We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome in 3 days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Ranked #57 of 3,644 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rome in 3 days”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Residenza Arco dei Tolomel is located in Trastevere, an area of Rome that is convenient to much of the city. The owners are very helpful and lovely people. It is difficult to find the first time as the entrance does not have signage. Owner was there to greet us when we arrived late and helped us with our luggage up the 3 flights of stairs. Rooms are very clean and filled with period furniture. There is a common area where there are lots of reference books for your time in Rome. Noisy at night with window open at all due to popular restaurant right behind. Several good restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the windows don't open to the restaurants behind hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyZeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    151
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
192
509
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here in March as part of a group of 8 friends visiting Rome for the first time (for most of us). The hotel was perfect for our needs; really well located in Trastevere which has lots of buzzy bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Marco had booked 2 restaurants for our group and they were both good and we would definitely revisit them. Josselin was a joy at breakfast and also helped with booking airport taxis. Everyone made us feel welcome and our whole trip ran smoothly from start to finish. We definitely plan to return to Rome and would love to stay here again. Thankyou Marco, Gianna and Josselin.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband, our dog Elsa and I visited this great guesthouse during our 4 months long "tour" around Italy and we couldn't have chosen a better place in Rome. This part of Trastevere feels really authentic and not overcrowded by tourists (like ourselves ;).
We can only confirm what others already have stated that breakfasts are great with nice company and good advices.
We would definitely come back and stay here for our 10th visit in the eternal city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynTro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My son and I had four days in Rome in March. It was his first time there so I wanted him to get the real feel of the city and not stay in an impersonal large hotel. Going on all the reviews I'd read, the Arco dei Tolomei seemed just the place. I was not disappointed as it certainly lived up to expectations. Our room was quiet and simple, the breakfast was brilliant and Marco was extremely helpful in working out an itinerary for the day which took in some of the more unusual less visited places. I wish we'd had longer there so that we could have followed all of his recommendations as the ones we did see were well worth it. Taking pot luck with restaurants doesn't always work but Marco's suggestions were always spot on. Breakfasts were great - chatting to other tourists as well as Marco. Josselin, who served our breakfasts and cooked some lovely cakes, was also a delight - very smiley and helpful.

Location is brilliant. Close to good-value restaurants with a lovely buzzy atmosphere and well placed for visits to the city centre. A very picturesque area and guesthouse. I hope to return before long.

Room Tip: Our room which faced inwards was quiet but had no balcony or outlook,.I would ask for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our first time in Rome and we feel fortunate that we chose the best place to stay. Marco, Gianna, and Rosso (the dog) were the perfect hosts who helped make our stay so enjoyable. If you’ve never been to Rome, have Marco arrange to have a driver pick you up from the airport. The driver was friendly, spoke English, and gave us the best orientation to the city. Arco dei Tolomei is a little hard to find, but very close to restaurants, the river, and transportation (although we walked everywhere). Breakfast was wonderful: Italian cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee cake, juices, cereal, breads, Italian coffee, tea and Marco’s delicious homemade marmalade. After eating we would often wait until 3:00 – 3:30 PM to eat lunch.
We loved staying in Trastevere; it was a great place to return to after a day of sightseeing and we ate most of our evening meals in this area. We loved visiting the piazza’s after dinner where residents gather to socialize. Marco was always willing to give advice, provide maps and directions, and offer an umbrella or electrical converter when needed. The home itself is lovely and clean. You can tell that Marco and Gianna take great pride in their B&B. We stayed for 6 nights; we would definitely come back if we return to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigander58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This B&B is a little hard to find at first, but then immediately feels like home. As the other reviewers note, spending breakfast with the hosts is not to be missed. I could have talked with Marco and eaten his homemade marmalade all day! From the old-fashioned comfort of the first floor with its beautiful breakfast room to our charming little terrace reached by wooden steps up from the bedroom, Arco dei Tolomei more than met our expectations. We were so happy we stayed in Trastavere--it is a true Roman neighborhood away from the traffic and noise of the hotel district, but literally just across the river, so we walked everywhere. And after each long day sightseeing, crossing the island bridge into Trastavere made us happy to be "home".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Don't get to breakfast too late at the Residenza Arco dei Tolomei - you could miss out on some fascinating conversation with Marco, the warm, very hospitable and highly knowledgeable host. Over a delicious breakfast (including his wonderful home-made jam), Marco took a great interest in how we, and his other guests, would like to spend our days, suggesting interesting places to visit other than the well-known attractions of Rome, and also had great recommendations for local restaurants. His wife, Gianna, and staff were lovely and welcoming too. It is this warm, personal touch, all too rare these days, which makes the guest house very special. It is clean and comfortable and Trastevere is a wonderful area. It has a great village atmosphere, good restaurants and is within easy walking distance of the centre of Rome. We very much enjoyed crossing the Tiber each morning and evening on our way to and from the sights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BechamelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#20 of 3,644 in Rome
798 reviews
Trastevere
A Trastevere da M.E.
A Trastevere da M.E.
#141 of 3,644 in Rome
187 reviews
Trastevere
IL BOOM - il bed 'n breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Arco dei Tolomei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Arco dei Tolomei

Property: Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Address: Via Dell'Arco De' Tolomei 27, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 3,644 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Residenza Arco dei Tolomei 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Arco dei Tolomei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Arco Dei Tolomei Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing