We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hotel Golden was our favorite hotel during our 2 1/2 week trip through Italy. We were a mother/daughter team, and Rome was the first city on our trip. Thanks to the Loria family (hotel owners) they answered all of our questions on how to get around Rome using the bus, metro, how to get tickets, and most of all where to get the best gelato in all of Rome! The hotel only has 12 rooms, adding to a cozy feeling. Everything was neat and clean, and the area was very quiet allowing for great sleeping at night. We heard many tourists staying at other hotels complaining about lack of sleep due to noisy streets, so we truly appreciated ours.

Room Tip: Small, but clean and efficient. Our room had no view. The windows had outdoor shutters that angled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treberb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,819 - 1,825 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

I thought about NOT posting a review purely because others will find out about this familiy run hotel. Our recent trip also took in also Naples, Florence and Venice where we stayed in similar priced accomodation. Nothing came close.
I selected the Golden purely on the positive comments after my original booking at another hotel was cancelled. I am so pleased it was.
Room, food, friendliness, the familiy couldn't do more for us.. 10 out of 10
We're saving to go back now.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hotel Golden is in a beautiful, safe, location within walking distance of many of Rome's attractions and close to several lovely restaurants. It is almost impossible to get lost because you can always find the Borgese Gardens on your map and they are just below one of the gates. Run by a family, Hotel Golden provides the utmost in professional care and attention to detail. They help you with maps, find taxi's, give good tips on restaurants, and are never out of sorts. The price is certainly good and the breakfast is outstanding. Nice and quiet at night, and cool in Rome's July heat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vestpocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed a week in this incredibly clean, small family run hotel in a historical mansion. Breakfast was included and English spoken. All requests both before and during our stay were answered in detail, including a driver to pick us up at the airport, maps and great directions to all of the sights. We dined on wonderful local food in their recommended family restaurants and followed breezy shaded paths and rode buses through Rome while the crowds milled in the 80-90 degree weather just a block away.

Located in a quiet street near to buses and taxi stands with local bakery/gelato and restaraunts on one side and part of the Borghese garden on the other.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yakity_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We would stay here again without a second thought. This family run hotel was lovely and the family so accomidating. A nice quite place to stay in the heart of Rome. Great breakfast and coffee. Walking distance to historical sites and Via Veneto. A truely wonderful family run hotel with a great staff!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensager8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was the perfect set-up for a family. Like a little apartment, the kids had a spacious room and the parents had great room of our own. There was a nice dinning area for spreading out our daily maps, snacks and activities. Above all else, it was immaculately clean! The staff was wonderful and very helpful. A great way to stay when in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mweis1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Giuseppe and the entire Loria family welcomes you with the most sincere hospitality. From the extensive and filling breakfast buffet which mama Loria oversees to the exceedingly tidy, neat and clean rooms. Since this is a family run hotel there is a serious pride of place and commitment to the guests that you don't find in larger hotels where the employees are treated badly and pass it along to the guests.

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel Golden for just under a week this past June and had a terrific experience. She arrived a few days before me and they took such good care of her - they even emailed me to let me know she had arrived and was in good hands. They were so helpful even before we left the US from making reservations at the Galleria Borghese to organizing our separate pick ups at the airport.

The hotel itself is modest - the rooms are small and there is not bar or restaurant but this does not matter as the location is near the via Veneto and close to the Villa Borghese park and though in a quiet area of the city it is near numerous wonderful restaurants and close to buses and subways and several museums.

Overall we felt comfortable as two female travelers and that the family was so sincere and authentic. This is not a flashy, boutique hotel but rather a solid family run business and we will plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer-projects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,861 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,376 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#7 of 1,269 in Rome
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#17 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Nozio Netplan srl so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing