We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel off the beaten path!”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our first visit to Rome, and we found this hotel on Trip Advisor. This family-run hotel is a wonderful hidden gem. It is located near the US Embassy and is 2 blocks away from taxi stands and the Villa Borghese. The owners gave us great advise on how to navigate the city, and great locations where to eat and visit. The best part of the hotel is the staff: it is truly a family-run operation. The brothers and father run the front desk at all hours, while the mother and sister cook a wonderful and filling breakfast in the morning. We could not ask for more.

The staff is truly multi-lingual, and genuine in their demeanor. My mother, daughter and I were truly impressed with the service. We truly felt at home in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 2,832 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Even my wife, who ALWAYS asks for the Hilton, was pleased with the Hotel Golden. It is a clean, quiet, well-run hotel with maybe a dozen rooms. (I'm guessing on that number, but as I never saw more than one other guest at the front desk, I think I'm close on that.) As a result, you feel like a real "guest" in a family's house, which I think it is. As in most parts of the world outside the USA, the floors are tile rather than carpeted, but that's OK. The bed was firm but comfortable.The neighborhood is safe, with 2 great Italian restaurants within 100 yards. The hotel is practically across the street from the Villa Borghese (sort of the "Golden Gate Park" of Rome.)

What everyone else has said is true - this is a family-run hotel and they take care of you. One of the sons actually lent me 20 Euros as he had called a cab for me before I realized I needed to go to an ATM first!

When we return to Rome - and it is said that one always returns to Rome - we will again stay at the Hotel Golden.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanticoYcheapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My family of 5 Stayed here in July 2012, what a warm and friendly family that run the hotel. The family room had two bedrooms and was very spacious. The breakfasts were great and overall service was fantastic!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossco1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from Italy and while in Rome stayed 2 nights at Hotel Golden. It is a family run hotel in what felt to be a safe neighborhood within walking distance of several popular sight seeing spots. The family went above and beyond to help with any of our requests, ranging from help with directions, making dinner reservations, and arranging a private car to the airport. They were extremely patient and helpful with my numerous questions!! The breakfast was very nice as well. One huge plus for us was the excellent WiFi that was available that made connecting with our children back home easy and also the good air conditioning; a rarity we found in our travels! We booked the double room and although a tad cramped with our amount of luggage it was very comfortable and kept extremely clean and tidy. We will definitely book again on our next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodyedsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a family run hotel that makes you feel like family. They take care of you from the moment you arrive. It's also very handy to the tourist area. We walked to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaTGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Our family of four just returned from Italy and stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Golden. This a family-run hotel in a lovely part of Rome, near Villa Borghese, the US Embassy and Via Veneto area. We felt safe in this area, and were in short walking distance of the Spanish Steps, Pantheon and about were about a 40 min walk to the Colosseum. We stayed in the family suite, which was very large, with a king bed in one room and 2 singles in another (a perfect set-up for a traveling family). The hotel was very clean, had very good air conditioning, and the breakfast had a wide range of cereals, pastries, fruit, meats, cheeses, and a few hot items. What really sets this hotel apart, is the family that runs it. All email inquiries were returned promptly prior to our arrival and answered fully. While we were there, restaurants were recommended, information about the area and maps were provided, and one or more members of the family were available at all hours. Giuseppe was absolutely wonderful and attended to all our needs and questions. He even walked us out to our taxi on departure and stood on the corner to wave goodbye. All of the family was lovely, including Mamma Teresa who prepared the breakfast each morning with care. We truly felt like we were staying with family and appreciated our interaction with them as another true part of our Rome experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We booked a double superior room which was very spacious and had a nice sized bathroom. The wifi was good and there were a few English channels on TV. A nice breakfast is included. The staff are very helpful and make you feel at home. The hotel is in a good location, close to the metro, buses and the tourist bus. You can walk to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. There is a laundromat about a 10 minute walk away, ask and they will explain where it is. You can do your own laundry or pay 11 euro to leave it with the laundromat and they will wash, dry and fold it. The hotel is in an upmarket area which feels very safe. Overall we had a great stay and I would look past this hotel when finding somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EzzOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#11 of 1,270 in Rome
427 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,270 in Rome
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Relais 6
#37 of 1,270 in Rome
1,919 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,270 in Rome
4,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#36 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing