice when dining there. I stayed at Arco dei Tolomei for the first time a few weeks ago and I can highly recommend it. It is in a quieter neighborhood, close to the river- an excellent location. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished. A fabulous breakfast is served each morning in a gorgeous dining room, and it is over breakfast that Marco (the owner) delights in sharing his insight into Rome with you. He has a wealth of knowledge of wonderful ways to spend your day, and helps you plan your itinerary, if you so desire. We had been to Rome a few times before and had seen all the "main sights". Marco gave us suggestions for palaces and galleries that "blew us away"! He also has great local knowledge of excellent places to eat, and books ahead for you, so you dont miss out on a table. This is a definite bonus in such a popular area for dining. His suggestions were fanatsic! I have stayed in other hotels and B and B's in Trastevere, but will now always go back to Marco and Arco dei Tolomei, it is a true gem!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, HI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a nice-sized room off the dining room that had very comfortable beds and a modern, clean bathroom. It also had a hot water maker with an assortment of tea and coffee. We are 70 and 74, walk frequently at home, and had no trouble climbing the stairs. We did request assistance with our bags due to a back problem, and at check-in and departure our bags were carried up and down for us, which was greatly appreciated.
Marco is a kind, knowledgeable and charming host and was immediately available to us for restaurant recommendations, reservations and last minute reservations on Angel Tours to the Colosseum and the next day to the Vatican. We enjoyed interesting and helpful conversations with other guests and Marco at the large breakfast table each morning.
This B&B has a fabulous location within easy walking distance to most sights; for us, it was 25 minutes to the Vatican and about 15 minutes to the Colosseum by way of a pretty bridge over the river. It was such a relief to come back to a quiet neighborhood each night after being out among the crowds. We felt that we experienced an authentic slice of Roman life by staying at Arco dei Tolomei and are glad we stayed there where we received the personal touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkailuahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#523 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#19 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Trastevere
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Property: Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Residenza Arco dei Tolomei 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing