We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S&W”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #17 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“S&W”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Hotel Golden for 3 nights (wish we could have had longer!). Great location and not in noisy city centre. Clean rooms and friendly staff/ family who gave loads of help and advice on where to go, how long the main sights were to walk so you could plan your day and local bus numbers and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel for friendliness and cleanliness which is all you need. Thanks again. Steve and Wendy

Room Tip: We had small double which is as described very small but that's what we paid for. Tea and coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,052
    548
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
858
1,186
162
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We are just back from four nights in Rome. We stayed at the Hotel Golden and can't say enough good things about our new "family" in Italy. The location is fantastic -- one block from the Via Veneto and the Five Star hotels. Part of the ancient wall of the city is across the street as are the Borghese Gardens. There are great, reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance. Our room was an inside Superior double and lacked for NOTHING! We have paid much more and gotten much less at other hotels. Probably the most important thing for us was the staff -- they are all family and make you feel welcome from the first moment you step inside. Mille grazie a tutti! (I hope I came close on that one.) We WILL be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coplay, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

In March, we had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Golden for 5 nights with friends and meet our daughter who was studying in Rome. We had a fabulous time! The Hotel room was extremely clean and with 4 women in one room, had ample space and we slept quite comfortable...in fact, we will be staying there again next week!!! We have a family vacation with friends and Guiseppe has been instrumental with making arrangements from transportation from the airport to reservations for dinners at night in our "new" favorite restaurants (from his personal selections). We look forward to seeing him and his family and enjoying the delicious breakfast every morning!...especially the great coffee! We're just sad they were completely booked and couldn't stay all of our nights there. Good advise would be to book early so your guaranteed a reservation.

Room Tip: Room #108 was fantastic...and staying there again in our up coming vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Golden for 4 nights and found the staff so friendly and helpful, they really went out of their way to ensure our stay was the best possible. On arrival we were provided a map with ideas of things to see and do based on the length of our stay. The recommondations for meals were also wonderful. We have been traveling around Europe for 5 weeks and this hotel was a stand out for service and location. I would definitley recommend this family run hotel to others, very affordable for Rome, central location and fantastic service

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I had an excellent 5-night stay at Hotel Golden and was fortunate enough to share my time in Rome with Guiseppe and Marco and their family – it was like staying with friends. Wonderful, very helpful, and very accommodating family. Great location (close to the Spagna stop on the Metro, near Via Veneto, Villa Borghese, cafes, great restaurants that aren’t overrun with tourists, taxis, shopping). Super clean. Beautiful building. Excellent breakfast prepared each morning. WiFi (free) connection was great.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a lovely time in Rome and very thankful for Guiseppe and Marco for taking great care of us. They helped us get our lost luggage and had great recommendations for dinners out. They even made reservations for us and helped us with all our transportations needs. We stayed here for 3 days and then took off for our cruise. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed on one end of the floor away from the kitchen/eating area. But still even if you were clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelnTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Charming hotel with lots of character which makes you feel right at home in Rome! The breakfast and service are first class. Definitely would stay there again! Highly recommend this hotel to others visiting Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nheller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,741 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,182 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#32 of 1,261 in Rome
1,883 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,261 in Rome
920 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing