We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommemd”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommemd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Just spent 16 days at Hotel Golden and we were not dissappointed!! This was our 2nd time staying at this Hotel and the excellent customer service, clean and confortable rooms and delicious free breakfast were just some of the reasons we came back! From the moment we walked in we knew we were in for a great stay. The family owned hotel has the most caring ,helpful and happy owners ready to direct you to the city's great attractions. They helped us with a tour to the Vatican , suggested Restaurants to eat at and welcomed us back for a great relaxing rest at our Hotel room.My kids and I enjoyed breakfast so much every morning was easy to get started with a smile on our faces! The hotel has such great location that we could walk almost everywhere, and if a taxi was needed a phone call and 2 minutes later it was already waiting downstairs. We had a wonderful time and believe me we got more than our moneys' worth ! Its so nice to have a smiling person say "Buon giorno" and be so thorough in explaining the city's ways and most important things to do . We would come back in a flash!! We thank the Loria family for making sure our stay was delighful and really true to the Christmas spirit! Well done see you soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped depending on your family size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MariaPulvirenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,949
    532
    55
    20
    7
See reviews for
813
1,133
152
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our family of five including three teenagers spent three nights here in a family room on the second floor . The rooms were spacious, clean and modern . The family who runs it are very friendly and helpful. One of the brothers Giuseppe was particularly helpful in recommending a lovely restaurant for my daughter's birthday . The area where the hotel is located is particularly nice with the Villa Borghese gardens nearby . They were lovely for early morning jogging . The hotel is also near the Via Veneto. It was easy to walk to most places we wanted to go to .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emilyr197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Just spent 4 days with my family in Rome where we stayed at Hotel Golden on Via Marche. I highly recommend this wonderful family run hotel where we were made to feel at Ome from the moment we arrived. The service is great and tha staff very helpful and accomodating. The hotel is also very well located so much so that we toured the main city sites and attractions on foot!
We sure will be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gcamgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

we have booked this hotel because of a friend recommending it - and the reviews here confirmed it all.
For what we paid (double room 114 EUR / single room 85.5 EUR) and the location it offers (next to Via V. Veneto), I don't think you can top that easily.
However, some of the critics I share as well; the father seems to be a little Grinch indeed which makes you hoping to face one of the brothers instead. It is a bit tiny in the reception area and in the breakfast room. If you have the chance to get a room far away from the breakfast room, it is better. I guess the room is also used as the families living room. As nice as it is, they were rather noisy one night and didn't stop until after midnight. So - or you get a room a bit off, or you enjoy one extra glass of delicious Italian red wine. But if you need pieceful nights, you might have to invest a bit more in your accomodation.

Room Tip: if you are away from the breakfast room, you might have more pieceful nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Golden. It was in a great location - close to the Borghese Park and Villa which was beautiful and an easy walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Pantheon. The family who run Hotel Golden were delightful and extremely helpful and the rooms were beautifully decorated, beds were very comfortable and the bathroom modern. The hotel is situated in a beautiful old building. It was nice to come to Hotel Golden after a busy day exploring Rome. My family and I all enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaCP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful four days staying at the Hotel Golden in Rome over the Christmas period. This family run hotel is just a delight and perfect for a family of four. The position is brilliant being close to Via Veneto and the metro stations and the hotel is not too difficult to find. The hotel itself is located on the first floor of a building and can be accessed by either stairs or a wonderful old lift. Our room was an adequate size for the four of us but what won us over was the lovely family who run the hotel...they are all so helpful and can give you any advice that is needed for your Roman holiday. The breakfast was terrific and we really did feel that we were staying with a family rather than a cold heartless hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyM692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Super sweet family-run. We walked everywhere from the hotel, including to the train station when we had to leave. We were always greeted with a smile at reception by a member of the family; they are extremely helpful for recommending sites, restaurants, etc. Really felt at home during our Christmas in Rome! And delicious breakfasts!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank anonparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#15 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#73 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing