We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and caring staff.”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #17 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and caring staff.”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Hotel Golden was our first stop on a week-plus trip to Italy. The staff was so genuinely friendly and helpful and helped my family of 5 feel comfortable right away. The rooms were nice and were clean (we had 2 room: one smallish, one fairly large). the homemade breakfast was scrumptious. Good location. Close to the park, Via Veneto. A healthy walk to the Spanish Steps. Walking distance to the Metro. If you want a friendly, quiet, affordable place to stay while you explore Rome, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsaScottB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,054
    549
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
861
1,186
162
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Golden was fantastic! The hotel is family owned and operated and every guest is treated like family! The hotel is not only clean and comfortable, but the entire family goes out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience. We were only there for one night and were treated as if we were old friends. We, a family of 4, with 2 kids, ages 10 & 13, arrived very early after a very long flight. We were given juice and coffee and offered a place to clean up even though the room (which turned out to be an upgrade to the family suite apartment which was AWESOME) was being cleaned. Marco and Giuseppe were fabulous in assisting us with directions to a wonderful restaurant and helping us navigate the metro because there was a demonstration that delayed the operation of the regular tour bus. Breakfast was lovely and the Loria ladies sure can cook! My husband and I have been to Rome 3 times now, and as he and my son said when we left, we will ONLY stay at the Hotel Golden when in Rome

Room Tip: We were very lucky and were upgraded to a family sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator-Deb93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

On our recent trip to Rome (as first timers) we stayed at Hotel Golden. It was very refreshing to have some one who knew about the area and was friendly enough to go above and beyond to help us out. We now consider Giuseppe the gold standard of concierge service. Breakfast was perfect the assortment provided something for everyone. We felt like part of the family and that does not often happen at a hotel, especially in a bigger city such as Rome. The hotel was very clean and had a cozy feel. When we come back to Rome we I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Arriving in Rome after a week in Tuscany could have been overwhelming, but because of the people that operate this hotel, it was not. The level of comfort provided was excellent. Located near small restaurants, wine bars and gelato shops, you really don't need to walk but a block in any direction to find a Roman experience. The family that runs the hotel is particularly warm and very accommodating. They can provide you with whatever details you need for a truly wonderful Rome vacation. We were there during a renovation, but even that didn't inconvenience us. The bar fridge was stocked with reasonably priced drinks, not over-priced at all. And their mama makes the best croissants in all of Roma!!!

Room Tip: We had two rooms facing the front of the hotel...I would suggest them for convenience to the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4mrnavywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were in Rome literally for two nights as a stopover on our way to somewhere else. As soon as we arrived, I wished we were staying there for an extra day as Guiseppe was telling us a great deal about all the amazing places to vist in Rome. The kinds of things you may not be able to find in a guide book such as the best time to visit a monument to avoid the crowds or which cute little restaurant to visit off the beaten trail.

We had arranged to Guiseppe for an airport transfer which unfortunately did not show (through no fault of the hotels) so he helped us guide a taxi back to the hotel. As a gesture of goodwill, he upgraded us to a larger room which was a godsend as I was not looking forward to a night in the only room that had been available at the time we booked - a small double. The room we were upgraded too was large by European standards, clean, had a big, relatively comfy bed and a small bathroom. It was fairly basic but that's what we were expecting, taking the room rate into consideration. My only complaints were the sound of the air conditioning (far too loud but much needed on the 30+ degree days) and the sound of vacuuming outside our room relatively early on the Saturday morning (around 8-9am).

Breakfast is served in a rather small but quaint dining room and is all prepared by the family. I was very happy with what was provided - it was one of the better breakfasts we have had on this trip.

Location-wise it is bang on. Right in the middle of a more upmarket area of room with a lot of other fancy hotels in the vicinity. Golden is very close to the Spanish Steps (easy walking distance) and that beautiful park above them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebondipantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, it was very easy to find from the train station, we got the bus and had a short walk to the hotel and received a very warm welcome when we arrived. The owners are what makes this hotel what it is and were all very helpful and always on hand with the best routes to the famous landmarks or a good and reasonably priced restaurant suggestion. The location was great, an easy walk to the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain and a short bus ride or slightly longer walk to the Vatican and Colosseum. Our room was exactly what we needed for a busy visit to Rome; clean, comfortable and had every amenity we needed. The breakfasts were lovely and constantly replenished with fresh toast etc. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess_Steve_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband, 13 year-old son and I stayed at Hotel Golden for three nights in early June. It's difficult to convey in words the type of kindness that transcends language and cultural differences, but I will attempt to do so...

As travelers setting our own itinerary, I carefully researched countless accommodations for Rome and six other Italy locations. My head was spinning for months as I read reviews on many internet sites. Having the opportunity to now look back at my seemingly endless reservation activity, I can safely state that choosing Hotel Golden as our first accommodation was a blessing. Considering that I stumbled upon their website AFTER I had already booked a different Rome accommodation, it truly was "meant to be" that we were to be in good hands at the start of our Italian vacation!

I say all of this because our son wasn't feeling well at the outset of our travels. Considering the long flight to Rome, we assumed a few hours of rest would solve the problem. Thankfully, we prearranged through the hotel to have a driver pick us up at the airport and once we were all settled, he slept. We enjoyed a few hours in Rome that evening but the next morning our son was very ill with a high fever. The hotel receptionist on duty, Giuseppe, was a God-send and his guidance was priceless! We discussed the efficacy of calling a private physician (because I had a book with me that listed the phone number of a private service whose doctors speak English), visiting the emergency room, etc. In the end, Giuseppe honored our wish to contact the private service and he made all the calls. He's multilingual and was our interpreter throughout the ordeal. (Although there was a quick response by the doctor, the diagnosis was completely wrong and the cost was high. Many lessons were learned in that encounter but that's for another type of review!)

The problem was eventually solved through the skills of an American friend of ours who is a doctor and who was also in Rome (but not available until the evening of that second night) and a pair of doctors who later checked into the hotel -- a lovely Spanish couple who are related to the Hotel Golden family. It was determined that our son had apparently been bitten by a deer tick at home and was experiencing the early onset of Lyme disease. At the worse point in the early morning of our third day (which nearly caused us to rush him to the emergency room), his fever was 104.9 degrees. The combined skills of all of the doctors allowed us to purchase the appropriate antibiotic and our son's symptoms markedly improved by that third and final night at Hotel Golden.

It was everything that happened in-between the above-mentioned details that constitute the essence of our stay in our home-away-from-home. As I said, Giuseppe was a God-send and there was nothing he wouldn't do for us! Although our contact with his sister, Maria Teresa, and brother, Marco, was limited (but also very nice!), we had the opportunity to interact several times with “Papa Mario" and “Mamma Teresa.” The compassion and kindness in their eyes made up for the language barrier between us as Mamma prepared an omelet in the middle of the day for our son and Papa walked us to their parish church on Sunday for Mass. (All of our well-laid plans for that first weekend in Italy were changed and we adjusted as each hour passed.) The other staff – the woman who kept meticulous care of the breakfast room and the woman who freshened up our room all the while our son slept – were “golden!”

I know this review will not serve to give you specifics about a “usual” stay at Hotel Golden. Frankly, if there was anything awry with our accommodations, I didn't notice it. Our visit was more like a hospital stay with family checking in on the patient while his parents could get to Mass or eat some lunch. The word “family” is not used loosely here. I still can't believe that we were in a foreign country with people we never met before and felt comfortable with each and every one of them as our ordeal unfolded!

By the way... the security used by Hotel Golden for entering and leaving the hotel (although apparently not appreciated by all guests according to some reviews) was part of why we felt safe to leave our son alone in the room for short periods. Speaking of rooms... we were accommodated in one of the two rooms located in the lobby area. That, too, was a God-send in that we could easily step out to consult with Giuseppe as needed. It was good! It was all good!

THANK YOU to the Loria family – one and all – but especially to our Guardian Angel, Giuseppe!! You will always hold a special place in our hearts and in our memories of Italy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRoseS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,748 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,325 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,261 in Rome
920 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#18 of 1,261 in Rome
1,166 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing