We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Rome retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Ranked #61 of 3,668 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect Rome retreat”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was the perfect place for our stay in Rome. My 2 teen aged daughters and I loved the location - walking distance to everything yet not in the touristy centre. It was great to be able to come back to Trastevere each night and feel like you were in a small neighbourhood. The hosts were wonderful and helpful. Marco helped book our Vatican Museum tickets, and recommended delicious local restaurants to try. He also helped me plan my drive to Tuscany, suggesting an off the beaten track route which was truly beautiful. I would definitely recommend Arco dei Tolomei to anyone travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parnac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    151
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
192
509
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a lovely place to stay! It was very clean, in a great location, felt very safe and the whole staff made us feel "at home" for the 3 nights we were there. Marco was there for the first day, was very helpful and advised he was going to be gone for the next days. He told us Joseline and her husband would help with anything we may need. They helped us make reservations and printed confirmations that we needed, as well as offered more tips. This was our first stop in Italy, and it was a great way to start our vacation. Initially our air conditioning wasn't functioning very well, so Joseline brought us a fan, and the next day, the air conditioning was fixed. Joselines breakfast was fabulous, and if you are lucky, you will get a smile from her darling daughter peeking around the corner at you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room right off the dining room. It accommodates 3 and was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Residenza Arco dei Tolomei was perfect for our stay in late August. It is in a great location and the breakfast was fantastic! Marco is just fantastic, he gave us a ton of great tips and things to see! I left my jewelry at Arco, and Marco was nice enough to send it to Positano where our next leg of the trip was. that is great customer service! We love Arco dei Tolomei!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Marco and his lovely wife Gianna run the ideal place to stay in Rome -- a perfect location (a short walk to the Tiber Island or the heart of Trastevere but on a quiet and safe street), engaged, knowledgeable, and warm hosts, impeccably clean and comfortable accommodations, a fine breakfast, and all at reasonable rates. My wife & I just returned from a wonderful week's stay and previously stayed there for 5 nights two years ago, so this is now our "home in Rome" and we highly recommend it an ideal tranquil spot to stay for your Roman holiday. Travelling is all about discovering the unexpected and having magical experiences, and Marco's suggestions will guide you to those special spots by the most interesting routes. No matter what your interests, the hosts and staff are sure to provide helpful ideas to enrich your stay and make your holiday memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constant_Discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our stay was in late July. First timers to Rome we were busy seeing the sites and involving ourselves in local culture. We loved that our accommodation was tucked away from the commercial precincts and chaos that be Europe in the high Summer. It was however central, we walked and used the 'Hop On Hop Off Bus, to commute. Residenza Arco dei Tolomei was homely, cool and quiet. We had a lovely little terrace to ourselves, the breakfasts were generous and were comfortable and safe. Marco was very helpful in every regard, from helping with our luggage, booking/advising tours, directions, restaurant recommendations, assisting with laundering and general caution/advice. We are thankful for the opportunity to experience a little more of the 'soul' of Rome with this stay.

Room Tip: Read the reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robe_Bendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When we visited for four nights in early August, Marco was away on holiday, as are many Romans at that time of year. So we did not get the chance to meet him and would have appreciated it if he told us he would not be there in one of the confirmation emails. We looked forward to meeting him after all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and chose the place hoping to get good local advice. So we were surprised when we found out he was not there.

The WIFI at this B&B was extremely slow and sluggish.The system clearly needs an upgrade. I could not use Skype on my phone to call home to the U.S. using their WIFI system while there. Internet searches were also frustrating. We expected better Internet for the nightly rate we paid. To be fair, we found poor WIFI in another B&B in the Lake Como area. However, when we stayed in a 3-star hotel in Venice we had a fast connection.

Joceline was by far the nicest thing about our stay. She helped carry our bags up the two flights of stairs to the B&B and was as sweet and helpful as can be when we had any questions or requests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcofe, Proprietario at Residenza Arco dei Tolomei, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
As the guest wrote we spent some few days out of Rome on the last August after a very long and busy spring and I'm always sorry not to be here in order to support and give good advice to our guest but me and my wife were really tired.
On the other side our housekeeper Joseline is always ready to help every guest with her beautiful smile and her suggestion as written in many other reviews.
I didn't think I had to communicate to all our guest when we are out of Rome or not as I hope the B&B has some other good reason why to be chosen.
About the WIFI I don't know in which room the guest was but always during the hot season (I don't know if it depends on the outside temperature) it works not properly but it depends on the telephone company.
In general I have to say that this review is too severe with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Bay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights in June. The city was crowded and temperatures in the 30's. What a relief it was to return to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei at the end of a busy days sightseeing.
Quiet and confortable accommodation in a lovely area close to good restaurants and walking distance to many of the popular attractions. It was suggested to us on arrival that we visit a few of the less known gems in Rome and it was this advice that made all the difference to our visit. Breakfast was always a very pleasant experience and a good opportunity to chat with other guests about their experiences from the previous day's sightseeing.
We strongly recommend this property to anyone planning a trip to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maree1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#484 of 1,258 in Rome
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#19 of 3,668 in Rome
802 reviews
Trastevere
A Trastevere da M.E.
A Trastevere da M.E.
#136 of 3,668 in Rome
190 reviews
Trastevere
Little rHome Suites
Little rHome Suites
#96 of 3,668 in Rome
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Property: Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 3,668 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Residenza Arco dei Tolomei 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing