We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holten Golden perfecto!”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a wonderful 3 nights at the Hotel GOlden. Guiseppe & family treated us as if we were family. They gave us wonderful family owned restaurant suggestions which is exactly what we wanted, they helped us book wonderful tours, the entire experience was perfect. We will be back and highly recomend them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnetteO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,690 - 1,696 of 2,768 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in mid-May in Rome and selected the Hotel Golden for our 3 night stay. We were most impressed by the family who manages the hotel! They were super kind and since it was our first stay, they provided us with a map of Rome and the best routes to travel so we could see everything we needed. They also provided us with a few restaurant recommendations-We only took one of them, but it was indeed delicious! Breakfast was yummy-Certainly enough food but the breakfast room was a bit crowded. The room itself was very spacious (we selected the superior room)--Very comfortable! The bathroom was nice and big too! In terms of location, Hotel Golden was exactly where we needed to be. We didn't want to stay right in the middle of the city because of noise, but we were close enough to be able to walk to everything. We would definitely go back and stay with them again! The nicest family we met on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Hotel Golden was a fantastic hotel for us - very good value for money and a convenient location for visiting the Galleria Borghese. Good access to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. Best of all, it was clean and very good value for money. THe family was so nice to us and gave us really good recommendations for food etc. The airport transfer is good value!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lusheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Golden for 2 nights. The room was large and very clean. The decor was charming and the family that owns this hotel is very attentive. Not only is this hotel in a great location, but we felt very safe in this area as well as in the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here as a family for 3 nights in June. Giuseppe and Marco gave us very good tips about what to do during our stay and especially where to eat! The hotel was clean and our family room was ample space even with a teenager. What impressed us most was how welcoming and friendly the family were. We would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Golden for 6 nights in May, and I returned alone after some solo traveling at the beginning of June, for 2 nights. This is a remarkable place, run by the nicest family I met on my travels. Every time I walked in the door, I was welcomed warmly, and after my solo travels for 2 weeks, I was greeted with "welcome home," and that is exactly how it felt. The breakfast was delicious every morning, and most importantly, the room was quiet every night; which was not my experience in other cities. I received excellent directions and suggestions of sites I might not have visited otherwise. I hope to stay here again. What a delightful experience - my favorite place to stay in 5 weeks of travel!

Room Tip: We started with a double room, I moved to a single room when I started my travels, and after returni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenheather3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife, myself and a friend stayed here in late May. We had booked on line and had a double and a single room. Both rooms were very good, welll appointed. clean and comfortable..

The general feel of this small, family run hotel is warm and friendly. We were given good advice about our stay and they recommended restaurants that were close to the hotel, these lived up to expectations and saved us time and trouble finding somewhere on a "pot luck" basis (especially valuable when arriving in a new City after tiring travel).

The only slight qualification is that the beakfast area is rather cramped, but this didn't detract and is a minor detail.

Overall an excellent stay in a small, well run, friendly hotel which is conveniently located. To be highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank AggiBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,863 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#7 of 1,269 in Rome
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#15 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing