We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Room at Great Rate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Room at Great Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just finishing a four night stay, 2 teenagers 18 and 16, four people total. Not an easy task to find a large almost king bed and 2 single beds in a major city and not pay a fortune. But we did here. Great air conditioning, really cold even as temps are 93F during the day. The 2 singles are high end sofa chairs that pull out into single beds. They have flexible wooden slats that support the mattress instead of wire springs. Very comfortable as compared to an American style pull out couch. You can read about all the other good stuff in the other posts. I searched hard for the family room. They also have larger rooms at higher prices, but the 3 beded room fit into our budget!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    531
    54
    20
    7
See reviews for
802
1,119
147
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

From the time I made my booking by email Marco and his family made my stay at their hotel a pleasure.My room was clean and comfortable and had lots of storage the air con was much appreciated as Rome was very hot during my stay i also made use of the well stocked mini bar for cold drinks. Everyone is helpful and looked after my bookings for tours and also shared information about the area where to eat etc. Breakfast was plentiful and I enjoyed Moms omeletes.the location is perfect easy walk to Metro and bus and just across from Borghese park. I would certainly reccomend this hotel to all travellers very reasonably priced this is a small hotel but one of the best.When visiting Rome this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowdy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

What can I add about Hotel Golden that isn't covered by all the great reviews? Clean, comfortable rooms, a safe quiet neighborhood not far from the city center, delicious breakfast, but most of all a friendly family run business that makes all the difference to first time visitors to Rome like ourselves. The entire Loria family and especially Giuseppe were so welcoming and helpful, offering advice and recommendations for restaurants and activities. It was very helpful to my wife and I, especially traveling with an 8 and 9 yr old. One morning we had a problem coordinating a time for a Vatican tour we were taking (turned out to be all our fault). Giuseppe got right on the phone and contacted the tour company for us, explained the problem (in Italian), and before you know it, it was all straightened out. You can't put a price on service like that. We will definitely return to Hotel Golden on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanagerLexington_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Giuseppe, his mom, his dad, his sister and the rest of the staff made our stay comfortable and pleasant. Everyone on staff is friendly and helpful. We communicated with Giuseppe over e-mail to make reservations and arrange transport from the airport. He was very responsive, and everything went as planned. When we pulled up to the hotel, I was concerned. The building was small, and the entry was unimpressive. As soon as Giuseppe came down from the 2nd-floor lobby to greet us, my concerns began to disappear. He knew we had to be tired and got us settled in quickly. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious; the minibars were well-stocked. The WiFi worked! We enjoyed breakfast each morning in the small dining room.
Giuseppe and his family helped us identify a wonderful guide (Paola Bargiglo). Hotel Golden is well-located--a short walk from several sites and a short cab ride from others. Ask Giuseppe for restaurant recommendations; you'll be happy you did.

If you're looking for a 5-star hotel with 500 thread-count linens, turn-down service and a bunch of amenities you won't use, look elsewhere. But, if you want to feel like you're in Italy and enjoy some wonderful, local hospitality, then Hotel Golden is for you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This second generation family owned Hotel was just what we wanted when we came to Rome. Smaller rooms but yet plenty of room for 3 ladies. Very helpful with locations, very clean, comfortable and air-conditioned. Mama fixes a great breakfast every morning. After our visit to the Tuscany region, we will again be staying at Hotel Golden. We would recommend this Hotel to everyone. Marco and his family made us feel like family. In the future, when visiting Rome, we will be staying at Hotel Golden, "our new family". Very enjoyable!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggibson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I loved this small hotel located on the first floor of a building just accross the Borghese park where it is great to be during the heat wave we had during the 4 days we stayed in Rome.
The large size room we had was immaculate with a very nice bathroom.
The breakfast was fantastic. We will not even complain about the size of that breakfast room as it was never overcrowded.
The management of this family run hotel is really great and they really do the maximum for you to have a great time giving you all the possible information you need when coming to Rome as a tourist : nearby attractions, best restaurants in the area, reservations of museums, public transport information.
For sure the hotel to be in Rome at a reasonable price.
Do not hesitate !!

Room Tip: the superior room which is larger is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This family-owned small hotel can't be beat in terms of location and value. It is a very short walk from the Villa Borghese if you want some time away from the crowds, many good restaurants on Via Veneto, and about a 10 minute walk from the nearest Metro station. The breakfast each morning was very good. The family who owns the hotel also is the staff as well, so you know that you can trust them to give you terrific advice about where to eat or how to arrange transportation. The size of the room was a little larger than other hotels at which we stayed in Italy that were in the same price range. The shower was also larger than usual. We would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZabierekR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#14 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#79 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing