We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time there”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2nd time there”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

this is our second time to Hotel Golden and just as good as before. family owned and run. very helpful, and friendly, speak English very well. very good location with easy access to the metro, 5 min walk adn easy walk to many many attracions.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duckmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,005
    541
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
832
1,164
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Hotel Golden's staff (all family members) were extremely welcoming and helpful. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean, although the toilet was crammed practically on top of the shower. Very minor drawback. The breakfasts were the best we had during our B&B trip through Italy with plenty of options for carnivores, omnivores, and vegans. The only complaint we had--while the hotel is in a lovely, ritzy area, it's not close to any decent restaurants for average travelers, and it's quite far from most of the major sites. The nearest Metro stop is also quite a jaunt away. Most of the surrounding restaurants were way out of our price range, or just felt cold and bland, but we found a decent grocery store and wine store close by to supplement our meals in the room. The Pantheon and Spanish Steps are probably the closest landmarks and they required a ~15-20 minute walk up and down some good hills. Just wish this wonderful hotel were a bit more convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

great little hotel in good location for all the sights, everything in walking distance Family run and very helpful, from arranging airport pick up and drop off to recomending restaurants.nothing too much trouble. Breakfast choice was good and enough to keep us going till late afternoon. Room was small but enough for amount of time spent in room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jark68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed with family on short 3 nights trip.It is definite good value for money.Location is great-10 min walking to Spanish Steps-and Trevi fountain. Room was clean.Very helpful stuff.Breakfast was good,only thing ,the breakfast room is tiny.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My mother and I stayed at this hotel in September. It was still very hot in Italy and the AC worked nicely. Our room was actually quite spacious for Rome hotels (I have been too many) and it was clean. Internet was great and skype worked well and it was free. Breakfast was good with more than a croissant for choice.
Really liked Guiseppe who organized transport, a great restaurant (only Italians ate there except us). Staff were very friendly.

As long as you stay away from the expensive restaurants on Via Veneto its a nice location. Its a hoot to walk by Harry's Bar anyway. We did pick up the bus tour for my mom down a few blocks and that worked out as she had not been to Rome.

I have to go Rome again this yr and plan to rebook at Hotel Golden and its genuine, clean, reasonable, good wifi and very very helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Pros
-Great location: easy walk to all of the attractions, but in a quiet enough spot that you don't feel like you are in a swarm of tourists when you walk out the door. Ideal if you have been to Rome before and want to stay in a slightly different location that is still close to the "action"
-Friendly ownership/staff: gave good restaurant recommendations, helpful with booking taxis, etc.
-Good size room and bathroom, considering you are in Europe
-Well functioning WiFi connection in the room

Cons
-Bed a bit uncomfortable
-Breakfast nothing special
-Hotel told us airport transfer was Euro 40 but driver demanded 42. Not sure if it was the hotel or driver's mistake, but annoying anyway

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobR947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The Hotel Golden Rome is truly a wonderul find in Rome. The rooms are a nice size, the beds comfortable and immaculate and the breakfast was fantastic. The hotel is small, only 17 rooms, located near the Villa Borghese, American Embassy and the Via Veneto. It is located within walking distance of many of the most popular tourist attractions in Rome or if necessary it is very close to the subway. This is a family owned establishment and once you are there you are part of the family. They had many recommendations for meals and snacks which were all excellent choices and they all extremely helpful with directions and suggestions for things to see. If you travel to Rome this is a must stay hotel. I know we will be back, I hope soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Letty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,092 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,256 in Rome
1,128 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,256 in Rome
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#121 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing