We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I had an excellent 5-night stay at Hotel Golden and was fortunate enough to share my time in Rome with Guiseppe and Marco and their family – it was like staying with friends. Wonderful, very helpful, and very accommodating family. Great location (close to the Spagna stop on the Metro, near Via Veneto, Villa Borghese, cafes, great restaurants that aren’t overrun with tourists, taxis, shopping). Super clean. Beautiful building. Excellent breakfast prepared each morning. WiFi (free) connection was great.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,983
    536
    56
    20
    7
See reviews for
820
1,152
156
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a lovely time in Rome and very thankful for Guiseppe and Marco for taking great care of us. They helped us get our lost luggage and had great recommendations for dinners out. They even made reservations for us and helped us with all our transportations needs. We stayed here for 3 days and then took off for our cruise. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed on one end of the floor away from the kitchen/eating area. But still even if you were clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelnTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Charming hotel with lots of character which makes you feel right at home in Rome! The breakfast and service are first class. Definitely would stay there again! Highly recommend this hotel to others visiting Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nheller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The personal care and kindness that Giuseppe and Marco provided to us will never be forgotten. We appreciate them very much and we have told them that they will be in our hearts and minds forever. This is a great family run hotel... Understand what that means... "Family run hotel"...here an owner will be taking care of your needs. Not an "employee". It is located in a part of Rome that offers Fantastic local dining (cuisine). It is away from the tourist areas so you will be among the locals for sure. Giuseppe and Marco will recommend you to some very good restaurants in any price range you want. The area is busy enough to be lively but not so busy that you are run over by tourists. (Very few tourists in this area) It scares me to think that if we had not stayed at this hotel we may not have had such a great vacation. Guiseppe and Marco helped us extensively with the airlines in getting a major issue resolved. I do not think an employee at any other hotel would have cared enough to help us to the extent Giuseppe and Marco did. They stayed with this problem until it was corrected (while we enjoyed Rome) They also arranged transportation for us from the airport and to the port of Civitavecchia and back to the airport with very good drivers. No problems at all. Their restaurant recommendations were fantastic. Trust them on this. They were accomodating in every way possible. The hotel is small so you never feel crowded. The rooms are small but very clean. The bathroom we had was very nice. shower was plenty big wth great water pressure. Air conditioning worked great and the windows open up in the room and bathroom anytime you want fresh air. We were very comfortable in our room. Breakfast was good with two lovely ladies assisting with the buffet style service. Quaint but small breakfast area. We actually met some very intersting people while eating breakfast. It is all cooked in the room next to the eating area every morning. This is not a party hotel for Young people looking to get crazy. This is a nice, clean hotel. People leave here during the day to enjoy Rome and come back to relax and rest. You should also have dinner near this Hotel where Giuseppe and Marco recommend. If you stay here be sure to talk to the family. Let them know what you like and ask them questions. They will make your stay in Rome much better than it would be otherwise. We saw several parts of Rome during the day and were glad to be able to return each evening to this area and this hotel. We miss all of you there at the hotel. Thank you for everything. We will remember our time with you forever.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed in Hotel Golden with my sister last week for 4 nights. We had great time in Rome and got a lot of useful tips from the staff. They do treat you well. The hotel price included a good buffet breakfast and wifi access. We were also lucky to get our room upon arrival, which made our day. Weather in Rome was much warmer than back home, so it was nice to be able to change before hitting the city. We had a good size room next to the reception with some, but surprisingly little, noise from the reception or breakfast room. We found the outside scaffolding extra helpful when getting back to hotel. It was easy to spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aneelanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahrensboek, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed at Hotel Golden during a business trip as I sometimes am tired of the atmosphere in "chain" hotels. Upon arrival (early monring) my room was quickly prepared while I had a tea in the breakfast room, got internet access and could work.
The room was not so big but had everything I need and was nice and clean. Due to the very useful recommendations given I used the cheap electro bus to have a comfortable trip down town. In the afternoon I used the park across the street to lay in the gras a read a book and then went to one of the recommended smaller restaurants with authentic food for small price. So location is very convenient. It is a family hotel and you can feel it. Breakfast is good and fresh prepared in a broad variety. Very good value for the money. This is the hotel I will get back to with my family to introduce Rom to them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagmar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

As a solo woman traveler, the Hotel Golden fit my requirements perfectly. The staff (all one family) was warm and always helpful. The room was always clean and quiet and breakfast was excellent. Bus access after a long day was very easy. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
From Portland, Oregon

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbkjeldsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#15 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#89 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing