We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Rome and Hotel Golden again”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back in Rome and Hotel Golden again”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have written our 2 previous reviews of stays at Hotel Golden - this time my husband has written it, without being prompted or asked by myself and this is his review:
" We have just returned from our third visit to Rome in twenty one months and on each visit we have stayed at Hotel Golden. The Hotel has become our second home and the owners have become our good friends, we could not imagine returning to Rome again and not staying at Hotel Golden.
The family run Hotel is very well presented and comfortable; tastefully decorated and clean; and well located to reach the majority of central Rome with ease, mostly on foot, which is our preferred way to see and experience Rome. The extensive bus and metro networks run very close to the hotel and give an excellent alternative to walking and provide good links to the suburbs and beyond.
The welcoming, pleasant and relaxed atmosphere in the Hotel is created by the “front of house” presence of the Family - Mamma Teresa, Papa Mario, Giuseppe and Marco and Maria, and their small team of staff, in fact it feels like you are staying in their home and yet at the same time a valued and special hotel guest. They are professional, friendly, attentive, proud, and maintain such high standards. There is a 2012 Trip Advisor Award displayed at the reception desk which is richly deserved and endorses all of the great experiences we have when we stay at the Hotel. Each time we leave the Hotel to return to Wales, we ask ourselves how soon will it be until we return to Hotel Golden and Rome, we intend for it to be soon."

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    542
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
833
1,171
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Located in a lovely, lively section of Rome, this hotel has it all: excellent service, clean and comfortable room, great breakfast buffet and a very friendly family feel. You will not be disappointed. We will certainly try to stay there on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssm861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

After reading many raving reviews we did choose this hotel for a 4 night stay in Rome. All i can say is that we don't trust the Tripadvisor reviews anymore and we were disappointed with the hotel.
The hotel is a 2 star hotel and nothing more. Located on the 2nd floor it has a shared entrance (so no lobby). Its very small just like many other roman or parisian hotels, so nothing wrong with that (its a 2 star hotel). The room we had was very small, the bed rather short for anyone tallet then 1.85, and bathroom had a toilet almost touching the shower cabin. It was not possible to sit normally on the toilet. But ok small room/2 star hotel... The room was very noisy... we could even hear the frontdoor downstairs opening, and the reception desk was right in front of our door and till 23.00 or even later at night we heard people talking loudly especially on saturday night. The bed and blankets are not the most comfortable plus i had troubles with my house dust mite allergy from the bed cover (a sign that the bed cover wasnt as clean as it should be!!). Staff... friendly, but not more then normal for such small familly hotel. 1 of the 2 receptionist was extremely friendly and helpfull.. the other ones was plain grumpy (didnt even want to advice us on how to get to the airport "best way is taxi he said...50 euro. Busses i dont know... probably like once an our from termini" was all he could tell. But again, the other receptionist handled everything very pleasant!. Breakfast was ok, most bread a bit dry from laying for to long, but plenty of choice. First morning we had cold water in the shower (next days that didnt happen again). We ran out toiletpaper, Minibar didnt smell very fresh. Towels got refreshed everyday, we couldnt re-use our towels ( http://www.greensuites.com/Environmentally-Friendly-Hotel-Programs/Project-Planet-Program ). Location was fine, small walk of less then 10 minute walk from metro and to the spanish steps, plus some good restaurants around.

Anyway... long story short.. 4 nights... didnt sleep 1 night witouth waking up, problems with allergy, small bed, some other small inconveniences as mentioned... So we won't come back! Just a nice 2 star hotel with the small inconveniences you can expect from a 2 start hotel. But expectations were high and this is just not something you'd expect from one of the best rated hotels in Rome according tripadvisor!!! I'm sure there are plenty of other standard hotels around who won't have these inconveniences for the same price

Room Tip: If you decide to go here, make sure you dont get the room next to the reception/ the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxgoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I will definitely be staying again at this hotel whenever I come back to Rome. You will not be sorry for picking this hotel. It is a family-owned hotel and you can tell this family takes pride in their business as they go out of their way to help those staying with them. We wanted a hotel that had a family type feel where it didn't feel like you were just any person staying with them. From the moment we got there, Marco took a map out and gave us bus routes to take, restaurants to eat at, places not to venture at night, etc. the breakfast was ready every morning and was delicious! I miss the food and family feel there and I've been back in the states for a few days. I definitely want to stay back in this hotel again and recommend it to anyone going to Rome as it is located in a safe area near the Borghese Gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

As this was our first trip to Rome,and we were travelling with children I was anxious to book a suitable quiet hotel within walking distance of the major sights. We could not have asked for abetter place to stay in a wonderful city. Our accommodation was so comfortable and well thought out,with 2 separate bedrooms and plenty of space to relax after a hard days sightseeing! The welcome and information from Guiseppe was excellent and we had some terrific meals at the restaurants and cafe he recommended.The breakfast buffet was brilliant with plenty of choice. The hotel is well situated in a lovely quiet area yet within easy walking distance of the Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain. It felt like home from home,believe the reviews because it really is a little gem!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsMrsF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Hotel Golden is like having your own apartment in Rome: it's on the 1st floor of an apartment building, and the front door is kept closed. For this reason, and because it's in a nice area, we felt safe and secure. We stayed 7 nights. The members of the Loria family are warm and friendly, and it is great to be able to ask them anything at all about Rome. They gave us detailed information, for instance, about where to catch buses, which can be difficult to work out on your own. The location is super: Borghese Gardens a few minutes walk away, buses to everywhere, and 10 minutes stroll to the Barberini metro and a few more to the Centro Storico (you can even catch a bus there too, if you're really lazy, like we were!). We picked a double superior room, as we were staying for a week, and it was spacious and comfortable. Windows (and shutters) very well soundproofed. Excellent, firm bed. We slept well throughout. Some people might feel the lack of a bigger communal area (lobby) to sit around, but it didn't bother us. Lovely breakfast (it's a small breakfast room, so you might sometimes have to wait a little time for a table, not a problem for us. Signora Loria, who oversees breakfast, knocked on our door when there was a table available). We will definitely stay in Hotel Golden again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186605Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My wife and I just completed our visit to Rome. We have been to Rome many times in the past, usually staying at 5 star hotels. Never have we enjoyed our stay in the past compared to our visit at Hotel Golden. It was ideally located, convenient to most of the great sites with a spacious room. Most importantly, however, was the family atmosphere, It was like visiting a freind's home. The entire Loria family is involved and their warmth and hospitality truly made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
770 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,628 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#6 of 1,257 in Rome
915 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
1,277 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,257 in Rome
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#115 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing