We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #20 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2011

After an overnight flight to Rome, we were greeted by Marco who welcomed us with open arms. We were able to get into our room before check-in time which was a welcome relief after the long flight. Marco gave us a map of Rome and highlighted all the places we wanted to see. Recommendations for good food were amazing and help with navigating the metro were extremely helpful. We felt like this was our home away from home, breakfast was yummy and Marco and Guiseppe were able to help get us reservations for the very booked Borghese Museum. We absolutely recommend Hotel Golden as a Welcome Home away from Home for all visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChurchLady309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,726)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Golden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,879 - 1,885 of 2,726 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed in Hotel Golden Rome in March 2011 as a young couple. The hotel is a family-owned hotel and we both loved the family atmosphere. Staff was *very* helpful and friendly, they gave us several recommendations which made our visit to Rome even more pleasant.

Location was good, you can get to public transport in 5 mins. from the hotel, or you can even walk to many places of interest. Our room was big enough and very clean. Breakfast was perfectly adequate.

We both enjoyed our stay very much. I can wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Golden Rome for anyone planning to visit Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Despite the grey skies and drizzle we were met by a cheery driver on arrival who was soon whisking us into the city. Despite a considerable language barrier (mainly due to our very poor Italian) he pointed out a few sights and before we knew it we were at the Hotel Golden. Now I've started with the driver because ultimately this illustrates perfectly what's special about this hotel. The attention to service and detail is quite a revelation in this age of high volume hotels filled with low-paid staff. It is without doubt this element that sets Hotel Golden apart from any other mid-priced (and possibly even upper priced) establishment in Rome. The owners and staff go to great lengths to ensure pre-arrival service is great as well during your stay. If there are two or more of you then the car service is a really great travel option from the airports, which are quite a distance from the city and would require a train journey followed by a mixture of metro/bus/walk/taxi depending on what you want to do.
A word on the location, it’s good for both walking the city and access to bus and metro, if you want to be in the centre of nightlife then a little closer to Campo di Fioro or Piazza Navona might better suit. However, if you want to retire to a slightly more genteel area at bedtime then the hotel is perfect. An eye wateringly expensive cocktail at Harry’s bar is a nice treat at the end of a long day and then you can fall into bed after a two minute walk. You can walk to the Coliseum in 30mins and the Vatican in 40mins. The hotel is very well located for getting to the Appian way which is about 7 stops from Barberini metro (Antica Appian or something like that) and then hop on the 660 bus straight off the metro. The bus turns around at the Appian Way and goes back to the Metro stop. So you can't really get lost. A trip out to the catacombs and Appian Way is a perfect antidote to the hustle and bustle of Rome as well. A final recommendation on stuff to do in the area is to go to the Cappucin Crypt located a few mins walk down the Via Veneto towards Piazza Barberini. It’s quite extraordinary and moving in a strange way.
So onto the hotel itself, its a small and discreet place and I’ve stayed in similar family run places in Florence and Venice. I'd highly recommend these sorts of small hotel as you get excellent value for money as well as great service. As with others of its kind, there is no flashy entrance or palatial reception. Although if you pay attention you'll notice the entrance to the building is quite grand in an understated way. Up a flight of stairs you find yourself in a small and tidy reception with the hotel rooms and breakfast area all on the same floor. We had room 103 which is a superior with cosy and tasteful decoration, enough space to swing a couple of cats if so wished, and a spotlessly clean bathroom. Our friends stayed in 104, which was perhaps not quite a nice as it has a more awkward shape, but more than adequate none the less. I suspect the standard rooms may be a little on the small side and would definitely recommend going for a superior if your budget allows. The double glazing in the rooms is first rate you can barely here any street noise. That said the sound proofing out to reception is poor and so there is disturbance from general conversations or guests arriving / leaving. I don't think there is anything that the hotel could do about this given its size, so I would merely say to light sleepers you should bring some ear-plugs otherwise you might be woken by people departing early with the dragging of cases down the corridor or check out chatter.
Breakfast is in a little room off the main corridor and it can be quite busy or cramped, we had to wait a few minutes one morning for a table to become free. Not such a big deal, but of you are a family of four there are no tables that take more than 3 people, we found families had to take two tables which meant it could be a little busy at times. The food however, is lovely with so many delicious cakes and pastries supplemented by juice, meats, cheese, cereal, eggs you name it. The omelette in particular is delicious as are the cake - a veritable feast by!
Finally a few words about the main reason to stay at this hotel above all else - the family who run it. A harder working, helpful and friendly set of people must surely be hard to find in Rome. They gave great advice and guidance about travel, restaurants, how to get from A to B etc that our short stay in the city was perfect. I didn't really appreciate this until our last evening when we were chatting to a fellow traveller in a bar off Piazza Navona who had just paid 115 euro for two main courses and a couple of drinks for two people. We had been sent to fabulous trattoria full of Iocals where people were waiting in the street for tables. We paid less than 100 euro for 4 people for delicious food and great wine and hadn't really appreciated until that point what great advice the hotel had shared with us and how helpful they had been in a very unflashy way. So the hotel is clean, in a good location and well priced, but above all else it is run by gracious and helpful people and that's the main reason to stay there above anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Golden. Guiseppe and his family were friendly and helpful from the beginning.

Hotel Golden is situated in a great area, a block away from Via Vittorio Veneto, a major street with lots of shops, restaurants, and outdoor cafes to choose from. Whichever family member is at the front desk will be happy to recommend a good spot for you.

PROS: Free WIFI in room, Complementary Breakfast, Friendly Staff, Secure & Quiet Accommodations

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

First time writing a review for Tripadvisor, that's what a good experience staying at this hotel was! Giuseppe and Marco were incredibly helpful and friendly, with great recommendations for restaurants and places to go (as well as good directions--we only got in trouble when we didn't follow them). The family was traveling to meet up with my sister studying in London, and they were able to coordinate helping us with taxis from the airport for both flights no problem. We stayed in the family suite on the second floor. It was very quiet and roomy, even the bathroom! An enjoyable breakfast is provided in the morning, with treats like chocolate croissants but also good healthy staples like eggs and yogurt. We have stayed in "four star" type hotels like Hilton before, and I felt far more comfortable and welcome at Hotel Golden.

The location is very nice as well. Rome can be a little bit like running the gauntlet at times, noisy and crowded and a bit non stop when you are hitting the more touristy areas. Hotel Golden provides a spot of oasis, located just off Via Veneto right by the Borghese park--quiet and calm, yet still a close walk to attractions like the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps and the Barberini metro stop. If you are running late there are taxis that tend to queue just around the corner as well. There were great restaurants around the area, and we stopped in at Lotti almost every night for some gelato.

I can't say enough good about this hotel, it was a great place to stay and we would definitely return! Thanks to everyone at Hotel Golden!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarisima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Excellent for the price paid. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. The room wasn't too big, but that's the way it is in old buildings and even older cities.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raccoonalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed in Hotel Golden from February 8th until February 15th. We knew we'd be arriving late and had said this when booking the hotel - there was no issue.

We took a taxi from Spagna metro station after getting lost - we should have read the instructions received from the hotel instructing us to get off at Barberini, only two stops away from Rome Termini. It's a 10 minute walk from Barberini, all uphill but at a gentle enough incline through Via Veneto - a throwback to Il Dolce Vita and you can still see the 5* hotels on the road along with the US Embassy.

Checkin was hassle free, Marco provided a map, showed us the area, recommended routes to walk and places to visit and showed us the nearest convenience store. The room was 103 which was right next to the check in desk, it was a superior Twin, an upgrade from the Classic that we booked. The internet was fast, the room was spotless, the bathroom was large and clean. The A/C is really a heater, so if you want to cool your room down you've got to open the windows - perfect thing to do in February, nice 10C air cools it down fast!

The family that run the hotel are all very nice and friendly, especially Marco and Guiseppe who were only too happy to assist us with booking for Villa Borghese, ordering a taxi for the return to Termini etc. They both spoke flawless English, while we spoke very little Italian so they were a real help.

The breakfast is the typical continental fare, but definitely adequete though we didn't avail of it much ourselves, preferring to eat on the go. Speaking about 'the go', 45 minutes walking or less will get to you the Colosseum or the Vatican. 10 minutes to the Metro, 7 minutes to the bus 63 that'll take you to Travestere, 15 minutes to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps or the Galleria Borghese. 20-25 to the Pantheon and that area. It's a prime hotel location.

This is a hotel that cares for it's guests - I left my room after 12pm on some days having heard cleaning going on about 9/10am and still found it had been tidied upon my return. It was really unexpected and really made me feel like a valued guest, one they aimed to please.

Top this all off with a lovely post-trip email making sure I'm doing well and asking me to write a review here on Tripadvisor if it wasn't too much trouble - something I'm clearly only too happy to do after all they did for me!

If I ever land in Rome again, this is where I'd like to stay! Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,807 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,267 in Rome
926 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#76 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £55 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing