We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most welcoming hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We arrived at Hotel Golden in the early morning, feeling jet lagged, after a sleepless overnight flight from Singapore. We were surprised and very pleased to be offered immediate checkin even though the only room available that early was an upgrade from the room we had paid for. We were also given free breakfast that morning, so we had five free (substantial) breakfasts during our four night stay. We found the location of the hotel to be ideal, just around the corner from the top of the Via Veneto, so about 10 minutes walk from the Chiesa de Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini (the church with the bones) and also the Piazza Barberini, which is a stop for the hop on/hop off buses.
But best of all was the friendliness and helpfulness of the family who run this small hotel. It felt almost like staying with old friends, though we had never stayed there before. We would certainly stay there again if we go back to Rome, and have recommended the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: The 'General's Room' has shutters which open up onto a view of a bust of a Roman general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,983
    536
    56
    20
    7
See reviews for
820
1,152
156
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was a great family run hotel. Breakfast was included and amazing and kept us going all day. The family running the hotel were very helpful in every way. They arranged for our pick-up at the airport and then transfer to the pier for our cruise.
We are going back to Rome, Italy this fall and staying there again!!!

Room Tip: They had a total of 18 rooms and each one was a little different, ranging from a smaller queen bed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Second time at this lovely hotel, everyone is really helpful and friendly making you feel really welcome. The hotel is in a good position, easy to walk to several of the popular sights and with some good restaurants close by. Room was small but spotlessly clean and excellent air conditioning, really important in Rome in mid summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My father and I traveled to Rome for our first time in June 2012. Choosing a hotel to kick off our trip was quite the chore! After reading many reviews of different hotels on TripAdvisor, we landed on Hotel Golden and could not have been happier! From my initial inquiry email to check out on our last day, Marco, Giuseppe and family did a phenomenal job of meeting and exceeding our every need! They not only provided a comfortable and hospitable environment while on property, but gave us fantastic restaurant recommendations and very useful travel tips for public transportation etc. The location is fantastic - walking distance to Trevi, the Spanish Steps and the Metro stop to Termini. Dad and I enjoy walking and made the 30-40 minute walk to the Colosseum and a 45 minute walk back from the Vatican. Walking is truly the best way to see the city so don't waste your money on an overpriced cab ride! The overall value of this hotel is hard to beat and since I threw my coin into the Trevi Fountain, I know I will stay at the Golden on my next trip to Rome! Thank you again for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but very well appointed. And really, all you should be doing is sleeping there anyh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My friend Rachel and I had the privilege of staying at this lovely establishment a few weeks ago, when we traveled to Rome. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. A kind, wonderful family owns it, and, completely friendly and helpful, they make you feel welcome and at home. The concierge furnishes you with a map and takes pleasure in answering any questions you may have or guiding you to the places you wish to see.

The breakfast is a beautiful, and very complete, array of continental goodies like cheese and rolls or fruit and fresh chocolate croissants. The rooms are clean, pretty, and comfortable. The hotel is situated very, very well, in the classy, high-end Via Veneto area, without being part of the mad, over-priced tourist rush of that main street. Hotel Golden's on a quiet street that affords the visitor privacy while allowing him or her to very easily walk to Via Veneto, the train station (10 minutes or so--which easily leads one to the Vatican, Forum, or Colosseum, etc.), the Spanish steps, the Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, among any other of Rome's treasures you would like to visit. It is a mere block away from the Villa Borghese gardens--Rome's older, better version of Central Park--and they offer the perfect respite from the crowds or the heat or the bustle of the city.

I had great conversations with the three generations of the family and the other guests, and I truly enjoyed my stay. It's really nice to be able to stay in a place that is at once small and elegant but well-placed yet private, where you really comprehend that a family puts all of its time and effort and attention into making sure this hotel meets up to its name.

That makes all the difference; you really get the sense they genuinely care about the place and the people they house and meet here and about making everyone feel good about their visit to their beloved hotel and city. So, "when in Rome," stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieIlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Having visited Rome previously some twenty years ago I have been only too familiar with the variable standard of budget hotel that one can find in the city. Hotel Golden however is a gem: a small family-run business on the first floor (small lift available) of a typical Rome apartment block. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff and accomodation is both comfortable and clean. Sure, the air-conditioned room we were in may have been "compact", but you don't come to Rome to sit in your hotel room. Complimentary Wi-Fi and terrestrial TV is included and Satellite TV is available on a pay-per-view basis. Our split level ensuite bathroom might have been a bit of a challenge for some, particularly with its high entrance step, but I suspect other bedrooms are differently designed and equipped. The breakfast selection suited us down to the ground. And although the dining area is very small this is a minor inconvenience in the context of everything else. We wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel Golden is a delightful little family-run hotel close to Villa Borghese and within walking distance of major sights like Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The Loria family provides excellent, attentive and personalized service. Our room was small but adequate for a family of four, clean, comfortable, and had a spacious bathroom. Giuseppe and Marco were very helpful with info and directions for places we wanted to visit. Very good breakfast, probably the best we had during our 2-week trip to Italy. Since we are vegetarians, they made it a point to give us eggs separate from the bacon. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#15 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#89 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing